Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Life > Motors

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11th Jun 2008, 11:19   #1
_Jimlad_
Capodecina
 
_Jimlad_'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Southampton
Posts: 17,486
Vauxhall Corsa, not liking 1st or 2nd gear anymore :(

My lady has have a Vauxhall Corsa 1.2 (2002) and sometimes when we use the low gears its really tough to get it in.... mainly 1st. Only happens in 1st. 2nd and reverse gear. Does anyone know what it could be? I thought clutch/gearbox but it seems strange its only sometimes and only in low gears. Someone said about linkage?

any thoughts welcome

_Jimlad_ is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jun 2008, 11:21   #2
Dup
Sgarrista
 
Dup's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: East Lancs
Posts: 8,862
My ladys 206 does the same thing. I've been told it's the linkages. £70 inc labour.

Dup is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jun 2008, 11:24   #3
Crossy
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Newcastle, The Toon
Posts: 1,600
Common problem. Its the gear linkage.
Crossy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jun 2008, 11:25   #4
_Jimlad_
Capodecina
 
_Jimlad_'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Southampton
Posts: 17,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dup View Post
My ladys 206 does the same thing. I've been told it's the linkages. 70 inc labour.
yeah sounds about right after doing a quick google. the clutch feels fine and the other gears are solid. So linkage sounds about right.

_Jimlad_ is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jun 2008, 16:37   #5
Defcon5
Soldato
 
Defcon5's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whitwood, West Yorks
Posts: 6,458
Yeah, as crossy says, its definately the gear linkage, very common problem.

Defcon5 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jun 2008, 16:40   #6
russ9898
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Staffordshire
Posts: 1,409
gear linkage, my girlfriends went. garage said theyre quite possibly made of cheese.

cost about £80 inc labour iirc.
russ9898 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jun 2008, 16:42   #7
Defcon5
Soldato
 
Defcon5's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whitwood, West Yorks
Posts: 6,458
I think there fault is with two of the connected moving parts - one is metal, one is plastic so the metal one wears through the plastic bit.

When you get the new linkage make sure you get the updated all metal one

Defcon5 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jun 2008, 16:58   #8
_Jimlad_
Capodecina
 
_Jimlad_'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Southampton
Posts: 17,486
thanks guys, really helpful. will get her booked in!

_Jimlad_ is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jun 2008, 18:25   #9
Pen66
Hitman
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 765
Hold on, this happened to me roughly a month or so ago. Get the uprated metal gear linkage part from ebay (approx 40quid) then either fit it yourself or get a garage to do it for you. Much cheaper than getting the part from VX, where they sell the whole linkage kit (some of which you don't need according to my local mechanic).
Pen66 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jun 2008, 19:58   #10
ardy89
Hitman
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Hull
Posts: 792
Can't beleive how common this problem is, surely vauxhall should subsidise the price of a replacement.
ardy89 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jun 2008, 20:00   #11
Defcon5
Soldato
 
Defcon5's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Whitwood, West Yorks
Posts: 6,458
They would replace them under warranty, even if they were not broken at the time, they did mine anyway, I just said it was a design fault and would certainly fail, and they replaced it FOC

Defcon5 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jun 2008, 20:23   #12
BigglesPiP
Capodecina
 
BigglesPiP's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Chandlers Ford
Posts: 13,229
Only when moving, or when stationary too?


touch: cannot touch `this': Permission denied
BigglesPiP is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jun 2008, 20:38   #13
RossG
Wise Guy
 
RossG's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Harrow, London
Posts: 1,212
Mine used to do this, especially in R. Was just the clutch cable getting loose. Screw it back tight and it was sorted
RossG is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jun 2008, 21:10   #14
dalin80
Mobster
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,393
Those low prices are for what is called a 'repair kit' but pleasantly comes assembled with the vast majority of the unit, the full linkage kit is well over double the price (140 RRP +fitting if memory serves) but doesn't come with that much more. a bit odd really that just a couple more bits and the price launches up.

Takes about 40m to do usually.

Thats for the fairly new ones anyway, i cant remember off the top of my head what exact linkages a 02 plate is fitted with.

what if it was your mum that got attacked by a priest in a van?!
dalin80 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jun 2008, 21:26   #15
Begbie
Capodecina
 
Begbie's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 20,600
Does it crunch when going in? My astra used too, new gearbox it was.

Begbie is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jun 2008, 10:56   #16
_Jimlad_
Capodecina
 
_Jimlad_'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Southampton
Posts: 17,486
she has taken it to a friend of a friend who reckons he can sort it for free, so not sure what they are doing, could not get it into R this morning. - will let you know what happens

_Jimlad_ is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jun 2008, 14:07   #17
_Jimlad_
Capodecina
 
_Jimlad_'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Southampton
Posts: 17,486
Ok so my misses took the car to this nice chap, friend of a friend type thing, he botched something that allowed the her to use the gears and reckons that will hold for a week or two.

She now needs to get that linkage park, VX or some garage are doing the part for £50 or £100 for the full lot, I can’t get ebay at work, but will try there, I would imagine with P&P it’s not that much cheaper and we would have to wait for it?

_Jimlad_ is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:15.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)