Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Life > Motors

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 3rd Nov 2008, 14:01   #1
chaparral
Capodecina
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Guernsey -channel islands
Posts: 15,647
What this Ford transit 350 dashboard light for ??

Does anyone here know what this dashboard light is for ???

Van a 2001 Ford Transit 350 (2.4L Diesel turbo)

FT02 / Gigabyte Z87X-OC / i7-4770K / MSI GTX 780ti SLI / 16GB DDR3 / 250GB Crucial SSD / Corsair 1200W PSU /Asus PG348Q 34" ROG Swift /Logitech G900 mouse/ pioneer 50" LX508D & 436xde 43" / Kef 5005.2 / pioneer VSX-924 / Xbox360 / PS3 + PS4
chaparral is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2008, 14:02   #2
Rilot
Don
 
Rilot's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Twyford, UK
Posts: 16,545
Oil pressure by the looks of things.


ri@rilot.co.uk - 2007 Honda S2000 GT - 2006 Triumph Rocket
Rilot is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2008, 14:02   #3
Pete19s
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Norwich
Posts: 2,361
Service light? Never had it on the ones we have at work.


Flickr @NotPoshPete
Pete19s is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2008, 14:03   #4
oap
Hitman
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 808
Looks like a 'service due light', although check oil etc to be sure. Should be able to reset it somehow.

Why use 4-wheels when 2 are more fun?
oap is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2008, 14:03   #5
gareth.e
PermaBanned
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,817
Check oil and service tbh..
gareth.e is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2008, 14:04   #6
chaparral
Capodecina
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Guernsey -channel islands
Posts: 15,647
Don't think it's an oil pressure light...

As it has the normal red oil light on the other side of the dashboard...

FT02 / Gigabyte Z87X-OC / i7-4770K / MSI GTX 780ti SLI / 16GB DDR3 / 250GB Crucial SSD / Corsair 1200W PSU /Asus PG348Q 34" ROG Swift /Logitech G900 mouse/ pioneer 50" LX508D & 436xde 43" / Kef 5005.2 / pioneer VSX-924 / Xbox360 / PS3 + PS4
chaparral is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2008, 14:06   #7
chaparral
Capodecina
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Guernsey -channel islands
Posts: 15,647
Quote:
Originally Posted by gareth.e View Post
Check oil and service tbh..
Oil level is full.....(I gave it a oil & filter change this morning and light still on)

Am also thinking it's a service light because of having the picture of the spanner...

FT02 / Gigabyte Z87X-OC / i7-4770K / MSI GTX 780ti SLI / 16GB DDR3 / 250GB Crucial SSD / Corsair 1200W PSU /Asus PG348Q 34" ROG Swift /Logitech G900 mouse/ pioneer 50" LX508D & 436xde 43" / Kef 5005.2 / pioneer VSX-924 / Xbox360 / PS3 + PS4
Last edited by chaparral; 3rd Nov 2008 at 14:14.
chaparral is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2008, 14:24   #8
Jay
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: North West
Posts: 1,637
Looks like those service due lights. Diag tool should remove it.
Jay is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2008, 14:27   #9
MrKnifey
Wise Guy
 
MrKnifey's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Nelson, South Wales
Posts: 2,140
Definately the service light mate
MrKnifey is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2008, 15:34   #10
ALD
Gangster
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Devon
Posts: 321
Its a service light. It should tell you in the handbook how to turn it off. You have to do something with the pedals.
ALD is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2008, 18:54   #11
R@tman
Hitman
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Wakefield
Posts: 729
Quote:
Originally Posted by ALD View Post
Its a service light. It should tell you in the handbook how to turn it off. You have to do something with the pedals.
yep to turn it off you turn the igntion on one click and hold down the accelerator for 25 secs i think
Last edited by R@tman; 3rd Nov 2008 at 18:57.
R@tman is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2008, 19:13   #12
chaparral
Capodecina
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Guernsey -channel islands
Posts: 15,647
Quote:
Originally Posted by ALD View Post
Its a service light. It should tell you in the handbook how to turn it off. You have to do something with the pedals.
Quote:
Originally Posted by R@tman View Post
yep to turn it off you turn the igntion on one click and hold down the accelerator for 25 secs i think
Thanks guys


I found this below while searching the net http://fordtransit.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=34746
Quote:
service light, can beturned of by yourself if you want to.

turn ignition lights on, but dont start van,
press both accelerator and brake pedal at the same time for about 30 secs,
light will start to flash,

light has been reset.
I give these pedal presses a go tomorrow...

FT02 / Gigabyte Z87X-OC / i7-4770K / MSI GTX 780ti SLI / 16GB DDR3 / 250GB Crucial SSD / Corsair 1200W PSU /Asus PG348Q 34" ROG Swift /Logitech G900 mouse/ pioneer 50" LX508D & 436xde 43" / Kef 5005.2 / pioneer VSX-924 / Xbox360 / PS3 + PS4
Last edited by chaparral; 3rd Nov 2008 at 19:15.
chaparral is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2008, 19:14   #13
[TW]Fox
Man of Honour
 
[TW]Fox's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 148,056
Or you could, SHOCK, service it?

Please read the FAQ regarding signature sizes.
[TW]Fox is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2008, 19:17   #14
jr1104
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,535
Quote:
Originally Posted by [TW]Fox View Post
Or you could, SHOCK, service it?
Lol, that's what I was thinking. The servicing light has come on, and everyone is telling him how to get rid of it without actually servicing it.

jr1104 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2008, 20:28   #15
FrostedNipple
PermaBanned
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Bournemouth
Posts: 6,577
you honestly think a service is neccesary on a 2001 transit???
FrostedNipple is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2008, 20:30   #16
jr1104
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,535
Well, the fact that the light has come on means Ford think it does. Plus 2001 was 7 years ago, which is quite a while on a vehicle which is probably used quite a lot.

jr1104 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2008, 20:34   #17
[TW]Fox
Man of Honour
 
[TW]Fox's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 148,056
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrostedNipple View Post
you honestly think a service is neccesary on a 2001 transit???
What? Why wouldnt it be?

Please read the FAQ regarding signature sizes.
[TW]Fox is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2008, 20:36   #18
Hxc
Capodecina
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: London
Posts: 12,438
Because he might've serviced it himself already? Dealer services arn't really worth the cash on a 2001 van, are they?

Hxc is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2008, 20:39   #19
[TW]Fox
Man of Honour
 
[TW]Fox's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 148,056
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hxc View Post
Because he might've serviced it himself already? Dealer services arn't really worth the cash on a 2001 van, are they?
If he's got the nouse to service his own van he wouldnt ask Overclockers what the little spanner icon on the dashboard means.

Please read the FAQ regarding signature sizes.
[TW]Fox is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2008, 20:42   #20
FrostedNipple
PermaBanned
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Bournemouth
Posts: 6,577
because a service isn't always necessary. Just a way for the ford garage to make a bit more money! If it's passed its MOT and he has changed the oil like he says then why waste money?
FrostedNipple is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2008, 20:45   #21
[TW]Fox
Man of Honour
 
[TW]Fox's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 148,056
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrostedNipple View Post
because a service isn't always necessary. Just a way for the ford garage to make a bit more money! If it's passed its MOT
Can you please stop offering advice in Motors? Thanks. I'd hate for somebody in genuine need to see a post of yours and take it seriously. Go back to mowing down pedestrians on the pavement on your pushbike, thanks

Nobody has mentioned a Ford garage, we've just said why not worry first about servicing it and second about making the light go away. 'Service it' can mean anything from a DIY oil and filter change to a full lube up at the local main dealer, its up to him which he sees is neccesary.

Please read the FAQ regarding signature sizes.
[TW]Fox is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2008, 20:47   #22
Hxc
Capodecina
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: London
Posts: 12,438
Quote:
Originally Posted by [TW]Fox View Post
If he's got the nouse to service his own van he wouldnt ask Overclockers what the little spanner icon on the dashboard means.
Point

Hxc is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2008, 20:59   #23
bmh.01
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Nuneaton, UK
Posts: 1,017
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaparral View Post
Oil level is full.....(I gave it a oil & filter change this morning and light still on)

Am also thinking it's a service light because of having the picture of the spanner...
Doubt theres much more ford would do unless its a major service point.
bmh.01 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2008, 21:27   #24
chaparral
Capodecina
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Guernsey -channel islands
Posts: 15,647
It's not my own van...it's my employer van (His daily work horse)

Quote:
Originally Posted by [TW]Fox View Post
If he's got the nouse to service his own van he wouldnt ask Overclockers what the little spanner icon on the dashboard means.
Yes i do about 90% of the servicing on my employer vans/cars/machiney myself...(Apart from his wife Mercedes)

As for the light,I said to my employer it was a service light when he showed it to me first thing this morning..But he replyed with doubting it was as why would it just come on now after 3years and 30,000miles of use...Which is what made me asked on here..

FT02 / Gigabyte Z87X-OC / i7-4770K / MSI GTX 780ti SLI / 16GB DDR3 / 250GB Crucial SSD / Corsair 1200W PSU /Asus PG348Q 34" ROG Swift /Logitech G900 mouse/ pioneer 50" LX508D & 436xde 43" / Kef 5005.2 / pioneer VSX-924 / Xbox360 / PS3 + PS4
Last edited by chaparral; 3rd Nov 2008 at 21:30.
chaparral is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2008, 23:13   #25
Clarkey
Capodecina
 
Clarkey's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Wolverhampton
Posts: 17,077
30k is about right, I was driving a rental transit the other day, was just over 30k when picked up, on the return journey the spanner icon lit up. 06 van though, clocks are different, spanner is on its own on the right of the cluster.

Clarkey is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2008, 23:31   #26
Tom|Nbk
Capodecina
 
Tom|Nbk's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 20,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by [TW]Fox View Post
Go back to mowing down pedestrians on the pavement on your pushbike, thanks

Cars : 2008 Audi R8 4.2 V8 | 2003 BMW 320d M Sport E46
Rig : i5 750 @ 4.2Ghz | 8GB Ripjaw DDR3 | NVIDIA 980Ti 6G
Tom|Nbk is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2008, 04:11   #27
Scania
Capodecina
 
Scania's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: On the road....
Posts: 19,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrostedNipple View Post
because a service isn't always necessary. Just a way for the ford garage to make a bit more money! If it's passed its MOT and he has changed the oil like he says then why waste money?
Why do some seem to think that an MOT means a car is in good condition & fit for the road?

A brand new MOT means neither - ask any tester, he will confirm this.

It (the MOT test) merely means cartain parts of the car are upto scratch, it does not, for example, alert drivers to near shot brake pads.

Servicing is an essential aspect of running any vehicle.

Scania is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2008, 10:37   #28
Clarkey
Capodecina
 
Clarkey's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Wolverhampton
Posts: 17,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by R420LA6X2/4MNA View Post
It (the MOT test) merely means cartain parts of the car are upto scratch, it does not, for example, alert drivers to near shot brake pads.
Sure it does, that would be an advisory at best, probably a fail.

Clarkey is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2008, 10:41   #29
Jez
Caporegime
 
Jez's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 30,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by R420LA6X2/4MNA View Post

It (the MOT test) merely means cartain parts of the car are upto scratch, it does not, for example, alert drivers to near shot brake pads.
The only time i have ever had a fail was on my 330ci which failed for....worn rear pads

Jez is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Nov 2008, 12:34   #30
chaparral
Capodecina
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Guernsey -channel islands
Posts: 15,647
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrostedNipple View Post
If it's passed its MOT
We no have MOT in guernsey.....

But i wish we did sometimes,with some the highly dangerous lorrys/van/cars/bikes i have known of that are used on are roads....

FT02 / Gigabyte Z87X-OC / i7-4770K / MSI GTX 780ti SLI / 16GB DDR3 / 250GB Crucial SSD / Corsair 1200W PSU /Asus PG348Q 34" ROG Swift /Logitech G900 mouse/ pioneer 50" LX508D & 436xde 43" / Kef 5005.2 / pioneer VSX-924 / Xbox360 / PS3 + PS4
Last edited by chaparral; 4th Nov 2008 at 12:37.
chaparral is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:12.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)