Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > General Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18th Nov 2009, 16:41   #1
jim2069
Associate
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 46
Question How do you remove splashtop off laptop

Hello all, after building myself a new pc i thought its about time i spent some money on my misses lol.

So i went out and bought her a new laptop, its PINK! lol its the hp mini 110. running windows 7 and is rather good for msn and a bit of web surfing.

Only problem ive got is that splashtop comes on everytime the system starts up, im unsure of how to remove it. It seems like it boots up before windows?

please help...

-#- Intel Core i7 860 @ 3.4GHZ, Asus Maximus Formula III, 8GB Kingston DDR3, Radeon HD 5770 X2 CrossFire'd up Baby -#-
jim2069 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2009, 17:02   #2
Morlock
Gangster
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 285
Look in Control Panel, Add/Remove Programs and uninstall it.

Morlock is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2009, 17:13   #3
Dano
Sgarrista
 
Dano's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 8,716
BIOS > Turn off full screen logo display?


PSN: DanoClark - Elite: CMDR Morgan Grimes
Dano is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2009, 18:04   #4
doggs
Gangster
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 366
Open regedit

Navigate to:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Run

If there's an entry for it there - delete it.

Also, make sure it's not in the start up folder.
Last edited by doggs; 18th Nov 2009 at 18:13.
doggs is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2009, 18:15   #5
doggs
Gangster
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim2069 View Post
It seems like it boots up before windows?
Sorry, didn't read your post properly, if thats the case above ideas won't work.
doggs is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2009, 18:16   #6
vidda
Gangster
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 433
It should be in the BIOS somewhere. It might be called splashtop or it might be called fastboot or something.

Ille qui nos omnes servabit.
vidda is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2009, 20:02   #7
jim2069
Associate
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 46
right people it was in the bios and its gone now, thanks for all your help.

does any1 know how to change desktop theme on this machine, its all different with it being intel stom with win 7... i cant right click as normal and set as wallpaper either...

any ideas???

-#- Intel Core i7 860 @ 3.4GHZ, Asus Maximus Formula III, 8GB Kingston DDR3, Radeon HD 5770 X2 CrossFire'd up Baby -#-
jim2069 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2009, 20:05   #8
doggs
Gangster
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim2069 View Post
does any1 know how to change desktop theme on this machine, its all different with it being intel stom with win 7... i cant right click as normal and set as wallpaper either...

any ideas???
Right click - Personalize
doggs is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2009, 22:04   #9
jim2069
Associate
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 46
lol doggs come on, i wouldnt be asking if that was there. its not any1 else got any ideas?

-#- Intel Core i7 860 @ 3.4GHZ, Asus Maximus Formula III, 8GB Kingston DDR3, Radeon HD 5770 X2 CrossFire'd up Baby -#-
jim2069 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2009, 22:18   #10
doggs
Gangster
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 366
Presumably you don't have Personalization in the control panel either then
doggs is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2009, 22:26   #11
doggs
Gangster
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 366
Perhaps this will help?

http://www.withinwindows.com/2009/03...arter-edition/
doggs is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2009, 22:50   #12
jim2069
Associate
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 46
no dogs i dont have personalization in control panel lol, that link was kinda useful but it doesnt say anything about how i can get my themes back lol

-#- Intel Core i7 860 @ 3.4GHZ, Asus Maximus Formula III, 8GB Kingston DDR3, Radeon HD 5770 X2 CrossFire'd up Baby -#-
jim2069 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2009, 22:56   #13
doggs
Gangster
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 366
You can't change the theme, lol at your inability to use Goggle. Check the comments in the page linked above, there's a couple of workarounds to change desktop wallpaper.
doggs is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Nov 2009, 23:09   #14
danb21t
Gangster
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: High Wycombe, Bucks
Posts: 387
that is pretty dyer that MS stop Starter Edition users changing the wallpaper..

they should really be shot
danb21t is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Nov 2009, 00:09   #15
jim2069
Associate
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 46
roger...

-#- Intel Core i7 860 @ 3.4GHZ, Asus Maximus Formula III, 8GB Kingston DDR3, Radeon HD 5770 X2 CrossFire'd up Baby -#-
jim2069 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Nov 2009, 01:31   #16
mattyfez
Soldato
 
mattyfez's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 6,944
That sounds pants. reformat it with XP or else consult a mind doctor

Posted from Overclockers.co.uk App for Android
mattyfez is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Nov 2009, 02:01   #17
JonJ678
Capodecina
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: England
Posts: 10,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by doggs View Post
lol at your inability to use Goggle.
lol at your inability to spell Google.

The windows 7 on netbooks appears to be a thoroughly crippled one with an option to upgrade to a normal copy for a fee. I recommend putting ubuntu netbook remix on it, but otherwise XP is good too.
JonJ678 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Nov 2009, 09:20   #18
doggs
Gangster
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonJ678 View Post
lol at your inability to spell Google.
Ah, touché!
doggs is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Nov 2009, 15:36   #19
huffman01
Associate
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
[quote=jim2069;15345575]right people it was in the bios and its gone now, thanks for all your help.


I have the same problem I would like to remove the Splash Top I have followed the suggestions here and I have enterd the BIOS howeve once inside the BIOS I am not sure where to go can some please help me out.

I hit F-10 get to the BIOS and am lost from there.
huffman01 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:56.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)