Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > CPUs

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25th Jan 2010, 21:33   #1
paradigm
Caporegime
 
paradigm's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Macclesfield, Cheshire
Posts: 31,837
C2D E6600 or Pentium Dual Core E5300?

I'm just building up a machine out of some spare components (Abit IP35-PRO, 8GB Kingston Hyper-X PC8500, 2x Radeon HD3870's), and am unsure wether to use an E6600 or E5300 I have lying around.

The E6600 is one of the earliest batches, bought when they first came out, the E5300 is new, bought last week. Which one will be better? I know the E6600 has 4MB of cache compared to the E5300's 2MB, but I've got a feeling that the E5300 will clock harder, and most likely run cooler what with being a newer, more refined die (60nm vs 45nm IIRC).

Either way, both CPU's will be used, it's just one will end up being in this rig, and one in a shuttle.

Which way around would you do things?


| shinobi XL | i7 3820 @ 5.1 GHz | P9X79 PRO | 32GB DDR3 | GTX 970 SLI | 512GB SSD |
paradigm is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jan 2010, 22:00   #2
Trunks9486
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,287
The one that clocks the most. Deduct about 200MHz for the 45nm one to compare with the Conroe.

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600(G0) @3.4GHz @1.36v
Gigabyte P35-DQ6 @ 1700FSB, 4GB OCZ Reaper 850MHz CAS4@1.87V
Powercolor HD4870 1GB, Win 7 PRO x64, Antec 900
160GB Intel X25-M G2 SSD, OCZ 850w PSU, Intel Burntest Stable(20x)
Trunks9486 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jan 2010, 01:32   #3
Justintime
Sgarrista
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Edmonton, London, UK
Posts: 8,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by paradigm View Post
but I've got a feeling that the E5300 will clock harder, and most likely run cooler what with being a newer, more refined die (60nm vs 45nm IIRC).
For sheer cool and quiet running the E5300. Truth be told i got 3.8Ghz out of the last E5300 i had and the same from the E6600 i've still got in a machine. The E6600 however is a L629B which is a really good clocker but runs hot as a supernova, cores will vary. I believe i have it at 1.2v 3.4Ghz with a U120 non extreme and silent fan currently and its relatively cool, this cpu maxxed out at 85C with TAT many moons ago on the stock cooler and stock speed to give you an idea how hot it is

(\_/)
(O.o)
(> <) fap fap fap
Justintime is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jan 2010, 04:01   #4
pat_c
Gangster
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 277
Try both, can't tell without experimenting as individual cpu's have different VIDs.

Antec.Skeleton . Vertical Phobya 280 rad . U3415W . DayZ
i5.2500k, Ballistix.Tracer.8GB, ASUS P8Z68-V, MSI.nv970+580, Intel330.180G, Crucial BX100.256G, Dell.U3415W.34", Apple.ACD.20", Antec.Skeleton, Corsair.HX850i, Zalman.Reserator+280
pat_c is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jan 2010, 08:26   #5
mathwat
Hitman
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: scotland (born in wales)!
Posts: 692
I still got a E6600 @ 3.6 on a crappy p5nt-deluxe as a server, with the right board you'll prob go higher.
mathwat is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jan 2010, 08:55   #6
silworth
Gangster
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 119
What difference does the extra cache make in the real-world?

silworth is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jan 2010, 11:16   #7
pastymuncher
Man of Honour
 
pastymuncher's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Aberlour, NE Scotland
Posts: 13,619
E6600 is better in most things but E5300 will run cooler and use less power. Depends how far you can clock them as well.

4670k@4.4Ghz/Asus Maximus VI Hero/Seasonic G750w/EVGA GTX780 FTW ACX/16GB Samsung Green 2133Mhz@9-10-10-21 1N/SK Hynix SL301 250GB SSD/Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD/ Watercooling-AquaXtreme 50z pump/EK Supremacy Evo/EK Thermosphere/XSPC Photon 270 res/Coolgate G2 360mm+CG360
pastymuncher is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jan 2010, 11:23   #8
Amraam
Mobster
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,737
What I don't understand about OCing is the motherboard. I have my 680i at 1600 instead of 1333. I'd love to push my E6750 further from 3.2 to about 3.5 maybe, but I don't know the safe limit to push the FSB on stock northbridge cooling...

My signature hasn't changed in years so I don't know why I'm getting a yellow warning...
Amraam is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jan 2010, 11:36   #9
silworth
Gangster
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amraam View Post
What I don't understand about OCing is the motherboard. I have my 680i at 1600 instead of 1333. I'd love to push my E6750 further from 3.2 to about 3.5 maybe, but I don't know the safe limit to push the FSB on stock northbridge cooling...
FSB (or clock in general) won't typically cause any damage. You'll reach the stable limit of the chip's clock speed long before any damage occurs from heat.

Voltage is the killer. So as long as you stay within a few tenths of a % of the stock voltage, the stock cooling should cope.

silworth is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jan 2010, 11:44   #10
4T5
Man of Honour
 
4T5's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Middle of England
Posts: 27,769
Stick the 5300 in the SFF just because of the heat/space/airflow issues as either will do want you want.

DOES THIS RAG SMELL LIKE CHLOROFORM TO YOU ?
4T5 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jan 2010, 15:59   #11
G_Wizz
Hitman
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 872
If you are lucky the E5300 will do 4.4/4.5 on reasonable volts, that would be a fair bit faster than the 6600 at 3.6 even allowing for less cache, on the other hand it might only do 3.8/4.0 which will give more or less the same performance as the 6600. So without trying them out youcan't really say for sure.
G_Wizz is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jan 2010, 16:05   #12
Amraam
Mobster
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,737
Quote:
Originally Posted by silworth View Post
FSB (or clock in general) won't typically cause any damage. You'll reach the stable limit of the chip's clock speed long before any damage occurs from heat.

Voltage is the killer. So as long as you stay within a few tenths of a % of the stock voltage, the stock cooling should cope.
Yeah that;s what I thought, but typically more voltage is needed to hold a stable OC. I'll try pushing it further without touching voltage.

I've got my OCZ RAM running at stock 800Mhz. on pretty good timings (2T however) at 2.1V. Worth pushing that speed up a bit? say 820Mhz?

My signature hasn't changed in years so I don't know why I'm getting a yellow warning...
Amraam is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jan 2010, 17:54   #13
PermaBanned
Capodecina
 
PermaBanned's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Newcastle/Aberdeen
Posts: 15,960
I'd put the E5300 in the shuttle to be honest, if not just for the heat saved.

PermaBanned is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Feb 2010, 15:49   #14
gazzamcg
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 1,562
paradigm, did you try the e5300 and abit ip35 pro ?

If so, did you have any problems ?
gazzamcg is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Feb 2010, 20:17   #15
Impy77
Gangster
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 186
Would have thought they would be similar either way round, E5300 might be cooler due to 45nm. I (still) have my e6600 as my main CPU, and at 3.4ghz it tops out at 50C under prime95 using a true120. So heat prolly isnt going to be an issue for either CPU

Imps
Impy77 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Feb 2010, 21:17   #16
tundra
Gangster
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 119
i would stick to the e6600, i remember reading that the e5300 has something missing (logical cores i think)

PUT AWAY THOSE FIERY BISCUITS !
tundra is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Feb 2010, 22:03   #17
Marine-RX179
Capodecina
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 13,159
My dad bought a E5200 and my cousin bought a E5300 (they both got Arctic Freezer Pro 7, Gigabyte GA-P31-DS3L motherboard), and I overclocked them both to 3.6GHz easily within minutes with no struggle at all and it remained stable. Could probably go higher, and I rather have the PC cooler and the fan not running as loud.

i5 2500K@4.80GHz, Asus P8Z68-V GEN3, R9 290x, Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer DDR3-1600MHz 8GB, Corsair Force Series 3 120GB, OCZ Vertex 2 512GB, Asus Essence STX, Samsung SA700 3D 120Hz, CoolerMaster 690III , Corsair TX650W
Last edited by Marine-RX179; 12th Feb 2010 at 22:10.
Marine-RX179 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Feb 2010, 08:21   #18
Columbo
Soldato
 
Columbo's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 6,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by paradigm View Post
I'm just building up a machine out of some spare components (Abit IP35-PRO, 8GB Kingston Hyper-X PC8500, 2x Radeon HD3870's)
I know you are asking about CPU's fella but are you saying you are going to Xfire those cards on a P35 chipset?

I only point it out because they'll only run at X4 speed and could potentially drop below the performance of one card alone.

I tried it on a P35 Neo2 FR with 2 3850's and it crippled my framerates, so I reverted back to one card.

Columbo is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Feb 2011, 12:43   #19
Doskelion
Associate
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 16
I too will be interested at the out come....
i got both the E5300 and the E6600 and not sure which one to use..
paired with P5Q deluxe and Geil ULL 2Gb PC6400 ram (which i got from ocuk a few days ago (quick despatch may i say from OCUK great service as usuall ) and ATI3870
but unsure which processor to use
i had the E6600 running @3.6 on a P5WDH before, but havent use the E5300 yet
so still undecided which one to use so any advice and feedback would be much appriciated

Doskelion is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Feb 2011, 12:54   #20
pastymuncher
Man of Honour
 
pastymuncher's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Aberlour, NE Scotland
Posts: 13,619
I tested/benched several dual core cpu's at various speeds in this thread. Among them are E5200/E6600.

4670k@4.4Ghz/Asus Maximus VI Hero/Seasonic G750w/EVGA GTX780 FTW ACX/16GB Samsung Green 2133Mhz@9-10-10-21 1N/SK Hynix SL301 250GB SSD/Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD/ Watercooling-AquaXtreme 50z pump/EK Supremacy Evo/EK Thermosphere/XSPC Photon 270 res/Coolgate G2 360mm+CG360
pastymuncher is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Feb 2011, 12:59   #21
Doskelion
Associate
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 16
Quote:
I tested/benched several dual core cpu's at various speeds in this thread. Among them are E5200/E6600
thanks for the great info pastymuncher

Doskelion is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:33.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)