Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Storage Drives

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11th Sep 2010, 09:27   #31
R5GTT
Hitman
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 907
My F3's transfer a fair bit of humming through the hot swaps in my case which i find a little annoying. Would be nice to know what the F4's are like vibration wise with them being a lower rpm.
I always wondered if the WD's with the spindle held at both ends also reduced some vibration but heard that the seek noise is fairly loud on them.


EVGA Z68 FTW/i7 2600K/16GB RipjawsX/EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
R5GTT is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Sep 2010, 09:42   #32
rush_syndrome
Gangster
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: London
Posts: 387
These F4's look really good, I'm going to give them a go end of the month

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slackworth View Post
Spread mustard over it as well as it will give you an extra 20 FPS
rush_syndrome is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Sep 2010, 12:30   #33
Lord Alibaski
Hitman
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Doncaster
Posts: 977
Just ordered 2 should be here by wednesday.
Lord Alibaski is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Sep 2010, 15:27   #34
Lunatic Dreyfus
Mobster
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Returning video tapes
Posts: 4,113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Alibaski View Post
Just ordered 2 should be here by wednesday.
My pair will arrive on Tuesday. Hopefully.

I should have bought 'em at the cheaper price yesterday evening. Oh well.
Lunatic Dreyfus is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Sep 2010, 16:16   #35
MikeHunt79
Capodecina
 
MikeHunt79's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: \_(ツ)_/
Posts: 20,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by terryuk22 View Post
anyone gonna post a pic suspended !!!
I've got a photo on my HD somewhere, once I'll dig it out I'll post it. Suspending a HD tends to virtually eliminate seek noise, but you still have a little motor whine so it's not a magic bullet.


Everything in moderation. Including moderation itself.
MikeHunt79 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Sep 2010, 16:31   #36
Lord Alibaski
Hitman
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Doncaster
Posts: 977
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lunatic Dreyfus View Post
My pair will arrive on Tuesday. Hopefully.
Mine would have done m8 but I'm not in tuesday so opted for wednesday instead.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lunatic Dreyfus View Post
I should have bought 'em at the cheaper price yesterday evening. Oh well.
I was going to m8 but without the free shipping and only being able to purchase 1 item per basket and with shipping it was about the same anyway...cant remember the exact price so I waited for today to order.
Lord Alibaski is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Sep 2010, 16:51   #37
HeX
Capodecina
 
HeX's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Huddersfield, UK
Posts: 10,226
Just ordered one of these as well, should have it on Weds.

HeX is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Sep 2010, 11:34   #38
terryuk22
Gangster
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: worcester uk
Posts: 223
ok i have had to bite the bullet and install win 7 as all new hard drives and ssd's need this for trim etc.
what i want to know is how to format in w7 as been using it 5 hours now (win7 not 2tb hard drive)
terryuk22 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Sep 2010, 14:15   #39
bhavv
PermaBanned
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 13,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by redballoon View Post
I've bought two - and one of them is faulty. Not a great start.

Here's some quick benchmarks for the working drive -






bhavv is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Sep 2010, 14:40   #40
terryuk22
Gangster
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: worcester uk
Posts: 223
got the drive now any special way to format in win7 cluster size etc
terryuk22 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Sep 2010, 16:31   #41
Meridiusuk
Hitman
 
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 800
I just formated it as a single part in windows 7 and seems to be ok don't know what this cluster size is all about.
Meridiusuk is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2010, 13:27   #42
terryuk22
Gangster
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: worcester uk
Posts: 223
its installed and seems well worth what i payed
I like it so much may get another.
Nice to have silence and no annoying Hum.
terryuk22 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2010, 14:19   #43
bhavv
PermaBanned
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 13,645
I just found these F4s on offer somewhere at 81 each, I decided to buy two, and will sell my Seagate drive.
bhavv is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2010, 17:06   #44
Flanno
Mobster
 
Flanno's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,430
I bought half of dozen of these drives, originally for media but they might replace my caviar blacks now as performance is pretty decent and they run quiet (most of the time) and cool.

First off, I can hear them seek when I run the HDTune read test but they don't cause the case to hum like the blacks do or make weird seeking noises like my old F3's. They are pretty quiet. If you are transferring large files you won't hear the drive much. Lots of small files is a different matter. You will hear it, but it's NOT loud or obtrusive. I am using an 800D case which has no drive dampening. Overall happy with the F4's from an acoustic point of view. I'd say they are even quiet enough for silence enthusiasts if you suspend them or use dampening. According to Samsungs EZTool which recognises these drives there is no AAM support so no way to make the drive quieter via software. I also tried HDTune Pro which shows AAM unchecked and value set to 0. You have the options of setting it to 128 or 256. Neither seems to make a difference.

Temperature wise, they stay around 31-35 degrees C which is approx 7 to 10 degrees cooler then my caviar blacks. Like the WD Green (3 platter design), they probably don't need active cooling. The 800D drive cooling isn't the best so you can knock a few degrees off if using something like a HAF.

Regarding sector size I'm using them currently as data/media drives so I just formatted them using the windows 7 default (which is 512 bytes). If someone can show me how to format them using 4k sectors I'd appreciate it.

Now to performance. Here is a comparison I ran between the Samsung, the WD Green 2TB (WD20EARS-00MVWB0) which also has 3 x 667gb platters, and WD Black 2TB. I formatted each drive for a single partition using the default Windows 7 settings in disk manager, and copied my documents folder and pics folder to each one (About 2GB in total). Each drive was tested from the same SATA port on my Classified motherboard using the latest Intel RST drivers. Tested with latest version of CrystalDiskmark (3.0 x64 Build 2010/3/21), and did read test with latest version of HDTunePro (4.60). OS was Windows 7 Ultimate 64. Boot drive was Crucial C300 256GB SSD.

Note : I have multiple Samsung, WD Green and WD Black drives so redid the tests on those as well in case I got a dodgy Samsung. The results were negligible in each case.

Samsung



WD Green



WD Black

Last edited by Flanno; 14th Sep 2010 at 17:12.
Flanno is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2010, 17:17   #45
bhavv
PermaBanned
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 13,645
The speeds on these F4s is immense for an 80 2 Tb eco drive at 5400 RPM.

It really puts that 140 WD black to shame.

7200 RPM 1 - 2 platter F4 drives would be awesome to replace the F3s.

I only have 4 HD slots, but two of these plus two raid 0 F3s will be more than enough for me.

This is my current HD usage:



Thats after I already finished cut / pasting my game backups from the Seagate to the F3s. I'll go through the remaining stuff I have and delete what I dont need anymore.
Last edited by bhavv; 14th Sep 2010 at 17:23.
bhavv is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2010, 17:19   #46
Flanno
Mobster
 
Flanno's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,430
Still the access time is not the fastest on the Samsungs. I tested 4 of them so far and they are all around 15.6-15.8ms on my system. My blacks vary from 11.6-12ms. Still there is very little in it, when you look at the other stats.
Flanno is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2010, 17:35   #47
bhavv
PermaBanned
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 13,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flanno View Post
Still the access time is not the fastest on the Samsungs. I tested 4 of them so far and they are all around 15.6-15.8ms on my system. My blacks vary from 11.6-12ms. Still there is very little in it, when you look at the other stats.
Oh, I didnt spot the access times, is 12 ms much better than the 15.7?

While theres not much difference in performance, there is in the price - 80-85 for the Samsung F4, 141 for the WD Black.

My Seagate LP on the other hand is just dire in comparison, I've only had it for a few weeks and am getting rid of it, just because the F4s are the same price and I should still be able to get around 70 - 75 for the Seagate on Ebay.

After deleting all the stuff I dont need, I still only have 543 gb free on my 2 Tb drive, including a backup image of the Raid.
Last edited by bhavv; 14th Sep 2010 at 17:59.
bhavv is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2010, 20:08   #48
AbsenceJam
Mobster
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 4,287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flanno View Post
Still the access time is not the fastest on the Samsungs. I tested 4 of them so far and they are all around 15.6-15.8ms on my system. My blacks vary from 11.6-12ms. Still there is very little in it, when you look at the other stats.
They're 5400rpm storage drives, access time is pretty irrelevant but that low for 5400rpm is very good.
AbsenceJam is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2010, 20:42   #49
Flanno
Mobster
 
Flanno's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,430
Does access time impact media streaming or using a drive to store your swap file and temporary internet files ? I wouldn't think it would have much of an effect. Also my C300's will appreciate been given a break by a pair of hot caviar blacks.
Last edited by Flanno; 14th Sep 2010 at 21:20.
Flanno is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2010, 11:28   #50
Lord Alibaski
Hitman
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Doncaster
Posts: 977
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flanno View Post
Regarding sector size I'm using them currently as data/media drives so I just formatted them using the windows 7 default (which is 512 bytes). If someone can show me how to format them using 4k sectors I'd appreciate it.
Just got mine this morning.

When in disk management isn't it just a case of using the Allocation unit size and change it to 4096.

Lord Alibaski is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2010, 11:53   #51
Flanno
Mobster
 
Flanno's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,430
4096 bytes is the default size windows 7 selects on all drives when you do a quick format. However if you run HDTune afterwards and click the info tab you will see the sector size is still 512 bytes as that is what the drive is reporting to the OS. I must check with the Samsung to see if it's still the same.
Flanno is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2010, 11:55   #52
Lord Alibaski
Hitman
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Doncaster
Posts: 977
I have just found that out myself m8.
Lord Alibaski is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2010, 12:01   #53
Flanno
Mobster
 
Flanno's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,430
It looks like you have to manually align the drive according to what I can see on other forums Don't know if anyone has actually done it though, but the general consensus according to the specs ("4k with emulation"), is the drive will always reports itself to the OS as 512bytes but internally is a 4k drive. So not sure if there is loss of performance due to this.
Last edited by Flanno; 15th Sep 2010 at 12:10.
Flanno is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2010, 12:32   #54
MikeHunt79
Capodecina
 
MikeHunt79's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: \_(ツ)_/
Posts: 20,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flanno View Post
It looks like you have to manually align the drive according to what I can see on other forums Don't know if anyone has actually done it though, but the general consensus according to the specs ("4k with emulation"), is the drive will always reports itself to the OS as 512bytes but internally is a 4k drive. So not sure if there is loss of performance due to this.
There's quite a bit of info in this thread regarding performance loss with the 4k thing.

http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums...ic.php?t=59946


Everything in moderation. Including moderation itself.
MikeHunt79 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2010, 13:08   #55
Lord Alibaski
Hitman
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Doncaster
Posts: 977
I'm only using these drives for storage so not really bothered about the speeds...but I've just ran HD Tune on the machine I'm using at the moment.

(not the main machine these are going in)

MB = Asus P5B Deluxe (socket 775)
RAM = 4x1GB Corsair 6400
Graphics = 7600GT
CPU = 6300 @ 1.86GHz
Windows 7 64bit

I had a really high CPU usage when I 1st tried it around 11.5 but it's gone down on the 2nd attempt.

Lord Alibaski is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2010, 14:42   #56
Flanno
Mobster
 
Flanno's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeHunt79 View Post
There's quite a bit of info in this thread regarding performance loss with the 4k thing.

http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums...ic.php?t=59946
Yes. alot of people talking on that thread about 4k but nothing really conclusive. That's the same thrread I posted my benches.
Flanno is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2010, 14:45   #57
bhavv
PermaBanned
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 13,645
Wow, I have space



But I deleted all my backups and need to do them again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Alibaski View Post
I'm only using these drives for storage so not really bothered about the speeds...
I thought that too when I got my Seagate, but backing up took a very long time. These F4s are having stuff copied onto them a lot faster.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flanno View Post
Yes. alot of people talking on that thread about 4k but nothing really conclusive.
I didnt have any problems with this 4k thing. Installed the drives, ran Windows setup, formatted them, and they work
Last edited by bhavv; 15th Sep 2010 at 14:48.
bhavv is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2010, 14:53   #58
HeX
Capodecina
 
HeX's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Huddersfield, UK
Posts: 10,226
Mine just got here, now to copy over a metric ton of crap

HeX is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2010, 14:58   #59
Flanno
Mobster
 
Flanno's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhavv View Post
I didnt have any problems with this 4k thing. Installed the drives, ran Windows setup, formatted them, and they work
The people complaining about 4k don't have problems either. The contention is that if you don't get it aligned to use 4k sectors then you half the performance on random writes. Then again, others are saying it's natively 4k anyway, and the firmware does a 512byte simulation no matter what. Either way it's irrelevant unless using it as an OS drive.

Overall I'm happy with them. I have 2 running in my Corsair hot swap bay along with a pair of C300 SSD's. The drives have been transferring stuff back and forth all day and they are staying at 30 and 31C with the fan running around 800rpm. My Caviar blacks would be running between 41 and 45C and I noticed the label on one of the C300's has shrivelled and started to peel as a result! The other advantage of these F4's is there is alot less case vibration.
Last edited by Flanno; 15th Sep 2010 at 15:02.
Flanno is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 15th Sep 2010, 15:13   #60
MikeHunt79
Capodecina
 
MikeHunt79's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: \_(ツ)_/
Posts: 20,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flanno View Post
Yes. alot of people talking on that thread about 4k but nothing really conclusive. That's the same thrread I posted my benches.
I guess it's early days with this drive as it's so new, but I'm hoping to see something a little more conclusive. I'm hoping to get one of these drives to replace my F1, it seems like it's quieter and faster which is always good.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flanno View Post
The people complaining about 4k don't have problems either. The contention is that if you don't get it aligned to use 4k sectors then you half the performance on random writes. Then again, others are saying it's natively 4k anyway, and the firmware does a 512byte simulation no matter what. Either way it's irrelevant unless using it as an OS drive.
Hmm, I was planning to use this as an OS drive, SSD it too expensive right now and 7200rpm drives are too noisy for me.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flanno View Post
Overall I'm happy with them. I have 2 running in my Corsair hot swap bay along with a pair of C300 SSD's. The drives have been transferring stuff back and forth all day and they are staying at 30 and 31C with the fan running around 800rpm. My Caviar blacks would be running between 41 and 45C and I noticed the label on one of the C300's has shrivelled and started to peel as a result! The other advantage of these F4's is there is alot less case vibration.
Nice, my case fan is at a similar speed, it's around 500rpm I think, so I'm sure this will be more than enough to cool a single F4 by the sounds of it.


Everything in moderation. Including moderation itself.
MikeHunt79 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:16.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)