Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Apple > Apple Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 11:06   #1
valkia
Mobster
 
valkia's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,865
Quickest and easiest way to get a micro-sim

Hi all,

Bought an iphone 4 yesterday and forgot that they use a micro sim. Frustrated because I wanted to use the phone I waited until today to call Orange to see if they have the sim's in the shop. They do not and I have to order one from online, which currently can't find where. I don't want to cut the sim myself either. I have seen these sim cutters which look great, but I don't want to have to spend the money on just this one use cut.

What are the recommendations? Realistically I want to get the phone up and running today.

valkia is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 11:08   #2
PhillyDee
Capodecina
 
PhillyDee's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: South Shields
Posts: 14,173
Do you have any local phone repair / unlocking type shops? They may have a sim cutter.


3 Laser cutter upto 150W and a 3D CEL Robox
PhillyDee is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 11:08   #3
233
Capodecina
 
233's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 11,678
surprised at orange not having them in, got a micro from vodafone after walking in off the street no hassle, worth maybe calling a few independant phone shops to see if you can get a micro sim then register it to your orange account?

233 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 11:25   #4
valkia
Mobster
 
valkia's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,865
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhillyDee View Post
Do you have any local phone repair / unlocking type shops? They may have a sim cutter.
Going to have a look in the area

valkia is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 11:28   #5
Ben Cole
Wise Guy
 
Ben Cole's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Porthcawl and Southampton
Posts: 2,085
I did it with a knife. Worked just fine.

Find the instructions on Youtube.

Ben (Too scared of breaking rules to have a sig.)
Ben Cole is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 11:31   #6
dessimpson
Wise Guy
 
dessimpson's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 1,412
My Orange iPhone came with the sim attached to the box.
Just cut it down. It looks pretty simple if you follow the instructions.

On a side note. Orange have just upped their prices for everyone. Even us that are mid contract.
If they did it this year, what's to stop them doing it next year too?
dessimpson is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 11:42   #7
Jay794
Soldato
 
Jay794's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 5,126
When I was with Orange, I just walked in to the local shop and asked, they transferred all my info to a microsim and it only cost 15

Cooler Master HAF X| Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2Ghz | ASUS P8Z68-V Gen 3 | Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR3 | Corsair 860W | Custom Water Cooled| Crucial 256GB SSD | MSI R9 290X Twin Frozr
Jay794 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 11:51   #8
Morfik
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxtrot26 View Post
surprised at orange not having them in, got a micro from vodafone after walking in off the street no hassle, worth maybe calling a few independant phone shops to see if you can get a micro sim then register it to your orange account?
Same here, was free too.
Morfik is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 12:05   #9
valkia
Mobster
 
valkia's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,865
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay794 View Post
When I was with Orange, I just walked in to the local shop and asked, they transferred all my info to a microsim and it only cost 15
to be honest, I wouldn't want to pay 15 to have my data transferred because Apple want to use an oddly shaped sim, should be done for free in my opinion as you are a customer.

valkia is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 12:36   #10
RobH
Mobster
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 4,521
O2 have always been really good with this, you can walk in and ask for a microsim and they will transfer it for free, no questions asked. At the launch of the iPhone 4 it was a completely automated service you could do online, you just needed to pick up a microsim from an O2 shop or they could mail you one, this may still be the case. This was for PAYG, 30 day contracts and full contracts.

I'm surprised that it's not a similar situation with the other networks, paying for it seems a bit harsh.
RobH is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 12:45   #11
Jay794
Soldato
 
Jay794's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 5,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by valkia View Post
to be honest, I wouldn't want to pay 15 to have my data transferred because Apple want to use an oddly shaped sim, should be done for free in my opinion as you are a customer.
Recently Orange have been really crappy anyway, I jumped ship to 3!

Cooler Master HAF X| Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2Ghz | ASUS P8Z68-V Gen 3 | Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR3 | Corsair 860W | Custom Water Cooled| Crucial 256GB SSD | MSI R9 290X Twin Frozr
Jay794 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 12:47   #12
Mr.Stu
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Cole View Post
I did it with a knife. Worked just fine.

Find the instructions on Youtube.
^ This
Mr.Stu is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 13:29   #13
GSXRMovistar
Sgarrista
 
GSXRMovistar's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 8,429
As above, follow a youtube guide and do it with either a sharp knife or scissors, there really isn't anything hard about it I've done a few now without issue.

GSXRMovistar is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 13:33   #14
Jay794
Soldato
 
Jay794's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 5,126
As long as you don't cut the gold metal part you'll be fine

Cooler Master HAF X| Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2Ghz | ASUS P8Z68-V Gen 3 | Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR3 | Corsair 860W | Custom Water Cooled| Crucial 256GB SSD | MSI R9 290X Twin Frozr
Jay794 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 13:39   #15
fez
Sgarrista
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Norwich
Posts: 9,040
When I got my iphone from the apple store they did it then and there for me. They got a new orange micro sim out, phoned orange to get my number transferred and it was all done in about 15 minutes.
fez is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 13:52   #16
Danny091
Wise Guy
 
Danny091's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: North Wales
Posts: 1,618
when i got my Iphone i went into the 3 shop and they had the sim cutters there just did it for me no questions asked.. I guess you could try the orange shop? Failing that they might have them in carphone warehouse or phone's4u shops like that.

Danny091 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 14:35   #17
valkia
Mobster
 
valkia's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,865
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny091 View Post
when i got my Iphone i went into the 3 shop and they had the sim cutters there just did it for me no questions asked.. I guess you could try the orange shop? Failing that they might have them in carphone warehouse or phone's4u shops like that.
Yeah i've tried to call around a few phone shop. I see them everywhere but when I really want one they can't be found. I'm sure i'l find one. Just a bit of an inconvenience with this sim. I may just cut it myself.

valkia is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 14:55   #18
pingwing
Capodecina
 
pingwing's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Bedford
Posts: 19,291
Is there a CEX near by? My local one in town mentioned they will cut the sim down for free if you ask nicely (being run by teenagers probably helps a bit)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4T5 View Post
Wonder if Mark Thatcher will be able to find his way to the funeral?
pingwing is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 17:03   #19
valkia
Mobster
 
valkia's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,865
ended up calling Orange to order a new one. Will be here soon

If I was to put someone elses sim into the phone to activate it now is this advisable? Or should I wait to put my sim into it to activate it.

valkia is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 17:09   #20
TrUz
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 2,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by valkia View Post
ended up calling Orange to order a new one. Will be here soon

If I was to put someone elses sim into the phone to activate it now is this advisable? Or should I wait to put my sim into it to activate it.
I'd just cut your own SIM to be honest. You have a new one coming anyway!

Using someone else's wont hurt though if you're mega desperate. I'd rather not myself, but I'm a bit weird about things like that.


flickr | Nikon D3100, 50mm f/1.4G, 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
TrUz is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 17:17   #21
valkia
Mobster
 
valkia's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,865
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrUz View Post
I'd just cut your own SIM to be honest. You have a new one coming anyway!

Using someone else's wont hurt though if you're mega desperate. I'd rather not myself, but I'm a bit weird about things like that.
True I could cut the sim down but if incorrectly done would leave me without a phone lol

But yeah if I put someone elses Sim in it would always feel like its registered to them or something similar. Why does a Sim even need to be put in to activate it anyway?

valkia is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 18:24   #22
tidusjar
Mobster
 
tidusjar's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Guildford
Posts: 2,735
I had the same problem. Decided to cut it down. Very very easy. Look up a guide on youtube. It's really easy.

tidusjar is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jan 2012, 21:24   #23
lamboman
Mobster
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,606
I would personally avoid using a SIM cutter. Reason being is that they can and do often cut the SIM wrongly, taking off too much plastic around the edges, causing the SIM to short out against the SIM tray (and they cost more than a pair of already-owned scissors!). Also, the rough edges aren't nice, if you're fussy like me

I would instead recommend using this template, and a pair of scissors.

You might want to stick it down with double sided tape to stop it moving around when being cut. After that, you may want to round the edges a bit with a file. This got me a perfect micro SIM!
lamboman is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Jan 2012, 13:30   #24
valkia
Mobster
 
valkia's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,865
So I used the template and cut down the sim. Works in the phone fine, but only 2 bars of signal compared to full signal before. Could be a phone issue though.

*edit, 3G was on so it was lower signal, turned it off seems to be better now*

valkia is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jan 2012, 22:21   #25
valkia
Mobster
 
valkia's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,865
My new fully working purchase!!

Picked it up for a bargain of 240 for a 16gb iphone 4


valkia is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jan 2012, 23:46   #26
pingwing
Capodecina
 
pingwing's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Bedford
Posts: 19,291
Awww your old one looks sad, the unloved phone from the old phone recycling adverts...

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4T5 View Post
Wonder if Mark Thatcher will be able to find his way to the funeral?
pingwing is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2012, 00:49   #27
valkia
Mobster
 
valkia's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 4,865
Quote:
Originally Posted by pingwing View Post
Awww your old one looks sad, the unloved phone from the old phone recycling adverts...
he has been trusty and placed in the book of records with me. Had it for nearly 3 years, just got too slow to bare. Not replaced, he just had some rare candy and evolved.

valkia is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:52.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)