Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Life > Mobile Phones & Tablets

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 6th Sep 2012, 05:34   #1
ooch
Associate
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 43
Galaxy S3 windows xp detects camera not device

When plugged in to work computer ( XP SP3) My samsung Galaxy S3 only gets detected as a camera. This means I can not access my micro sim card.
The computer next to me at work which should be an identical set up sees a portable device.This P.C Can access SD card and move files from pc to phone etc.
All works fine at home on windows 7.
I have tried removing drivers from device manager still sees a digital camera.
I cant work out what can be different between the 2 computers at work for one to see a portable device and my one to see a camera.
Kies will not detect phone on my work PC had same problem with galaxy S2.
I really need full access to phone and SD card.
Any ideas?
ooch is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Sep 2012, 06:16   #2
AbsenceJam
Mobster
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 4,278
You should be able to browse it still, no? Try changing the USB mode if you can't.
AbsenceJam is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Sep 2012, 07:29   #3
ooch
Associate
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 43
They have taken that option out of the S3 (mass storage)
Here are the driver details that Xp is using.


It must be driver related as pc next to me picks up as device as mentioned before.
ooch is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Sep 2012, 07:37   #4
Myshra
Mobster
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: M4 Corridor
Posts: 4,376
You're on the wrong USB mode as Jam said. Plug it in, drop down the bar and click on the USB bit where it says Connected as a camera / PTP device. Select the other option, phone should auto re-sync as a MTP device.
Myshra is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Sep 2012, 08:21   #5
ooch
Associate
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 43
It is/was connected in MTP as a Media device.How do I relpace the pt drivers with the correct ones?
The pc that shows the phone correctly had these drivers shown.
ooch is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Sep 2012, 09:52   #6
Myshra
Mobster
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: M4 Corridor
Posts: 4,376
You could try the samsung USB driver kit I guess, that's the only thing i can really suggest at this stage that you havn't done. Presume you're running SP2+ just to check?
Myshra is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Sep 2012, 10:54   #7
ooch
Associate
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 43
yes its SP3. when I try putting samsung drivers in a messege comes up that I need to eject phone and reboot. After trying this via device manager I still get same messege. I need to find a way of my computer forgetting this phone and start again . As soon as I plug in a camera is reconized.
ooch is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 15:48.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)