Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Games > Console Games & Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 3rd Dec 2012, 15:18   #1
StevieP
Soldato
 
StevieP's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 5,251
Are the 12GB PS3's any good??

I'm looking for a replacement for my existing 120GB PS3 slim, primarily because although it's "slim", it is still quite deep and doesn't fit overly well in my TV cabinet!

I've seen the new 12GB PS3's and they look a lot smaller and the 12GB is listed as "flash memory" - does this mean it's quicker than the regular PS3's at accessing data & loading times etc?

I don't use my PS3 for much outside of FIFA 13 - does anyone know whether the 12GB is all available for games saves etc and will this be enough for my use?

Thanks guys...

| CPU: Core i5 2500K @ 3.3GHz | Cooler: Gelid Tranquillo |
| Motherboard: MSI P67A-GD65 | GPU: KFA2 GTX970 OC |
| PSU: OCZ 600W ModXStream Pro | SSD: 256GB Samsung 830 |
| RAM: 8GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 | Monitor: BenQ GW2765HT |
StevieP is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Dec 2012, 16:18   #2
TheVoice
Capodecina
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 17,044
12GB is a reasonable amount, although I imagine that in reality you're left with about 8 or 9GB usable at most. If you're not installing loads of games or downloading many demos it'll probably suffice.

Whether the flash memory improves load times or not, I don't know, it's probably not the fastest memory around by any means but it's probably not going to be any slower than a HDD. The limiting factor in most games is the read time from the Blu-ray.

TheVoice is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Dec 2012, 16:25   #3
Haggisman
Capodecina
 
Haggisman's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 10,399
Bear in mind that many Playstation store games are over 10GB on their own, so with the 12GB you're effectively locking yourself out of buying pretty much anything.

PSplus is out of the question too!!

That being said, if you're only playing disc games then it's highly unlikely you'll need much more

"I put my hand down my bra and pulled out a cuddly little bat."
Haggisman is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Dec 2012, 17:30   #4
HarryPainful
PermaBanned
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,131
Some games require a mandatory install, then there are patches, DLC etc.
HarryPainful is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Dec 2012, 18:37   #5
StevieP
Soldato
 
StevieP's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 5,251
Thanks for the replies guys!

I can't imagine I will want to be downloading many (if any) demos as I tend to use it for just FIFA at the moment!

I'm leaning towards the 12GB just because I find my existing 120GB Slim to be a bit on the slow side and like the idea of flash memory!

I think I'll have a look at the size of the game saves are on FIFA and decide whether I can get away with it!

| CPU: Core i5 2500K @ 3.3GHz | Cooler: Gelid Tranquillo |
| Motherboard: MSI P67A-GD65 | GPU: KFA2 GTX970 OC |
| PSU: OCZ 600W ModXStream Pro | SSD: 256GB Samsung 830 |
| RAM: 8GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 | Monitor: BenQ GW2765HT |
StevieP is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Dec 2012, 19:27   #6
Frost
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Catford
Posts: 1,720
I think you can buy a 2.5" HD and plug it in on the new slim ps3's cant you?

Frost is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Dec 2012, 19:31   #7
TheVoice
Capodecina
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 17,044
^Yep. Hell, even a small SSD wouldn't be that expensive these days if you were so inclined.

TheVoice is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Dec 2012, 22:17   #8
kdd
Mobster
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Kent
Posts: 3,443
Releasing a 12gb ps3 is stoopid imo, a lot of games have 3-4gb installs!


PSN: Kennyuk77 - Now with added PS4
kdd is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Dec 2012, 08:56   #9
Haggisman
Capodecina
 
Haggisman's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 10,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevieP View Post
Thanks for the replies guys!

I can't imagine I will want to be downloading many (if any) demos as I tend to use it for just FIFA at the moment!

I'm leaning towards the 12GB just because I find my existing 120GB Slim to be a bit on the slow side and like the idea of flash memory!

I think I'll have a look at the size of the game saves are on FIFA and decide whether I can get away with it!
I did a bit of research into fitting an SSD when I was upgrading my PS3, and the consensus was that it makes very little difference on blu-ray based games, but some downloaded games load quicker. I can't really see the flash memory having much of an advantage over disk to be honest =/

"I put my hand down my bra and pulled out a cuddly little bat."
Haggisman is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Dec 2012, 10:54   #10
Begbie
Capodecina
 
Begbie's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 20,454
Can you install a HDD to the 12GB models?

Begbie is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Dec 2012, 10:56   #11
TheLegendOfMart
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,730
Yes but you need to buy the caddie seperate.
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevieP View Post
I'm leaning towards the 12GB just because I find my existing 120GB Slim to be a bit on the slow side and like the idea of flash memory!
To be honest its the cheapest PS3 they sell, the flash memory is probably going to be the slowest/cheapest they can get away with, I don't think its going to be any faster at loading than a regular HDD.
TheLegendOfMart is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Dec 2012, 11:20   #12
ps3ud0
Caporegime
 
ps3ud0's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Luton ;)
Posts: 26,740
12Gb PS3 Super Slim would be fine playing a single disk game with an install but it wouldnt work with most full game downlaods off PSN Store. I would never recommend the Super Slim if your existing PS3 is still working fine, its been built to cut costs and its pretty obvious where those savings have been made...

The Slim is definitely the one to have - perhaps with the OPs he just needs to wipe his

ps3ud0


Thank **** for Cloud offloading > improving graphics - Game Central
ps3ud0 is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Dec 2012, 11:57   #13
StevieP
Soldato
 
StevieP's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 5,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by ps3ud0 View Post
The Slim is definitely the one to have - perhaps with the OPs he just needs to wipe his
It's not so much the speed (although mine is definitely a little "juddery" compared to a mate of mines so it would be nice!) but rather the physical dimensions - the existing 160GB Slim only just fits in my TV cabinet (to the point where I can't leave anything plugged into the front USB ports and have the cabinet door closed!)

| CPU: Core i5 2500K @ 3.3GHz | Cooler: Gelid Tranquillo |
| Motherboard: MSI P67A-GD65 | GPU: KFA2 GTX970 OC |
| PSU: OCZ 600W ModXStream Pro | SSD: 256GB Samsung 830 |
| RAM: 8GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 | Monitor: BenQ GW2765HT |
StevieP is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Dec 2012, 13:25   #14
LordSplodge
Capodecina
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: 9th Inner Circle
Posts: 16,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Begbie View Post
Can you install a HDD to the 12GB models?
Yes but you'll need to buy the PS3 drive caddy.


"An injured friend is the bitterest of foes" - Thomas Jefferson
LordSplodge is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Dec 2012, 23:32   #15
mrjagga
PermaBanned
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 395
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordSplodge View Post
Yes but you'll need to buy the PS3 drive caddy.
Problem solved, buy ps3 12gb + hdd caddy and drive at your leisure = Bargain.
mrjagga is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 7th Dec 2012, 13:09   #16
budge1972
Hitman
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: bicester
Posts: 951
You don't HAVE to buy the caddy but the HDD will wobble about inside the ps3 without it.

XBL-PSN-Wii U-Origin :budge1972
Steam : budgio
budge1972 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 7th Dec 2012, 19:12   #17
ic1male
Capodecina
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Westchestershire
Posts: 20,364
How do you choose which drive to save to if you have both Flash and a normal HDD fitted?
ic1male is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 7th Dec 2012, 19:59   #18
ps3ud0
Caporegime
 
ps3ud0's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Luton ;)
Posts: 26,740
AFAIK the flash drive is disabled once you have an internal HDD installed

ps3ud0


Thank **** for Cloud offloading > improving graphics - Game Central
ps3ud0 is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 7th Dec 2012, 20:17   #19
unp|dissy
Wise Guy
 
unp|dissy's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Wirral
Posts: 1,414
For 125 they're a bargain. Slap your own drive in for 40 - if you even need it, and you're good to go.
unp|dissy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 15:30.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)