Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Graphics Cards

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 24th Jul 2013, 07:31   #1
RyuuzakiMasato7
Associate
 
RyuuzakiMasato7's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: Stirling, Scotland
Posts: 10
Question Add another Asus 660 Ti, or swap for a 770?

Hi folks, need some advice - considering options for a GPU upgrade later in the year/early next year, and I'm torn. Current specs:

CPU - i5-3570K with stock cooler
GPU - Asus GTX 660 Ti DirectCU II
RAM - 8 GB Corsair Vengeance
Mobo - MSI Z77A-G45 Gaming Edition
2 TB HDD
Asus 24" LED HD monitor

Now, I'm considering two options right now. First is to add another identical graphics card to run them in SLI - my other option is to sell my current one, to part fund an upgrade to a single GTX 770. I've been looking for comparisons or identical benchmark tests etc with no luck, what do you guys recommend?
RyuuzakiMasato7 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2013, 07:41   #2
RetrogamerX
PermaBanned
 
RetrogamerX's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 4,727
I say buy another 660ti for SLI. 2 660ti's will beat 1 770.
RetrogamerX is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2013, 07:46   #3
dmferrett
Hitman
 
Joined: May 2013
Location: England
Posts: 574
Quote:
Originally Posted by RyuuzakiMasato7 View Post
Hi folks, need some advice - considering options for a GPU upgrade later in the year/early next year, and I'm torn. Current specs:

CPU - i5-3570K with stock cooler
GPU - Asus GTX 660 Ti DirectCU II
RAM - 8 GB Corsair Vengeance
Mobo - MSI Z77A-G45 Gaming Edition
2 TB HDD
Asus 24" LED HD monitor

Now, I'm considering two options right now. First is to add another identical graphics card to run them in SLI - my other option is to sell my current one, to part fund an upgrade to a single GTX 770. I've been looking for comparisons or identical benchmark tests etc with no luck, what do you guys recommend?
Heres a review on 2 and 3 way sli. Buy another 660ti if your using a single monitor and less than 4k res.

Be warned that due to the limited bandwidth and 2gb vram you wont be able to run multiscreen high res games with full msa and highest settings in games like BF3, Crysis 3 BF4 and Rome 2 etc... (Brother had 3 in sli and would crash out in bf3 when ultra was applied in surround (3 screens). Which games do you play?

If you use 1 monitor at 1920x1200 you will fine imo..

Look at how msa and higher resolution kills performance in terms of FPS..........

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/gra...60-ti-sli.html
Last edited by dmferrett; 24th Jul 2013 at 09:17.
dmferrett is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2013, 08:56   #4
whyscotty
Sgarrista
 
whyscotty's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Wigan
Posts: 8,276
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetrogamerX View Post
I say buy another 660ti for SLI. 2 660ti's will beat 1 770.
^^^
This

5930K - AsRock X99M Killer 3.1
Corsair 2666 - MSI 980ti Lightning
TT Core X2
whyscotty is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2013, 09:01   #5
kidloco
Mobster
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,334
Sorry for hijacking the thread but i'm in a similar position really.

Currently running this board
https://www.overclockers.co.uk/showp...-514-AS&tool=3
Asus P8Z77-V LX Intel Z77

And I have this card
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 660 WindForce 2X 2048MB
https://www.overclockers.co.uk/showp...odid=GX-109-GI

Firstly I havent been into PC gaming for prob over 10 years and bought this card to get back into it. I have 1 1080p monitor (24") and I was expecting to max out all the games in that res but some games struggle.

I take it this board will allow SLI? and if so am I best buying another 660 or moving to a new 1 card setup.?


thanks

kidloco is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2013, 09:05   #6
whyscotty
Sgarrista
 
whyscotty's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Wigan
Posts: 8,276
Quote:
Originally Posted by kidloco View Post
Sorry for hijacking the thread but i'm in a similar position really.

Currently running this board
https://www.overclockers.co.uk/showp...-514-AS&tool=3
Asus P8Z77-V LX Intel Z77

And I have this card
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 660 WindForce 2X 2048MB
https://www.overclockers.co.uk/showp...odid=GX-109-GI

Firstly I havent been into PC gaming for prob over 10 years and bought this card to get back into it. I have 1 1080p monitor (24") and I was expecting to max out all the games in that res but some games struggle.

I take it this board will allow SLI? and if so am I best buying another 660 or moving to a new 1 card setup.?


thanks


According to the product description, that DOES NOT support Sli only crossfire

5930K - AsRock X99M Killer 3.1
Corsair 2666 - MSI 980ti Lightning
TT Core X2
whyscotty is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2013, 09:10   #7
Phixsator
Wise Guy
 
Phixsator's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,601
There is HyperSli for boards without official support for SLI. Have a friend who had an older AMD board for his 995BE. He ran 2x560 ti with HyperSLI and it worked just fine. Worth looking into atleast.

4770k, 980 ti with MK-26 cooler, DELL S2716DG, 16gb 1867mhz, Asus Xonar Essence STX, Corsair AX860 Plat PSU, 500gb 850 evo, 120gb 840 evo, Windows 10
Phixsator is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2013, 09:26   #8
kidloco
Mobster
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,334
hmmm, cheers guys. think ill prob just wait 6 months then upgrade to a more powerful single card.

kidloco is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2013, 11:27   #9
RyuuzakiMasato7
Associate
 
RyuuzakiMasato7's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: Stirling, Scotland
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmferrett View Post
Heres a review on 2 and 3 way sli. Buy another 660ti if your using a single monitor and less than 4k res.

Be warned that due to the limited bandwidth and 2gb vram you wont be able to run multiscreen high res games with full msa and highest settings in games like BF3, Crysis 3 BF4 and Rome 2 etc... (Brother had 3 in sli and would crash out in bf3 when ultra was applied in surround (3 screens). Which games do you play?

If you use 1 monitor at 1920x1200 you will fine imo..

Look at how msa and higher resolution kills performance in terms of FPS..........

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/gra...60-ti-sli.html
Thanks for that, helpful article! Dual 660 Ti is looking better now then - I am indeed using a single, 1080p monitor, I don't plan on upgrading to 1600p or anything for a good while yet... From other benchmarks I've found, Crysis 3 for example, SLI seems about equal to 770 single, equal or better. In that regard, might I be better off going the slightly cheaper route of a new 770 now after selling my 660 Ti, so I can upgrade with ANOTHER 770 further down the line once I get promoted? :P
RyuuzakiMasato7 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2013, 11:39   #10
dmferrett
Hitman
 
Joined: May 2013
Location: England
Posts: 574
Quote:
Originally Posted by RyuuzakiMasato7 View Post
Thanks for that, helpful article! Dual 660 Ti is looking better now then - I am indeed using a single, 1080p monitor, I don't plan on upgrading to 1600p or anything for a good while yet... From other benchmarks I've found, Crysis 3 for example, SLI seems about equal to 770 single, equal or better. In that regard, might I be better off going the slightly cheaper route of a new 770 now after selling my 660 Ti, so I can upgrade with ANOTHER 770 further down the line once I get promoted? :P
If your gonna replace your current 660ti, then a 4Gb GTx770 is a good move. 2x660ti's overclocked should be as quick as a Titan at your resolution in BF3. (its impoortant you buy a product that performs good in the games you play)

660tix2 sli 1080p AA,4xmsa 97min fps, max 121 fps

(1020/6008), you might get better than 1020 gpu core...


1xTitan 1080p 98 min fps 119 max fps

360 of 660ti's beats a 800-900 Titan oh my god!!!

Get an additional 660ti if your only 1080p on a single monitor.......
dmferrett is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2013, 11:42   #11
RetrogamerX
PermaBanned
 
RetrogamerX's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 4,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmferrett View Post
If your gonna replace your current 660ti, then a 4Gb GTx770 is a god move. 2x660ti's overclocked should be as quick as a Titan at your resolution in BF3. (its impoortant you buy a product that performs good in the games you play)

660tix2 sli 1080p AA,4xmsa 97min fps, max 121 fps

(1020/6008), you might get better than 1020 gpu core...


1xTitan 1080p 98 min fps 119 max fps

360 of 660ti's beats a 800-900 Titan oh my god!!!
A GTX 770 4gb would be a waste of money on a single screen 1080p. If you really want a 770 that bad then yes get one, but you don't need a 4gb model on 1 1080p monitor.
RetrogamerX is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2013, 11:42   #12
arc@css
Underboss
 
arc@css's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Various dimensions.
Posts: 23,009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmferrett View Post
If your gonna replace your current 660ti, then a 4Gb GTx770 is a god move.
A 2gb 770 at 1080p would more than suffice.
arc@css is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2013, 11:53   #13
dmferrett
Hitman
 
Joined: May 2013
Location: England
Posts: 574
So whats gonna happen when next gen games comes out!!! BF3 is already hitting 1.8gb on a single monitor in ultra at 1080p in MP. Skyrim is up to 3gb with mods. BF4 is at 2.1gb with a single monitor at 1080p without textures. (Alpha admittedly)

Why would I recommend a new 2gb card........when 4gb would serve him for longer and offer better upgrade options in future. Sli'd 4gb gtx770's will run high res textures for multiscreen use........

I wouldn't want to buy 2Gb at this stage, this im 100% sure of...
dmferrett is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2013, 11:56   #14
arc@css
Underboss
 
arc@css's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Various dimensions.
Posts: 23,009
I can't see a 2gb card like that becoming obsolete any time soon.
arc@css is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2013, 12:07   #15
whyscotty
Sgarrista
 
whyscotty's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Wigan
Posts: 8,276
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetrogamerX View Post
A GTX 770 4gb would be a waste of money on a single screen 1080p. If you really want a 770 that bad then yes get one, but you don't need a 4gb model on 1 1080p monitor.
Quote:
Originally Posted by arc@css View Post
A 2gb 770 at 1080p would more than suffice.
^^^
These

4gb only becomes viable on multi gpu and surround set ups (Skyrim seems to be the exception)

source - personal experience

5930K - AsRock X99M Killer 3.1
Corsair 2666 - MSI 980ti Lightning
TT Core X2
Last edited by whyscotty; 24th Jul 2013 at 12:25.
whyscotty is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2013, 12:10   #16
imginy
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,626
I don't think a 770 would be much of an upgrade over a 660ti.

I don't think sli 660ti is a good idea either personally I would hold what you got until something better comes out or the 780 drops to a reasonable price.

For now just stick some custom bios on your 660ti and clock the crap out of it, My friend has same card as you and can hit 10300 on 3dmark11.

i5 3570k @ 5Ghz | Asus Top 7950 v2 | MSI gd65 z77 | Samsung green 8GB 2133mhz Ram | Kingston 128GB SSD | Phanteks cpu cooler | cooler master scout case | Panasonic ST50 50" plasma|
Last edited by imginy; 24th Jul 2013 at 13:01.
imginy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2013, 12:28   #17
Kaapstad
Capodecina
 
Kaapstad's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Skaro
Posts: 18,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by whyscotty View Post
^^^
These

4gb only becomes viable on multi gpu and surround set ups (Skyrim seems to be the exception)

source - personal experience
+1

Kaapstad is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2013, 13:16   #18
RyuuzakiMasato7
Associate
 
RyuuzakiMasato7's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: Stirling, Scotland
Posts: 10
I don't particularly plan on going multi monitor tbh, so 4GB, doesn't seem worth the extra in that regard. I guess half of my dilemma is trying to predict which will be better when I get around to the upgrade - which will be around the time of, or a couple months after, the launch of next gen consoles and the games that come with them. Stuff like AC4, Watch_Dogs, that kind of thing. I'm pretty sure I'm wanting to upgrade to either or at the time, it's just figuring out the best route. I have a 1080 LED monitor at 60hz, I'm perfectly happy with it, no enormous desire to go higher than 60fps or upgrade my monitor to allow for it. Thoughts?
RyuuzakiMasato7 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2013, 15:18   #19
imginy
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by RyuuzakiMasato7 View Post
I don't particularly plan on going multi monitor tbh, so 4GB, doesn't seem worth the extra in that regard. I guess half of my dilemma is trying to predict which will be better when I get around to the upgrade - which will be around the time of, or a couple months after, the launch of next gen consoles and the games that come with them. Stuff like AC4, Watch_Dogs, that kind of thing. I'm pretty sure I'm wanting to upgrade to either or at the time, it's just figuring out the best route. I have a 1080 LED monitor at 60hz, I'm perfectly happy with it, no enormous desire to go higher than 60fps or upgrade my monitor to allow for it. Thoughts?
I would ask again after the consoles have been released.

People are saying that with new games like bf4 there might be a need for more than 2gb vram and with consoles having 8gb it's definitely a possibility that games next year will want more than 2gb.

AMD are releasing 9970 and 9950 later this year so I would see what they bring and see if nvidia drops there price on the 780.

i5 3570k @ 5Ghz | Asus Top 7950 v2 | MSI gd65 z77 | Samsung green 8GB 2133mhz Ram | Kingston 128GB SSD | Phanteks cpu cooler | cooler master scout case | Panasonic ST50 50" plasma|
imginy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2013, 15:53   #20
RetrogamerX
PermaBanned
 
RetrogamerX's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 4,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by imginy View Post
I would ask again after the consoles have been released.

People are saying that with new games like bf4 there might be a need for more than 2gb vram and with consoles having 8gb it's definitely a possibility that games next year will want more than 2gb.
Are you saying new consoles will have 8gb of vram? I hope you meant 8gb of ram.
RetrogamerX is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2013, 16:04   #21
whyscotty
Sgarrista
 
whyscotty's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Wigan
Posts: 8,276
Quote:
Originally Posted by imginy View Post
AMD are releasing 9970 and 9950 later this year so I would see what they bring and see if nvidia drops there price on the 780.
Don't see this happening

5930K - AsRock X99M Killer 3.1
Corsair 2666 - MSI 980ti Lightning
TT Core X2
whyscotty is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2013, 16:05   #22
arc@css
Underboss
 
arc@css's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Various dimensions.
Posts: 23,009
Quote:
Originally Posted by whyscotty View Post
Don't see this happening
+1
arc@css is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2013, 16:10   #23
imginy
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetrogamerX View Post
Are you saying new consoles will have 8gb of vram? I hope you meant 8gb of ram.
They have 8gb unified system memory.

Ps4 with 8gb GDDR5 and xbox with 8gb ddr3 I believe.

i5 3570k @ 5Ghz | Asus Top 7950 v2 | MSI gd65 z77 | Samsung green 8GB 2133mhz Ram | Kingston 128GB SSD | Phanteks cpu cooler | cooler master scout case | Panasonic ST50 50" plasma|
imginy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2013, 16:59   #24
Drangueos
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: London
Posts: 2,387
I would go for the 660ti SLI

-----------------------------------------------
-----------------------------------------------
Drangueos is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jul 2013, 04:33   #25
3t3P
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,359
yeh there is that article out there about 'future proofing your PC for next gen consoles'.

the new consoles have 8gb of ram shared between CPU and GPU, which I think is kinda cool.

It will probably be months years but they speculated that when we see better ports from the consoles over to PC (they should be better this time...) we will need as much V-ram as we can get our hands on.

I don't think its entirely unreasonable therefore to get a 4gb card, depending on when your next upgrade cycle is.

ah found it, an interesting read:

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/di...c-for-next-gen

2500K @ 4.5GHz, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 16GB Corsair, MSI GTX 970 SLI, 840 Evo 500GB, Corsair AX860, Custom 700D + Custom Water, Asus ROG Swift: Build log: http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/sho...php?t=18195199
3t3P is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jul 2013, 16:57   #26
RyuuzakiMasato7
Associate
 
RyuuzakiMasato7's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: Stirling, Scotland
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3t3P View Post
yeh there is that article out there about 'future proofing your PC for next gen consoles'.

the new consoles have 8gb of ram shared between CPU and GPU, which I think is kinda cool.

It will probably be months years but they speculated that when we see better ports from the consoles over to PC (they should be better this time...) we will need as much V-ram as we can get our hands on.

I don't think its entirely unreasonable therefore to get a 4gb card, depending on when your next upgrade cycle is.

ah found it, an interesting read:

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/di...c-for-next-gen
Thanks for that, really is an interesting article! Several good points, tbh I'd missed the part about 8 GB unified memory, very interesting.

I think I've decided to stick with 660 Ti in SLI. I can see just the one doing pretty damn well with next gen games once they start hitting, adding another seems the better choice. Plus, this time NEXT year I should be in a considerably better job, so I can maybe think about selling two cards to fund a nice, pretty, 780... I do have one question regarding SLI though - does the second card have to be identical? If not, is it more beneficial to add an identical card or does it not matter as much? And if so, do you recommend anything besides my Asus DCU2 card?

Guys, thank you so much for all your input, it's much appreciated. I think I'm gonna like it here.
Last edited by RyuuzakiMasato7; 25th Jul 2013 at 17:37.
RyuuzakiMasato7 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jul 2013, 01:53   #27
3t3P
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,359
no worries mate and welcome to the forums.

the second card has to be the same GPU core, but you can mix brands (as I do)

SLI ain't a shabby move at all, I can't think of a time i've had in-game SLI issues and adding another 470 to my system gave me shed loads more power, really noticeable in crysis and the like.

660Ti SLI will be a mover

Get that better job and show us your new shiny tech next year

2500K @ 4.5GHz, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 16GB Corsair, MSI GTX 970 SLI, 840 Evo 500GB, Corsair AX860, Custom 700D + Custom Water, Asus ROG Swift: Build log: http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/sho...php?t=18195199
3t3P is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jul 2013, 07:23   #28
RetrogamerX
PermaBanned
 
RetrogamerX's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 4,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by RyuuzakiMasato7 View Post
I do have one question regarding SLI though - does the second card have to be identical?
It should be the same chip and have the same amount or vram. So if your getting a 660ti 2gb it would be best for it to be the same gpu with 2gb
RetrogamerX is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2013, 06:21   #29
RyuuzakiMasato7
Associate
 
RyuuzakiMasato7's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: Stirling, Scotland
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetrogamerX View Post
It should be the same chip and have the same amount or vram. So if your getting a 660ti 2gb it would be best for it to be the same gpu with 2gb
Cheers! From a brief search the OC edition of my current card seems about the cheapest, so it'll likely be that. It's a while off yet though. :P

Intel i5-3570K | MSI Z77A-G45 Gaming Edition
8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 | Asus GTX 660 Ti
Corsair 750TXV2 | 2TB Seagate Sata-III HDD
Corsair Obsidian 550D | ASUS VE248H Monitor
RyuuzakiMasato7 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2013, 12:50   #30
alex_123_fra
Wise Guy
 
alex_123_fra's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,560
If I had the option, I'd go 770. Not been overly impressed with SLI in the games I play. Apart from bench improvements, the downsides I cannot accept are the noise/heat (unless watercooled) and increased power draw. Sure it won't give as much fps in benches, but it won't be miles behind in games.

RIG 1: i7 4930K @ 4.5 GHz | Carbide 540 | Asus RIVF | 16 GB Trident X 2400Mhz | 2 x GTX Titan X | Corsair AX 1200
RIG 2
: i7 4770k @ 4.5Ghz | Maximus VI Gene | 2 x GTX780 SLI | 16 GB Ripjaws Z 2133MHz | 850W Seasonic platinum | Bitfenix Prodigy
alex_123_fra is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 18:50.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)