Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > General Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10th Dec 2013, 15:58   #1
pigeonguyuk
Hitman
 
pigeonguyuk's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 611
Flexible PCI-E X4 pci-e riser card extender ribbon cable

Hey all im looking the following

Flexible PCI-E X4 pci-e riser card extender ribbon cable

I have fould lots of places selling them, however max length is only 10-15cm. For my purpose i need around 30cm.

Can anyone point me in the direction of getting one of this length. Or advised if i connected 2 15cm ones together.

Its for extending to a PCIe SSD. due to graphics card locatation(3slot) the x4 pcie is covered.

Thanks
pigeonguyuk is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 10th Dec 2013, 17:01   #2
varkanoid
Soldato
 
varkanoid's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: The TARDIS, Wakefield, UK
Posts: 5,837
I would have thought you could just put two together.

Gigabyte Z97X-Gaming7, i7 4790k, Fractal Design R4
Zotac 980TI w/EVGA Hybrid AIO Cooler, Corsair VOID Headset, 16gb 2133mhz, ASUS ROG PG279Q IPS Gsync, EVGA SuperNova G1 1000W, Samsung 240gb EVO SSD etc
varkanoid is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 10th Dec 2013, 17:14   #3
d_brennen
Capodecina
 
d_brennen's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Aquilonem Londinensi
Posts: 12,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by varkanoid View Post
I would have thought you could just put two together.
Quite possible. PCIe is very sensitive to timings though, which is partly why available cables are usually quite short. I'd thoroughly test this interface before putting any faith in it, even then backups are very wise in any case

d_brennen is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 10th Dec 2013, 17:25   #4
arfoll
Gangster
 
arfoll's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 364
I saw one guy making 26cm ones so I guess you might get away with 2x15. Best way is to try! I wouldn't put my data on that link though ahaha. Are you sure it's not worth putting your gfx on a riser instead of the SSD?
arfoll is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 10th Dec 2013, 19:09   #5
pigeonguyuk
Hitman
 
pigeonguyuk's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 611
well im changing from an antec 1100 case to an 810 switch, which is currently in transport.

ill do some testing at weekend.

its the sexy ROG RAIDR Express SSd. Was wanting a long cable so i can have it as a nice feature in the sidepanel window with a customer bracket

i will find a way round it. i can get a 30cm x1 adaptor, but i want the x4 to not effect the transfer speeds
pigeonguyuk is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 10th Dec 2013, 19:53   #6
arfoll
Gangster
 
arfoll's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by pigeonguyuk View Post
i will find a way round it. i can get a 30cm x1 adaptor, but i want the x4 to not effect the transfer speeds
Shame they skimped out and are using a PCIe v2 controller, they could have gone PCIe v3 and at x1 not run out of bandwith with those controllers.
arfoll is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 10th Dec 2013, 21:46   #7
Puppetmaster
Soldato
 
Puppetmaster's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Near Brighton
Posts: 5,859
Quote:
Originally Posted by arfoll View Post
Shame they skimped out and are using a PCIe v2 controller, they could have gone PCIe v3 and at x1 not run out of bandwith with those controllers.
Not everyone will have PCI-E v3. I don't (ok system is nearly 3 years old but it still easily does the job).

i7 5930K @ 4.6GHz | Asus Rampage V | 16GB DDR4 2666MHz
2x HIS 290 @ 290x | Asus Xonar DX | AX1200i | Corsair 900D
Samsung 830 256GB | Crucial MX100 512GB | Custom Water
Puppetmaster is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 10th Dec 2013, 22:23   #8
Datamonkey
Soldato
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Location: Kempston - Bedfordshire
Posts: 6,436
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puppetmaster View Post
Not everyone will have PCI-E v3. I don't (ok system is nearly 3 years old but it still easily does the job).
That maybe the case, but PCI-e v3 is backwards compatible.

Datamonkey is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 10th Dec 2013, 23:54   #9
bremen1874
Soldato
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 5,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by Datamonkey View Post
That maybe the case, but PCI-e v3 is backwards compatible.
Which would then give you a PCIEX1 V2.0 connection. A PCIEX4 V2.0 connection is obviously preferable.

How many boards actually have PCIEX1 V3.0 slots anyway?
bremen1874 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Dec 2013, 08:56   #10
arfoll
Gangster
 
arfoll's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by bremen1874 View Post
Which would then give you a PCIEX1 V2.0 connection. A PCIEX4 V2.0 connection is obviously preferable.

How many boards actually have PCIEX1 V3.0 slots anyway?
Well I would say a PCIe x4 v3 connector is best and that would let you drop to x1. Anyways it's not a serious critisicm, the day I trust Asus with my data lol.
arfoll is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:46.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)