Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > General Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th Jun 2006, 12:40   #1
joroma
Hitman
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Dorset
Posts: 640
Enermax Liberty 500w Power Supply

The supplied kettle type lead has got a 13A fuse fitted. My previous PSU's had 5A fuses fitted as have most of my power leads. Do I need a 13A fuse on this PSU? Anyone else got the same PSU with a 13A fuse?
Was going to contact Enermax but I seem to be getting through to India so thought I would try this forum???

ASUS P4P-800-Deluxe
P4 3.0 @ 3.3
ATI Radeon 9800 PRO
2 x 1gb Corsair XMS
joroma is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Jun 2006, 12:46   #2
Indy500
Capodecina
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 17,519
Strange, I emailed Enermax and got a reply very quickly, and the guy knew his stuff (I was asking a rather obscure question about -5v and ATX).
Indy500 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Jun 2006, 12:49   #3
joroma
Hitman
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Dorset
Posts: 640
hmmmmm...didn't think to email. I'll give that a go.

ASUS P4P-800-Deluxe
P4 3.0 @ 3.3
ATI Radeon 9800 PRO
2 x 1gb Corsair XMS
joroma is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Jun 2006, 13:15   #4
Jay_t
Hitman
 
Jay_t's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: The Lake District
Posts: 709
I'll check mine when I get back home for you.

I7 4770K, Noctua NH U12P, Asus Sabretooth Z87, 16GB G Skill Trident @ 2400Mhz, Corsair 850W PSU, 2 x OCZ Agility 3 240GB RAID 0, 2 x Hitachi Deskstar 4TB RAID 1, 2 x Hitachi Deskstar 2TB RAID 1 X-Fi Titanium to DTT3500 over DDL, 7950 Crossfire @ 1150/1500, Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W, 3 x Asus VN 247H in eyefininty
Jay_t is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Jun 2006, 13:37   #5
idoru66
Associate
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: North London
Posts: 49
See below

X2 4400+ // Asus A8N-E // 2GB Corsair XMS3200 2.5-3-3-7@1T
BFG 7900GTX OC #3 // 2 x Raptors // Tagan Easycon 580W
idoru66 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Jun 2006, 13:37   #6
idoru66
Associate
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: North London
Posts: 49
13A fuse in the plug on my new Tagan Easycon 580W...

X2 4400+ // Asus A8N-E // 2GB Corsair XMS3200 2.5-3-3-7@1T
BFG 7900GTX OC #3 // 2 x Raptors // Tagan Easycon 580W
idoru66 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Jun 2006, 13:56   #7
ZXSpectrum
Sgarrista
 
ZXSpectrum's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Derby
Posts: 8,143
Good spot mate... They should be supplied by law with 5amp fuses... Just on to my contact at Coolergiant UK now.

Lana, call Kenny Loggins... 'cuz you're in the Danger Zone.
ZXSpectrum is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Jun 2006, 14:11   #8
ZXSpectrum
Sgarrista
 
ZXSpectrum's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Derby
Posts: 8,143
Just got off the phone to Coolergiant UK and TBH they havnt got a clue.

PAT test regs state that any item that draws less than 700w of power should be fitted with 3or5amp fuse.

The contact at Coolergiant told me that a 13amp fuse was better as more components means more power consumption and it will be less likely to blow the fuse.

Oh dear... I really think he should read up on these regs...

Lana, call Kenny Loggins... 'cuz you're in the Danger Zone.
ZXSpectrum is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Jun 2006, 14:13   #9
Indy500
Capodecina
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 17,519
When you allow for efficiency, a 620W will draw more than 700W from the socket when running a good rig at 100% load...
Indy500 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Jun 2006, 14:56   #10
joroma
Hitman
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Dorset
Posts: 640
I emailed Enermax Support and to thir credit they replied in 15 mins. They say 13amp is correct (not the best English though and I still suspect via India?).

I've looked at the spec for the PSU but it doesn't quote power consumption. They are supposed to be 80% efficient so does that mean consumption would be 500 + 20% = 625 Watts.

Is the consensus that it should be a 5 amp fuse?

ASUS P4P-800-Deluxe
P4 3.0 @ 3.3
ATI Radeon 9800 PRO
2 x 1gb Corsair XMS
joroma is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 13th Jun 2006, 15:00   #11
Indy500
Capodecina
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 17,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by joroma
I emailed Enermax Support and to thir credit they replied in 15 mins. They say 13amp is correct (not the best English though and I still suspect via India?).
Theyre Taiwanese, give them a break...not everyone is like Asus
Indy500 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 15th Jun 2006, 11:23   #12
joroma
Hitman
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Dorset
Posts: 640
I emailed Enermax again with a more specific question and this was their reply:
"Ac cord is for universal. If input voltage is 230V, maximum input
current is 4 amp, so 5 amp fuse is enough.
However, if I/V is 110V, the max. I/C is over 9.5 amp, then we should
use 13 amp fuse is enough. Our power supply is for universal, so we must
choose 13 amp."
So uk users should?could? use a 5 amp fuse. I will change mine tonight.

ASUS P4P-800-Deluxe
P4 3.0 @ 3.3
ATI Radeon 9800 PRO
2 x 1gb Corsair XMS
joroma is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 15th Jun 2006, 19:37   #13
sgoaty
Wise Guy
 
sgoaty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 1,450
Quote:
Originally Posted by joroma
I emailed Enermax again with a more specific question and this was their reply:
"Ac cord is for universal. If input voltage is 230V, maximum input
current is 4 amp, so 5 amp fuse is enough.
However, if I/V is 110V, the max. I/C is over 9.5 amp, then we should
use 13 amp fuse is enough. Our power supply is for universal, so we must
choose 13 amp."
So uk users should?could? use a 5 amp fuse. I will change mine tonight.
By their sums the psu could draw 920w (4x 230) also again using thier sums there would need to be another country who used less than 186v with a UK type plug. Does such a place exist?

5820k@4Ghz, Gigabyte X99-UD4, 16GB Corsair Vengeance quad channel RAM, GTX 780 Classified SLI
sgoaty is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:29.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)