Advice Please: Raid controller for home server

Associate
Hi All

I am looking for help and guidance with regarding to purchasing a suitable raid controller for my home server.

Let me just start with saying that I am a Raid newbie, and as such I would like to get as much help and guidance before I start jumping in with both feet and purchasing something that would not be suitable for my needs.

The home server in question is running ESXi, I don't know if that will make any difference.

The home server is mainly being used as a home media server with Ubuntu and plex, I am slowly converting all my DvD's and Blueray's, and as such starting to used up large amounts of storage space.

The current proposal is to install 5x 4TB WD40EFRX WD Red's with the provision to expand to 10x 4TB WD Red's in the future.

The current setup is using 2x 4TB Red's and 2x 2TB Green's all as single drives, with no redundancy, and this is just not acceptable.

I want at least one drive redundancy, but ideally two drive redundancy. If the latter, then my understanding is that I would be looking at a raid 6 configuration.

Thanks for your time.

Best Regards.

Last edited:
Soldato
What do you expect to achieve? How do you know you need 5 disks? Have you looked up the different RAID levels? You might find a single RAID card that supports 10 disks is quite expensive for a home server.
Andi.

GDL

GDL

Associate
Andi raises some very good questions.

Personally...
I've never had an issue with the P410's (Remember to get the BBWC).

Then attach a SAS expander card.
http://www.allserver.co.kr/scripts/...&mKR=&sKR=&GotoPage=4&search=&search_content= <- Image here for the uplinks from the P410.

But it's two points of failure just to get the array. The good news is that the array information is on the disks, so you can just swap the HBA for another.
http://serverfault.com/questions/23...-array-raid-controller-to-re-recognize-drives

Soldato