Are my ears broke ?

Soldato
So my now ex-house mate left his Phillips Fidelio X2's behind of which he's collecting next week and I thought I'd give them a try on my rig whilst they are here.

I read up on them and there seems to be quite a bit of hype around these cans.

Now they are only powered with my Sabertooth X99 mobo so nothing too fancy.

Comparing them to my Corsair Void wireless headset I'm actually not impressed, Is it because they need a better audio solution than the mobo can give or are my ears broke ? :p

Caporegime
I'm no headphone expert but high end phones can sound pretty boring initially compared with consumer stuff because they have a much more flat and accurate frequency response.

The Corsairs are closed back so like most gaming headsets will probably have overblown bass and bright treble to give a dynamic sound whereas the Fidelios are open back and be more neutral and spacious sounding.

Soldato
OP
I'm no headphone expert but high end phones can sound pretty boring initially compared with consumer stuff because they have a much more flat and accurate frequency response.

The Corsairs are closed back so like most gaming headsets will probably have overblown bass and bright treble to give a dynamic sound whereas the Fidelios are open back and be more neutral and spacious sounding.

Thanks for the reply.

I'm going to use the X2's for a few days and after 2-3 days switch back to the Voids to see if I notice a difference :)

Soldato
You're not the first person I've seen say that such and such well regarded headphone is no different to something they bought for much cheaper.

There's probably a few reasons why you are not overly impressed with them. It's a good thing in a way, at least it will dissuade you from spending a bunch of notes on the endless pursuit of obtaining desired perfect sound. :p

Associate
I used to have HD650's, and then got Cloud II's. The Clouds sounded better in every possible way to me.
I do have some audio experience.