Aorus Owner's Lounge

Associate
Hi fellow Aorus owners,

I am a very happy owner of the X7 Pro which I bought last December. I have posted a few times, mostly when I had a problem with my PSU. The support from Atom80 and Gigabyte was fantastic, helping to resolve the issue quickly and with a minimum of inconvenience.

I thought it would be good to have a single location where we can share ideas and comments about these laptops, particularly with regard to the forthcoming upgrade to Windows 10, driver updates and ongoing ownership. So thanks to the team for setting one up :)

I'll try and check in fairly regularly to help answer questions where I can, but please bear with me if I am away. My excuse is the same reason I bought an X7 in the first place - I work as an airline pilot and whilst my X7 generally travels with me in my flight bag, my job and home life keep me very busy.

So far my experiences have been very positive. Aside from the PSU failing, the X7 has been absolutely reliable and a pleasure to own. All the games I own are playable at maximum detail and are fantastically smooth. The only modification I have made has been to put in a third mSATA SSD. This was straight-forward and I used the Intel Rapid Storage Technology driver to expand the system partition without any problems. It was necessary to delete the recovery partition so that the empty space was next to the system partition but this enabled me to do an in-place upgrade without reinstalling the OS.

There has been a noticeable increase in file access speeds and CrystalDiskMark shows about a 40-50% upgrade in read and write speeds.

I am starting to think about a gaming headset so the aural experience matches the visual quality. The fan noise can be distracting whilst gaming, although most of the time the laptop is silent. I am looking for something wired, passive over-ear noise reduction lightweight and comfortable to wear. Any suggestions?

Chuffbaby

Associate