Can anyone beat this ITX build for 1000€?

Associate
Hey all,

Long time, no see - haven't posted for a while but I've been back lurking for the past month or so to see what's new in the world of computers. (Not much, as it turns out!)

I'm coming from an i5 2500K build which I'd happily have kept, but I've recently moved to Paris and it couldn't come with me. Space and money are both tight here, so I'm looking at a budget mini ITX setup.

I've never built ITX before, and I was quite keen to go for the OcUK prebuilt one (which isn't too much more expensive than the individual components), but apparently they don't ship full systems to France. I don't have any tools or cables here, so I can't rely on my cupboard full of miscellany to get me out of trouble if I forget to include something. I'll need to be sure to buy everything I need. (Full disclosure: I haven't decided for sure whether to buy from OcUK or a European retailer, but given the £/€ ratio right now, OcUK's prices are actually pretty favourable, and I've been a loyal OcUKer for a long time. And also, their customer service is sure to be in English - my French/German aren't great...)

I want a computer for occasional 1080p gaming (think Fallout 4, maybe the new Mass Effect) but I don't game that much any more and don't really follow new releases very closely, so I'll mostly be replaying older titles. And while it's not the reason I'm building it, I'll almost certainly want to use it from time to time for work (I'm a research scientist) to run small-scale numerical simulations, since my Macbook Air struggles and my office PC is a standard workstation that's not too powerful.