• Competitor rules

Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

Upgrade options from 3770K - June 2016

Associate
Hi guys,

I built my 3770k rig 4yrs ago and I really have the flipping 'itch' to upgrade now! I am running a stable OC of 4.6 and would also want a good OC on my new CPU.

I'm considering the following:

1. Skylake 6700k
2. Haswell-E 5820k
3. Wait for Kaby Lake, Skylake-E .....or Cannonlake next year!

I think I've ruled out the Broadwell-E 6800k as reviews say it does not OC too well and will require liquid cooling to push beyond 4GHZ - I've no experience with liquid cooling, but I'm sure I could give it a try if needed. If it is still worth considering this chip then please let me know.

My main game is FSX, so also wondering if the extra cores on the extreme edition CPUs will help.

Thank you.

Last edited:
Caporegime
2 or wait.

i can tell you at 4.6ghz in firestrike a 5820k scores twice as much as a stock 3770 non k. if of any help.

if you wait or upgrade its fine which ever. your cpu is good still anyway.

Associate
I made the upgrade to a 5820k from a 3770k, Now, i'll be honest , i'm very happy BUT, vs the mainstream platforms x99 requires much more tweaking to get the best out of it.

It's not as simple as just whacking up the core voltage and dialing in an overclock, well you can do it that way but your going to get less than stellar performance.

If you don't mind investing the time and you don't mind doing a lot of reading then x99 is the way forward , if you want a simple overclocking setup go skylake.

Soldato
Hold on to what you have for another year. It's just not worth the upgrade.