Surface Book Performance Base vs Kaby Lake XPS 15

Soldato
So the new XPS 15 has dropped and is available to order.

I am in 2 minds whether I should go for the XPS or the Surface Book.

I am after the i7 16gb 512 versions (4k screen on the XPS)

After offers and discounts its

£1750 (3yr premium warranty) for the XPS

£2000 for the Surface book (no extended warranty)

Is the older architecture really that bad for the surface book?
Skylake vs Kaby Lake?
Maxwell vs Pascal?

I know it seems an open and shut case to go for the XPS but the versatility of the Surface Book, the pen and my use case for it (I work in a school so would be ideal) swings me back towards the Surface book.

So, what would OcUK do?

Soldato
Well, all I can input is how delighted I am with my Surface Book (i7/16GB/512GB). It really is very capable machine, and a wonderful piece of design. Admittedly, I don't really push the metal that hard - most use is regular Office, accounts, internet and so on - but it handles whatever I have thrown at it with aplomb.
For me, the pen is a great thing to have in reserve, although I haven't had much need to use it; however, when needed, it works very well, both in hardware and Win10 integration. There is always something handy about being able to detach the screen half way through whatever you are doing, and relocate/show to colleague.....highlight a few bits and bobs with the pen, and then reconnect and carry on!

I guess it really boils down to what you want the machine to do - primary usage, and secondary etc.

Soldato
Ive just gone for the exact XPS15 you mentioned. Got it for 1596 with student discount and such.

I'll be doing a lot of programming on it so a traditional laptop suited my needs best. I also wanted the GPU.

Soldato
depends on what you want to do on it really, the XPS will destory the book in performance terms but then it's a big 15.6" laptop.

dual vs quad core
Maxwell vs Pascal

it's not even a fair competition here

Soldato
OP