Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Life > Motors

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30th Apr 2007, 10:51   #1
Jonnycoupe
Capodecina
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: CATIA V5
Posts: 10,083
Honda S2000 cluster in an Integra DC2



I'd just like to share my latest modification to my Integra SiR-G. An S2000 digi speedo Mark Lamond suggested a while back he should be able to convert a S2000 cluster to work in previous generation Hondas, on that basis knowing Mark generally achieves what he sets out to do I bought an S2000 cluster to fit to my Integra and working with Mark we established what wires would link to what wire in my particular application.




Mark then did the real work creating the hardware to modify VSS units and standard fuel and temp sensors to work with the s2000 unit and allow modification (through a RS232 serial connector) to calibrate the readout. When i received the unit back from Mark I was pleased to see he had even changed the redline to start at 8k aswell as the other changes he makes, a nice touch and much better for my B18C.



The unit was fitted intime for the Castle Combe Performance Action day, I was a little apprehensive of how well the update would work on a circuit, also with the swing of a analogue needle you can gauge acceleration rate pretty well. However, i was suprised how well it kept me informed, the rev bar is very clear and the speedo refreshs at a very nice rate, I found i could read speeds much quicker such that i was aware of corner exit speeds without purposely looking down to see.

Big thanks to Mark for the development on this :bow:

I have the dual gauge surround for a this project which i plan to work on to fit around the unit and install my SPA dual oil gauge when i get round too it. So far its pretty readable in all lights but i may extend the surround to shield it from as much light as i can as the dc2 dash lets a fair amount of light onto the cluster face and at some angles i can just see the reflection of the windscreen/sky.

No comments about the Ripseed horn please
Jonnycoupe is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 10:52   #2
Jonnycoupe
Capodecina
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: CATIA V5
Posts: 10,083
Short Video of startup

http://s57.photobucket.com/albums/g2...0042007076.flv
Jonnycoupe is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 10:53   #3
merlin
Capodecina
 
merlin's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: England
Posts: 19,342
Now that is

And everything works?
merlin is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 10:54   #4
merlin
Capodecina
 
merlin's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: England
Posts: 19,342
Link is gay
merlin is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 10:55   #5
Clarkey
Capodecina
 
Clarkey's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Wolverhampton
Posts: 17,080
sounds like it was an expensive waste of money to me, but hey whatever floats your boat.

Clarkey is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 10:59   #6
Jonnycoupe
Capodecina
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: CATIA V5
Posts: 10,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by merlin
Now that is

And everything works?
Yeah, everything even the dimmer and kph/mph switch, although i need to make a conversion loom to jump back to the std gauge to final checks/calibrations.

Us Brits have beat the Yanks to something in Honda world for once Will be interesting to see how long it takes to get on Honda-tech.
Jonnycoupe is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 11:00   #7
Jonnycoupe
Capodecina
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: CATIA V5
Posts: 10,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clarkey
sounds like it was an expensive waste of money to me, but hey whatever floats your boat.
You make that claim without even knowing how much this cost me And this is OCUK, a forum for that exact floats your boat type hobbies.

The challenge is innovation here
Jonnycoupe is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 11:01   #8
merlin
Capodecina
 
merlin's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: England
Posts: 19,342
What's the score with the odo - are you now reading someone else's mileage?
merlin is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 11:04   #9
Gibbo
Commissario
 
Gibbo's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: OcUK HQ
Posts: 22,048
Hi there

I gotta say thats impressive, take some skill to do that and I am sure the guy will end up making quite a bit of money as long as it don't mess with the ODO reading.

Gibbo is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 11:07   #10
Dup
Sgarrista
 
Dup's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: East Lancs
Posts: 8,864
Could you have hidden the old clocks behind the dash and left that connected to the odometer? So when it comes to sell you could just pop the old ones back in?

Dup is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 11:08   #11
Jonnycoupe
Capodecina
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: CATIA V5
Posts: 10,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by merlin
What's the score with the odo - are you now reading someone else's mileage?
Been reprogrammed to match mine aswell. Just roughly as i was in back KPH a while back as my speed convertor was messing with the ECU readings.
Jonnycoupe is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 11:20   #12
djbenjo
Mobster
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 3,879
Like it

djbenjo is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 11:22   #13
merlin
Capodecina
 
merlin's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: England
Posts: 19,342
Very tempted to bring a late Sir-G into the country in the summer, strip it, tune it and hurt it.
merlin is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 11:23   #14
eidolon
Capodecina
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne
Posts: 13,575
Very impressive stuff, it's good to see something innovative rather than the usual tried and tested mods.

eidolon is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 11:47   #15
ramirez
Mobster
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 3,096
Looks awesome - I believe Ammo is trying something similar with his prelude?
ramirez is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 11:50   #16
panthro
Capodecina
 
panthro's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Wokingham
Posts: 10,922
Whats the difference between an SiR-G and a Type R?
panthro is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 11:59   #17
Confused
Sgarrista
 
Confused's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 8,002
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramirez
Looks awesome - I believe Ammo is trying something similar with his prelude?
Yup, and kawa completed his in the middle of March





| Mitsubishi Legnum VR-4 | Ford Anglia | i5-3570k, Z77, 16GB, 2x HD7950 |
Confused is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 12:03   #18
DreXeL
Man of Honour
 
DreXeL's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Cotswolds
Posts: 12,265
Great stuff Jonny, I really like that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by merlin
Very tempted to bring a late Sir-G into the country in the summer, strip it, tune it and hurt it.
You know it's got to be done


i5 760 @ 4.0 | H55N | 4gb | Vertex 2E | GTX460 1gb
DreXeL is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 12:05   #19
DreXeL
Man of Honour
 
DreXeL's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Cotswolds
Posts: 12,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by panthro
Whats the difference between an SiR-G and a Type R?
A fair bit under the skin, but main difference is 17bhp. There isn't alot between them in the real world though.


i5 760 @ 4.0 | H55N | 4gb | Vertex 2E | GTX460 1gb
DreXeL is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 12:05   #20
Simon
Capodecina
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Berks / Moscow
Posts: 20,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clarkey
sounds like it was an expensive waste of money to me, but hey whatever floats your boat.
A bit like doing up a 300zx that never drives?


XBL:RogadogUK. Zero torque but 9200rpm + 260hp
Simon is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 12:13   #21
Simon
Capodecina
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Berks / Moscow
Posts: 20,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonnycoupe
Dunno where you got that link from J, this one works though
http://s57.photobucket.com/albums/g2...0042007076.flv


XBL:RogadogUK. Zero torque but 9200rpm + 260hp
Simon is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 12:16   #22
Jonnycoupe
Capodecina
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: CATIA V5
Posts: 10,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConfusedTA
Yup, and kawa completed his in the middle of March



Cool, the blue light isnt very uniform there mind.

Does his fuel and temp work okay?
Jonnycoupe is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 12:17   #23
Jonnycoupe
Capodecina
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: CATIA V5
Posts: 10,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by merlin
Very tempted to bring a late Sir-G into the country in the summer, strip it, tune it and hurt it.
Do it

Mind you the price difference between the two is a lot less now.
Jonnycoupe is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 12:20   #24
Clarkey
Capodecina
 
Clarkey's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Wolverhampton
Posts: 17,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon
A bit like doing up a 300zx that never drives?
you could say its exactly like that, yes.

Clarkey is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 12:23   #25
Confused
Sgarrista
 
Confused's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 8,002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonnycoupe
Cool, the blue light isnt very uniform there mind.

Does his fuel and temp work okay?
It's probably the blue LEDs he used (not seen it in person yet, not sure how uniform it looks not in pictures)

The Prelude has fuel & temp in the middle of the dash, so I'm not sure if he's even got those hooked up on the S2k dials.


| Mitsubishi Legnum VR-4 | Ford Anglia | i5-3570k, Z77, 16GB, 2x HD7950 |
Confused is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 12:26   #26
Jonnycoupe
Capodecina
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: CATIA V5
Posts: 10,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConfusedTA
It's probably the blue LEDs he used (not seen it in person yet, not sure how uniform it looks not in pictures)

The Prelude has fuel & temp in the middle of the dash, so I'm not sure if he's even got those hooked up on the S2k dials.
Just hunted and seen ammo and kawa posts.

Ammos VSS convertor cost more than my whole cluster install did, although helping Mark develop it means im not paying 'retail'.

Both seem to be sticking with the lude temp and fuel which is fair enough.
Jonnycoupe is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 12:56   #27
ramirez
Mobster
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 3,096
Any idea what total cost would be ConfusedTA ?
ramirez is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 12:57   #28
Confused
Sgarrista
 
Confused's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 8,002
No idea, I've not looked into it!


| Mitsubishi Legnum VR-4 | Ford Anglia | i5-3570k, Z77, 16GB, 2x HD7950 |
Confused is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 13:01   #29
[TW]Fox
Man of Honour
 
[TW]Fox's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 148,059
New cluster = win

Ripspeed steering wheel = lose


win + lose = draw.

Remove the wheel.

Please read the FAQ regarding signature sizes.
[TW]Fox is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Apr 2007, 13:17   #30
Jonnycoupe
Capodecina
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: CATIA V5
Posts: 10,083
Its a Momo wheel just with the Ripspeed centre horn
Jonnycoupe is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:42.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ę Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)