My Gaming PC Build !!! (Includes Pics)

Soldato
Hi all, (skip this paragraph if you want) first off let me say im no pro builder, i got into it just last year around summer time. I ordered a customised PC on a budget at the time, but found it was pants, and so i wanted to make it faster and better by buying the odd new part here and there and adding it in. This worked great until i got bored of the look of it :D, so i ordered a new tower and put the existing components i had into it, so you could call that a semi-build, even though i had to wire up the front panel connectors, apply thermal paste and seat the heatsink etc.

Anyway just recently i wanted to do a bigger upgrade, i wanted to upgrade from/to:

Q6600 > Q9550
Abit IP35 Pro XE > Gigabyte GA-EP45T Extreme
1000mhz DDR2 OCZ > 1600mhz DDR3 G.Skill
Raidmax Sagitta II case > NZXT Guardian
Galaxy GTX 260 > HD 5850
700w OCZ GamexStream

There was problems from the start, but not my fault, i orignally ordered a FoxConn Blackops board but this did not recognise anything, so RMA it was. Then there was waiting for replacements to come, finding time off to wait for the odd delivery and in the end its taking about a month after all this to get it up and running.

I didn't take pictures of everything i did, but here goes anyway!

1) Out with the old, this was the Sagitta II case after i removed practically everything:

dsc00002wx.jpg

dsc00003sx.jpg

2) In with the new, the shell of the NZXT Guardian:

dsc00004in.jpg

3) Some customising - I had 2 spare 5.25" bays so i cable tied 2 120mm fans in there for some extra cooling over the ram slots:

dsc00018sp.jpg

dsc00020yr.jpg

4) Installing the Heatsink/CPU:

dsc00001j.jpg

as you can see, the TRUE is carrying a fair bit of fluff from the old machine :D

dsc00023le.jpg

im applying arctic cooling mx-2 paste here, i dont know if its too much or not enough, but my temps are pretty good so im not too worried.