How to become a car salesman

Associate
I am now back in the UK and looking for jobs... Car dealerships don't seem to want to know without 'experience'. Well how does one aquire experience in the field if they will only hire experienced salespeople? I have a degree in Economics from a good university so not too sure how hard it can be to sell cars!

Soldato
Being a car salesperson is a difficult job, especially if you are very honest. You will be effectively working in your and the dealership's interests, and almost certainly not the customer's interest.

Permabanned
a working knowledge of cars would be an advantage

Arnold clark always seem to be recruiting new sales staff round these parts too. worth giving uncle arnold a call perhaps?

Soldato
Are you a slimy, cheating no good double crossing toad who would sell his own mother for a quick buck?

If the answer is yes then have a good career selling cars! if not then dont even bother, you wont last 5 minutes :D

( i base this on my own personal experiance of car salesmen. To be quite honest now, i wouldnt even believe them when they tell me the time anymore. I cannot honestly say i have EVER had a dealing with a car salesman, wether it be buying my own car or going with others, who has not lied about something to my face.

"one lady owner" actually means 4 owners none of them female...

"fully serviced by us" actually means, we havnt even bothered to look at it just scraped it though an MOT and bunged it out...

"4 new tyres and all new brakes and discs!" means, used some black stuff on the tyre walls to make them look new and the discs and pads looks new enough to pass of as new.. ( independant garage said the wheels had never been off considering the rust on the hub, and certainly not been recently taken off to change the disc ).

The list goes on and on........