Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Overclocking & Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 24th Jul 2010, 09:56   #1
Stephan
Associate
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Carrickfergus; NI
Posts: 16
Freezer 7 pro which direction ?

Hi

I'm just building a system into a Antec 300. I have a Gigabyte 890GP A UD3H and I'm about to stick the CPU cooler on it (Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev 2) Now here is where I'm stock between logic and installation guide. As far as I know the Antec 300 top fan is sucking air like chimney (makes sense) but if I install the CPU cooler as shown in the graphic it blows in the opposite direction of the top fan (I assume the cpu fan blows and not sucks) Would it not be better to turn it around? Might be a stupid question but temps are everything these days. Maybe somebody has a picture by any chance of a Antec 300 build.

Stephan

Stephan
Stephan is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2010, 10:04   #2
UnworthyBean
Wise Guy
 
UnworthyBean's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Gateshead, Newcastle
Posts: 1,773
The fan should either be blowing up or to the back. Out the back is probably the best because you won't be getting the hot air from your graphics card.

Edit: Oh, and on the freezer 7 the fan is pushing air through the sink, So this means that the fan is either on the right or the bottom.

UnworthyBean is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2010, 10:07   #3
Stephan
Associate
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Carrickfergus; NI
Posts: 16
so blowing upwards direction top case fan ?

Stephan
Stephan is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2010, 10:10   #4
setter
Don
 
setter's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: armoy, n. ireland
Posts: 28,111
This is the normal method of mounting it.



But as your case has a top exhaust you can mount it so that the fan is blowing through the cooler, (90 degrees clockwise) and exhausting into the top case fan, just make sure that the freezers fan doesnt interfere with any heasinks on your board or your graphics card.

setter is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2010, 10:12   #5
Tealc
Soldato
 
Tealc's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Neath and Swansea
Posts: 6,714
You want the air from the fan to blow through the heatsink towards an outgoing fan. Most installations have the heatsink pointing towards the rear fan.



You probably could mount it vertically but no one seems to do it that way.

Tealc is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2010, 10:29   #6
Stephan
Associate
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Carrickfergus; NI
Posts: 16
Thanks guys; I've just encountered another problem. On this Mobo you can face cooler up or down but in both ways the heat sink interferes with my RAM modules. And it seems not possible to mount the cooler sideways.

Stephan
Stephan is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2010, 11:12   #7
saayinla
Associate
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephan View Post
Thanks guys; I've just encountered another problem. On this Mobo you can face cooler up or down but in both ways the heat sink interferes with my RAM modules. And it seems not possible to mount the cooler sideways.
I think I have the same problem in my cooler master elite 300 case, My Gigabyte motherboard can only have the cooler facing the top of the case or the bottom but not side ways...as I am currently blowing air through the heat sink into the top of the case which ha no fan to suck it out...Looks like I am gonna have to change my case eventually.

AMD Phenom II X4 @3.5GHZ 1.34V | Artic Cooling Freezer rev 2.0 | Patriot PC10600 2x2GB |NVIDIA Geforce 8600GT | Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB |
Coolermaster eXtreme Power 460W | Coolermaster Elite 330 | Benq G2420HDB
saayinla is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jul 2010, 20:17   #8
Harvey616
Hitman
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 734
I just built my Zalman Z7 with an AC Pro 7. I had the same problem of RAM modules as I'm using massive OCZ Reaper modules. I just moved them both over a slot, so they can still run in dual channel but not in the way of the cooler
Harvey616 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:37.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)