Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Software > Windows & Other Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26th Sep 2010, 20:31   #1
Participant
Caporegime
 
Participant's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 25,484
Windows 7 "The action can't be completed because the folder or a file in it is open in another program"

I've been sorting out my MP3s this weekened and this is driving me nuts ! Getting the following error sporadically in Windows Explorer:



If I wait a few minutes, it frees up the file or folder and allows me to move or or delete it. It doesn't happen all the time, say every five attempts. This makes me think it's a thumbnail caching problem, as eventually whatever is causing the problem is released by itself, so it seems unlikely to be a third party program.

All the solutions I've seen relate to disabling thumbail caching use the local group policy editor (gpedit.msc), but I have Home Premium and this feature is disabled in it.

Been Googling all afternoon and found nothing. Anyone else had this and resolved it? I will have your babies if you help me sort it.

Participant is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Sep 2010, 20:54   #2
SiriusB
Capodecina
 
SiriusB's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 14,462
In Home Premium you can set the same policies, you just need to edit the registry settings manually via regedit.exe. Just search for the reg fix to turn off thumbnail cache.

The most obvious thing to ask is if any of your media players are running or indexing your library?

SiriusB is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Sep 2010, 09:09   #3
Participant
Caporegime
 
Participant's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 25,484
Quote:
Originally Posted by SiriusB View Post
In Home Premium you can set the same policies, you just need to edit the registry settings manually via regedit.exe. Just search for the reg fix to turn off thumbnail cache.
I searched but only found zip files. I'd rather do the change manually so I know what it's doing. Will have another look for the actual reg entries though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SiriusB View Post
The most obvious thing to ask is if any of your media players are running or indexing your library?
Winamp was initially running but inactive. I closed Winamp, rebooted and loaded nothing except for Windows Explorer, and the problem was exactly the same i.e. sporadic 'in use' errors.

Reading about it looks like it could be a third party program causing the problem, otherwise this would be a far bigger issue than it appears to be.

Oh well, time for some trouble-shooting.

Participant is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Sep 2010, 10:10   #4
dbmzk1
Sgarrista
 
dbmzk1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Stockport / Manchester
Posts: 8,769
Does this to me sometimes too. Think it's just it doing its search cahce thing or whatever it's called, not sure.

dbmzk1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Sep 2010, 10:27   #5
SamG
Hitman
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 886
Are you sharing using WMP? I get this as I stream to my 360.
SamG is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Sep 2010, 11:51   #6
SiriusB
Capodecina
 
SiriusB's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 14,462
Try it in Safe-Mode. That way you can be sure if it is third-party software or the OS playing silly buggers.

SiriusB is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Sep 2010, 12:08   #7
Vimes
Mobster
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 3,068
I use this on W7x64....

http://ccollomb.free.fr/unlocker/

it works great with "unlocking" and / or at least informing me what is preventing a file from deletion etc.


Vimes is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Sep 2010, 12:52   #8
Participant
Caporegime
 
Participant's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 25,484
Cheers all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamG View Post
Are you sharing using WMP? I get this as I stream to my 360.
I have the folders in question shared in Windows Media Centre, so I guess they're also shared in Player by default...so yes. It wasn't open at the time but you think this could be the cause?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SiriusB View Post
Try it in Safe-Mode. That way you can be sure if it is third-party software or the OS playing silly buggers.
Will do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vimes View Post
I use this on W7x64....

http://ccollomb.free.fr/unlocker/

it works great with "unlocking" and / or at least informing me what is preventing a file from deletion etc.
Cheers, I'll give that a go tonight.

Participant is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Sep 2010, 19:44   #9
Participant
Caporegime
 
Participant's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 25,484
Unlocker didn't work.

I installed it and there was nothing in the context menu despite me selecting it, and nothing loaded when I loaded the applications, but for a little icon in my taskbar that did nothing.

Uninstalled.

Participant is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Sep 2010, 07:46   #10
Vimes
Mobster
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 3,068
When using Unlocker you are then supposed to right click on the problematic file / folder and then select "unlocker" (once you have installed it of course). This will then bring up a menu which will inform you of the "locking handles" found you then have a choice of the action you wish to take.


Vimes is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Sep 2010, 09:51   #11
Participant
Caporegime
 
Participant's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 25,484
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vimes View Post
When using Unlocker you are then supposed to right click on the problematic file / folder and then select "unlocker" (once you have installed it of course). This will then bring up a menu which will inform you of the "locking handles" found you then have a choice of the action you wish to take.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbie G View Post
I installed it and there was nothing in the context menu

Participant is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Sep 2010, 12:03   #12
Vimes
Mobster
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 3,068
oops sorry didn't read that bit...

When I install Unlocker I make sure the Explorer bit is ticked...




and then I get this in the right click context menu...



You can see the last one in the list then gives the Unlocker option


Vimes is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Sep 2010, 13:37   #13
Participant
Caporegime
 
Participant's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 25,484
Yeah that's exactly what I did. The only thing I didn't do was reboot....this could be important .

I'll try again tonight, thanks for the help.

If unlocker reports nothing open then I'm stuck with waiting for the thing to unlock itself as I still can't find a reliable source for the reg entry to disable thumbnail cacheing in W7 HP x64. I'm not even sure I want to have to disable a feature just to get file deletion to work properly, it's a ridiculous bug really.

I had zero problems in safe mode, so it looks like it's time to start uninstalling third party apps.

Participant is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Sep 2010, 14:01   #14
Vimes
Mobster
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 3,068
This might be of use to you...

http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...e-disable.html

...then again it is a little extreme (?) to resolve a problem that you should not have.

EDIT: But then again if you get Unlocker working as it should it will inform what exactly is preventing you from deleting / moving the file.


Last edited by Vimes; 28th Sep 2010 at 14:07.
Vimes is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:35.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)