Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Networks & Internet Connectivity

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 7th Oct 2010, 21:51   #1
Bennie-Mac
Capodecina
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Bangor, Northern Ireland
Posts: 11,884
Do Sky Throttle their Broadband?

Hi folks

Im currently on Sky Broadband 20Mb unlimited, I was on their 10Gb limited service which ran perfectly for almost two years, but i went over the limit twice so they automatically upgraded me to their so called best package. Ever since then the connection speeds can become rediculous every few days, for example im currently getting this...

[/url]

I normally get around 3-5Mbps which suits me fine, but this is unbearably slow. I just wanted to know if anyone else has/is experienced this with Sky before i make an angry phone call.

Thanks

Bennie-Mac is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 7th Oct 2010, 21:53   #2
SeraphX
Soldato
 
SeraphX's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Sussex
Posts: 7,176
yes sky throttle,

i use to be throttled between the hours of 3pm and 11pm daily

SeraphX is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 7th Oct 2010, 21:54   #3
Slinky1989
Mobster
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Halesowen - West Midlands
Posts: 3,573
I get similar results at peak times and I'm on the up to 8mb package. It's unbearable. As far as I can tell, the lines are just ridiculously over subscribed, so come peak times, even if you haven't gone over your limit (which we never have) your line speeds grind down to a crawl.

Not a lot that can be done afaik

Slinky1989 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 7th Oct 2010, 21:57   #4
thepeganator
Wise Guy
 
thepeganator's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Portsmouth/Salisbury
Posts: 2,486
No mention of throttling when I was with Sky, but that was a year and a bit ago.

I would call them anyway with it going that slow!

thepeganator is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 7th Oct 2010, 21:59   #5
manbearpig
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 1,487
I am currently getting limited to about the same speed as yours every day, it normally goes back to normal at 11pm for me.

Steam
XBL: Deadnight1

I7 920 UD5 5770 6GB DDR3 Antec 1200 Megahalems
manbearpig is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 7th Oct 2010, 22:03   #6
Bennie-Mac
Capodecina
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Bangor, Northern Ireland
Posts: 11,884
The annoying thing is its works fine for maybe a week, with no signs of throttling at peak hours then all of a sudden it turns to poo. Never had any issues before i was "upgraded" at all either...

I know they throttle/used to throttle Sky Connect customers but i didnt think they throttled anyone else.

Looks like that angry phone call is a goer

Bennie-Mac is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 7th Oct 2010, 22:06   #7
manbearpig
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Posts: 1,487
I know it sounds silly but are you sure you are on unlimited?, because we asked to upgrade to 20mb unlimited but they didn't change it at all.

Steam
XBL: Deadnight1

I7 920 UD5 5770 6GB DDR3 Antec 1200 Megahalems
manbearpig is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 7th Oct 2010, 22:13   #8
DJDaz
Wise Guy
 
DJDaz's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Essex
Posts: 1,149
On the Sky LLU unlimited there is no throttling. So if your speeds are dropping there's a problem somewhere.

Edit: plus your ping is rediculously high so that's also a sign there's a problem.


PSN = Darren-79
Last edited by DJDaz; 7th Oct 2010 at 22:15.
DJDaz is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 7th Oct 2010, 22:42   #9
Bennie-Mac
Capodecina
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Bangor, Northern Ireland
Posts: 11,884
Yep definately on unlimited, ill give them a call like i said, its really not fit for purpose

Bennie-Mac is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 7th Oct 2010, 23:35   #10
MissChief
Sgarrista
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,802
As has been said by some of you, Sky don't throttle their unlimited product at all. They do on thier Connect package which isn't LLU and really is to be avoided for anything other than basic email and internet use.

Origin: Tesslacoil; Steam: Misschief; R*SC+UPlay:Tess-Lacoil
Trust message me for NEW Customer Sky Friends and Family discount codes.
MissChief is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 7th Oct 2010, 23:45   #11
kapows
PermaBanned
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 248
some people are on llu but getting throttled or slow speeds - sky have done this - they did it to my mate they used summat to slow him down but he got it removed
kapows is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Oct 2010, 02:15   #12
Bennie-Mac
Capodecina
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Bangor, Northern Ireland
Posts: 11,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by kapows View Post
some people are on llu but getting throttled or slow speeds - sky have done this - they did it to my mate they used summat to slow him down but he got it removed
It wouldnt have been them testing the line would it? Ive just logged on to My Sky and they say they are currently testing the line and it will take 10 days to finish...

10 days of bog slow internet just because you want to test what speed im getting? You can **** right off!

Bennie-Mac is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Oct 2010, 15:53   #13
KIA
Man of Honour
 
KIA's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 12,626
I'm pretty sure it ain't LLU.
KIA is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Oct 2010, 17:02   #14
bifday2k
Mobster
 
bifday2k's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,549
Iv been on there top package for years, iv never been throttled at all, i don't get the best of speeds a steady 5Mb/s day or night, but thats due to line length, if you are trully on their unlimited LLU pacakage they don't throttle it. Can't speak for their lessor packages though.

It would seem from your screen shot/speed test that there is an issue on the line. Look at the ping to that server, should'nt be that high.

I would deffinatly call them, as that speed is way to slow, and i would say there is a problem.

~I5 4690k @ 4.4ghz ~ Msi Z97I Gaming ACK ~ 16GB TeamGroup Vulcan Red 2400mhz ~
GTX 970 "Infin8 Black Edition" ~ Samsung 850 Evo ~ SuperFlower Golden Green HX 750W~
bifday2k is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Oct 2010, 17:02   #15
Zarf
Mobster
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,527
I'm with UK Online's non-LLU service, which i'm pretty sure is the same as Skys Connect (Sky own Easynet who run UKonline)
It always used to be reasonable, certain games weren't great sometimes in the evenings but other than that it was fine considering the price.
This past week, however has been horrendous, from 4pm until midnight every day the net is almost unusable.
I've tried various routers/microfilters, it's definitely a screwed up throttling on their end. I'm pretty sure they must have cut back on capacity somewhere because it was never this bad before.





After midnight Line quality will be back to 'A' <30ms ping with <5ms jitter.
Zarf is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Oct 2010, 18:14   #16
Addicted
Mobster
 
Addicted's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Worcester
Posts: 2,575
never had throttling here, and neither have my friends!
Addicted is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Oct 2010, 18:26   #17
Vita
Sgarrista
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,519

لا إله إلا الله محمد رسول الله
Vita is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Oct 2010, 18:35   #18
Rizo-UK
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Cirencester, nr Swindon
Posts: 1,334
Rizo-UK is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Oct 2010, 18:37   #19
Rizo-UK
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Cirencester, nr Swindon
Posts: 1,334


I normally pull down 10gb per day
Rizo-UK is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Oct 2010, 18:40   #20
DJDaz
Wise Guy
 
DJDaz's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Essex
Posts: 1,149


PSN = Darren-79
DJDaz is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Oct 2010, 18:50   #21
MissChief
Sgarrista
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,802
Sky LLU.





And I'm pretty sure there's a download to my Xbox running as well.

Origin: Tesslacoil; Steam: Misschief; R*SC+UPlay:Tess-Lacoil
Trust message me for NEW Customer Sky Friends and Family discount codes.
MissChief is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Oct 2010, 21:13   #22
KIA
Man of Honour
 
KIA's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 12,626
There's always going to be confusion between LLU and non-LLU. Many people don't understand the difference. I'm sure Sky suffer because of it.
KIA is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Oct 2010, 21:16   #23
Rizo-UK
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Cirencester, nr Swindon
Posts: 1,334
sorry mine was easynet LLU
Rizo-UK is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Oct 2010, 21:30   #24
IrishChr1s
Banned
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Yeno that place
Posts: 733
They don't throttle on their unlimited package.
Every day lite isn't either but only has a monthly limit of 2gb, which ill be automatically upgraded if
You go over this limit twice in 6 months.

Their connect package has a fair use policy from 5\11 pm and
Also throttle this package due to using other providers exchange equipment.
IrishChr1s is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 14:29.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)