Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Life > Mobile Phones & Tablets

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25th Jan 2011, 14:49   #1
manveruppd
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Leeds/Cyprus
Posts: 1,087
Question "No SIM card in phone - emergency calls only!" WTF?

Now this is bizarre... switched the phone on without the SIM card in it and got the above message.
Can you really make emergency calls without a SIM card inside? How does it connect to the mobile network without a SIM? I'm VERY curious to find out if this is really possible, but for obvious reasons I don't want to call 999 just to see if it'll ring...
Has anyone tried this or are we all going to be left wondering?


"No boom today, boom tomorrow. There's always a boom tomorrow."
manveruppd is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jan 2011, 14:55   #2
Its_Me
Mobster
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: In a damp cave
Posts: 4,429
yes it does, emergency calls will use any network available.
Barred phones even must be allowed to call emergency, its part of the telecommunication rules.

"Good people do not need laws to tell them to act responsibly,
while bad people will find a way around the laws."

- Plato (427-347 B.C.)
Its_Me is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jan 2011, 14:56   #3
Tunney
Capodecina
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: London
Posts: 11,291
My prediction is that it won't connect if you try to actually make an emergency code.

The GSM telephony specifications have had what you've seen in as a mandatory feature for a long time. The phone is supposed to connect to the strongest network and attempt to make an emergency call over it. However, most networks won't allow unknown phones on their network even to make emergency calls, so the call will fail.

.
Tunney is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jan 2011, 15:05   #4
thepeganator
Wise Guy
 
thepeganator's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Portsmouth/Salisbury
Posts: 2,486
The call will not fail, it's the law that phones have to be allowed to make emergency calls regardless of having a sim card in or the sim card having credit.

Hence when you're out of range of your network your phone may say "emergency calls only" as it will just use another network to make the call.

thepeganator is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jan 2011, 15:05   #5
manveruppd
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Leeds/Cyprus
Posts: 1,087
That's cool to know, thank you


"No boom today, boom tomorrow. There's always a boom tomorrow."
manveruppd is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jan 2011, 17:56   #6
Tunney
Capodecina
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: London
Posts: 11,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by thepeganator View Post
The call will not fail, it's the law that phones have to be allowed to make emergency calls regardless of having a sim card in or the sim card having credit.
That's the problem. By law the phones have to be able to make calls without a SIM card in the phone. However there's no law stating that networks have to accept emergency calls from unknown devices. Thus, the phone will try to do the right thing but the call will be blocked by the network.

.
Tunney is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jan 2011, 21:12   #7
Macky
Soldato
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: England
Posts: 5,648
My Dad just got this phone today!

His initial impression being, 'Why must they use pictures instead of words for the menu'.

And I've just posted in the wrong thread. /dies

Macky is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jan 2011, 21:19   #8
thepeganator
Wise Guy
 
thepeganator's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Portsmouth/Salisbury
Posts: 2,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macky View Post
My Dad just got this phone today!

His initial impression being, 'Why must they use pictures instead of words for the menu'.

And I've just posted in the wrong thread. /dies
Read that in Thunderbird without visiting the page so got the original, spent a minute just thinking "WTF does that mean?!"

thepeganator is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jan 2011, 22:26   #9
Murray
Sgarrista
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 9,373
ive done it and it does work.

Murray is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:23.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)