Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Networks & Internet Connectivity

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 8th Feb 2011, 09:37   #1
jamjar
Mobster
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Letchworth Herts uk
Posts: 2,783
Question bebox wireless help

Hi All i,m abit worried about the Bebox G585V7 i,m going to connect my new laptop to the wireless connection when i get it, but when i boot up the p.c the green light on the box is not on , is this right ? i,ve checked the Thomson set up and seems to be ok the details on the Thomson page is this :


Configuration

Interface Enabled: Yes

Physical Address:

Network Name (SSID): BeBox

Interface Type: 802.11b/g

Actual Speed: 54 Mbps

Band: 2.4G Hz

Channel Selection: Auto

Region: Europe

Channel: 6

Allow multicast from Broadband Network: Yes

Security

Broadcast Network Name: Yes

Allow New Devices: New stations are allowed (automatically)

Security Mode: WPA-PSK

WPA-PSK Preshared Key:

WPA-PSK Encryption: TKIP+AES
jamjar is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Feb 2011, 10:01   #2
marc2003
Capodecina
 
marc2003's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: England
Posts: 18,553
how about waiting for the laptop to turn up and trying it before getting all bothered? i'd change the settings to wpa2 with aes (not tkip) encryption also.

and i'm just wondering what speed you're getting now? because the bebox won't do anything more than about 10Mbps over wireless.
marc2003 is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Feb 2011, 10:29   #3
jamjar
Mobster
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Letchworth Herts uk
Posts: 2,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by marc2003 View Post
how about waiting for the laptop to turn up and trying it before getting all bothered? i'd change the settings to wpa2 with aes (not tkip) encryption also.

and i'm just wondering what speed you're getting now? because the bebox won't do anything more than about 10Mbps over wireless.
what is WPA2 ? etc
jamjar is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Feb 2011, 12:49   #4
Swifty55
Mobster
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Home
Posts: 4,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by marc2003 View Post
because the bebox won't do anything more than about 10Mbps over wireless.


I always got full speed with my BeBox...

Swifty55 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 8th Feb 2011, 14:06   #5
ThorpedoUK
Hitman
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 834
Lol

I used to get better than 10Mbps too but NAT killed it repeatedly so it had to go

It's had a change of career and is now a stand for my chilli plant an pot
ThorpedoUK is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:21.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)