Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > General Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 31st Dec 2011, 14:56   #1
Bilbocard
Gangster
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 265
Can someone please tell me what is wrong with my computer?

So here's the problem, my computer got the blue screen of death while idling, and only being on for 20 minutes or so.

After the crash I left my computer for 1 hour and returned to try and turn it back on. It began to boot, getting to the starting windows page, but then crashed again with the BSOD.

Trying several more times over the next hour or so, the computer turned on (the fans started and the LED came on), but there was no beep from the motherboard and the monitor did not pick up a signal.

I have tried a few things. I tested the RAM and the graphics card, both of which work perfectly. I fear that the problem may be due to a very, very, very old motherboard or CPU.

Thank you for your time,
Billy

Feel free to ask me any questions

Please read the FAQ regarding your signature being the best thing that has ever happened
Bilbocard is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 14:57   #2
Judgeneo
Sgarrista
 
Judgeneo's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Out of Coventry
Posts: 9,808
Is this a new build? Or a new problem?
What are the system specs as well?


Chronicle youtube channel - Here
Judgeneo is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 14:59   #3
Bilbocard
Gangster
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 265
This is a pre build with a new graphics card that I put in it back in July.

Specs:
-PTS73 Stingray MotherBoard
-550Ti GPU
-Pentium 1.8GHz processor E2??


This is all off the top of my head, sorry I can't find the proper name for the processor :S

Please read the FAQ regarding your signature being the best thing that has ever happened
Bilbocard is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 15:00   #4
Rik1254
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Abertillery - S.Wales
Posts: 1,371
So is the RAM and GPU new, or is the entire system old (you say very very very old mobo and CPU)?

Have you done anything different to it that day/ days running up to the first BSOD?

Id personally say overheating as it was getting to Windows and failed and now wont boot at all.

|CPU: i5-2500k 4.9GHz@1.35v||Board: Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe|
|
RAM: Kingston Genesis 8GB DDR3||Power: Corsair AX760i|
|
GPU: Gigabyte GTX 970 G1 Gaming||SSD: Samsung 850PRO 512GB |
Rik1254 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 15:04   #5
Bilbocard
Gangster
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rik1254 View Post
So is the RAM and GPU new, or is the entire system old (you say very very very old mobo and CPU)?

Have you done anything different to it that day/ days running up to the first BSOD?

Id personally say overheating as it was getting to Windows and failed and now wont boot at all.

Only the GPU and PSU is new.

Nothing different was done, however I installed SWTOR this morning.

Hmmmm... 20 minutes idling and it overheats???

Please read the FAQ regarding your signature being the best thing that has ever happened
Bilbocard is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 15:10   #6
Jay794
Soldato
 
Jay794's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 5,134
I never get a beep when mine boots up, can it be turned on/off?

My PC kept shorting out recently, a fan wire was touching a power cable. Fans and LED's would start, then stop lol, try again and same again lol. Solution? unlplug the fan lol

Cooler Master HAF X| Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2Ghz | ASUS P8Z68-V Gen 3 | Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR3 | Corsair 860W | Custom Water Cooled| Crucial 256GB SSD | MSI R9 290X Twin Frozr
Jay794 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 15:12   #7
Bilbocard
Gangster
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay794 View Post
I never get a beep when mine boots up, can it be turned on/off?

My PC kept shorting out recently, a fan wire was touching a power cable. Fans and LED's would start, then stop lol, try again and same again lol. Solution? unlplug the fan lol
Mine always beeps when it starts up, and I've checked for wire short circuiting too.

Please read the FAQ regarding your signature being the best thing that has ever happened
Bilbocard is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 15:12   #8
Danny091
Wise Guy
 
Danny091's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: North Wales
Posts: 1,618
Try starting in safe mode and see if it still BSOD's Might be a driver or program problem.

Over sized Steam sig removed.
Danny091 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 15:14   #9
Bilbocard
Gangster
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny091 View Post
Try starting in safe mode and see if it still BSOD's Might be a driver or program problem.
I can't even start the computer... Let alone put it in safe mode!

Please read the FAQ regarding your signature being the best thing that has ever happened
Bilbocard is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 15:16   #10
skylineboy
Wise Guy
 
skylineboy's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Egypt/ Surrey
Posts: 1,720
you can turn the beep on or off/ remove speaker.

Details on psu? Cables connected to mobo and hard drive secure?

i7 4790k @4.4 RoG Hero VII GTX 980 watercooled build. MUST resist the urge to tinker...
skylineboy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 15:22   #11
Bilbocard
Gangster
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylineboy View Post
you can turn the beep on or off/ remove speaker.

Details on psu? Cables connected to mobo and hard drive secure?
The PSU is a be quiet 530W

All cables are secure...

Please read the FAQ regarding your signature being the best thing that has ever happened
Bilbocard is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 15:26   #12
Danny091
Wise Guy
 
Danny091's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: North Wales
Posts: 1,618
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bilbocard View Post
I can't even start the computer... Let alone put it in safe mode!
Sorry my bad i thought you could /facepalm

Over sized Steam sig removed.
Danny091 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 15:28   #13
Bilbocard
Gangster
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny091 View Post
Sorry my bad i thought you could /facepalm
Nah, it just refuses to turn on

I was thinking this is most probably a problem with the MoBo as I tried attaching the VGA cable directly to the MoBo but there was still no signal...

Please read the FAQ regarding your signature being the best thing that has ever happened
Bilbocard is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 15:29   #14
skylineboy
Wise Guy
 
skylineboy's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Egypt/ Surrey
Posts: 1,720
remove board from case and do a outside case build with just ram and onboard GPU

i7 4790k @4.4 RoG Hero VII GTX 980 watercooled build. MUST resist the urge to tinker...
skylineboy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 15:30   #15
Bilbocard
Gangster
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylineboy View Post
remove board from case and do a outside case build with just ram and onboard GPU
There is no onboard GPU

Please read the FAQ regarding your signature being the best thing that has ever happened
Bilbocard is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 15:33   #16
skylineboy
Wise Guy
 
skylineboy's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Egypt/ Surrey
Posts: 1,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bilbocard View Post
Nah, it just refuses to turn on

I was thinking this is most probably a problem with the MoBo as I tried attaching the VGA cable directly to the MoBo but there was still no signal...
No onboard? (glad I'm not the only one going mad)

Hmm is the psu working at all?

i7 4790k @4.4 RoG Hero VII GTX 980 watercooled build. MUST resist the urge to tinker...
skylineboy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 15:33   #17
surfsquid
Wise Guy
 
surfsquid's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Bucks
Posts: 1,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bilbocard View Post
Nah, it just refuses to turn on

I was thinking this is most probably a problem with the MoBo as I tried attaching the VGA cable directly to the MoBo but there was still no signal...
you just said there was...
surfsquid is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 15:35   #18
Bilbocard
Gangster
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by surfsquid View Post
you just said there was...
Screenshot or fake

I just said there was... what?!

Please read the FAQ regarding your signature being the best thing that has ever happened
Bilbocard is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 15:35   #19
Bilbocard
Gangster
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylineboy View Post
No onboard? (glad I'm not the only one going mad)

Hmm is the psu working at all?
The PSU supplies power to the fans and such

Please read the FAQ regarding your signature being the best thing that has ever happened
Bilbocard is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 15:36   #20
skylineboy
Wise Guy
 
skylineboy's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Egypt/ Surrey
Posts: 1,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bilbocard View Post
There is no onboard GPU
Do you have a VGA port on mobo?

i7 4790k @4.4 RoG Hero VII GTX 980 watercooled build. MUST resist the urge to tinker...
skylineboy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 15:37   #21
Bilbocard
Gangster
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by skylineboy View Post
Do you have a VGA port on mobo?
Yes on the thing that sticks out of the side of the case

Please read the FAQ regarding your signature being the best thing that has ever happened
Bilbocard is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 15:37   #22
skylineboy
Wise Guy
 
skylineboy's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Egypt/ Surrey
Posts: 1,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bilbocard View Post
The PSU supplies power to the fans and such
any lights on mobo, have you got a speaker attached for beeps?
can you get to bios?

i7 4790k @4.4 RoG Hero VII GTX 980 watercooled build. MUST resist the urge to tinker...
skylineboy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 15:39   #23
Bilbocard
Gangster
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 265
It used to beep before now, so there probably was a speaker

Please read the FAQ regarding your signature being the best thing that has ever happened
Bilbocard is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 15:46   #24
Bilbocard
Gangster
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 265
I think it's about time I made a new thread asking for specs on a MoBo and CPU

Thanks for all the help guys!

Goodbye 4 year old MotheBoard!!!!!!

Please read the FAQ regarding your signature being the best thing that has ever happened
Bilbocard is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 17:03   #25
JasonKnights
Gangster
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 479
Have you checked to see your cpu fan is working correctly. the board wont start for safety if the fans not working?

2600k @4.6Ghz, 16GB Vengance,GTX580 Twin Frozr II SLI H70, F90 SSD, ,X-Fi 7.1 1000w surround, lian-li x500b, Samsung 50 inch 3D Display
JasonKnights is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 17:28   #26
Bilbocard
Gangster
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonKnights View Post
Have you checked to see your cpu fan is working correctly. the board wont start for safety if the fans not working?
The fan functions correctly. It spins!!!

Please read the FAQ regarding your signature being the best thing that has ever happened
Bilbocard is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 17:29   #27
stueng
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: London
Posts: 1,177
Remove everything except the CPU and CPU cooler... Everything, the cd rom the power the HDD... Everything

Plug in the motherboard power

Add only one stick of RAM

Connect your monitor to the VGA connection

Look for CMOS or BIOS reset, press this or short it using a flat screwdriver

See if it turns on, if it does add one component at a time until it stops

If it doesn't then try second stick of ram
stueng is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 17:30   #28
stueng
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: London
Posts: 1,177
Also try various combinations of sticks of ram
stueng is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Dec 2011, 17:32   #29
Bilbocard
Gangster
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by stueng View Post
Remove everything except the CPU and CPU cooler... Everything, the cd rom the power the HDD... Everything

Plug in the motherboard power

Add only one stick of RAM

Connect your monitor to the VGA connection

Look for CMOS or BIOS reset, press this or short it using a flat screwdriver

See if it turns on, if it does add one component at a time until it stops

If it doesn't then try second stick of ram
My motherboard doesnt have a visible CMOS reset

I need to go out now, and I think i'll just get a new MoBo and CPU as my current ones suck!

Thanks all!

Please read the FAQ regarding your signature being the best thing that has ever happened
Bilbocard is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 14:42.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)