Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Laptops & Tablets

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16th Apr 2012, 06:34   #1
xpcpu
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Hatfield, Herts
Posts: 1,074
webcam on Zoostorm

does anyone know how to enable the webcam on a Zoostorm 8227?

FN + ? as no picture on any key

FX-4100, 5850 Twin Frozr, 120GB SSD, 800gb storage, 22" screen, Nice case, slim external USB DVDrw.
xpcpu is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 16th Apr 2012, 21:53   #2
lowrez
Gangster
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: NorthWest
Posts: 108
So no joy with fn F6?

These guys seem to have had some success with other variations: http://www.certforums.com/forums/har...rm-laptop.html
lowrez is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 16th Apr 2012, 22:32   #3
xpcpu
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Hatfield, Herts
Posts: 1,074
F6 is dim light.

i've checked other variations of zoostorm items and they are not the same layout, alot say F1 but that is wifi on mine.

FX-4100, 5850 Twin Frozr, 120GB SSD, 800gb storage, 22" screen, Nice case, slim external USB DVDrw.
xpcpu is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 16th Apr 2012, 22:51   #4
xpcpu
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Hatfield, Herts
Posts: 1,074
found driver eventually but Win7 not supported

looks like reinstall of Vista then

at least i know where all the drivers can be found now

thanks for the advice

FX-4100, 5850 Twin Frozr, 120GB SSD, 800gb storage, 22" screen, Nice case, slim external USB DVDrw.
xpcpu is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 06:27   #5
lowrez
Gangster
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: NorthWest
Posts: 108
Did you dig that out of Zoo's website...it's not the easiest place to find stuff but there are downloads in there, unfortunately they mostly seem Vista oriented, one does talk about fn key corrections for web cam. You could always ping them on the tech support e-mail they offer out, you never know they may be working on win.7 versions.
lowrez is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 23:13   #6
xpcpu
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Hatfield, Herts
Posts: 1,074
well i phoned the support team and they say the 8227 is a Mitac construction and they have no details on it, also they directed me to the mitac driver page but that does not have ant drivers for the 8227. I did download the iso for 8224 but that didn't work either.

i'm leaning towards a hardware fault as i've noticed that the red light on the webcam does not come on when laptop is powered up.

FX-4100, 5850 Twin Frozr, 120GB SSD, 800gb storage, 22" screen, Nice case, slim external USB DVDrw.
xpcpu is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Apr 2012, 14:43   #7
lowrez
Gangster
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: NorthWest
Posts: 108
That's a difficult one I think; Mitac - from the Taiwanese island? Is the case bonded sealed or can you undo screws and open it up? How old is the beastie, I'm assuming its out of warranty? I'd not be much help even if you could open it up, apart from the dead obvious loose wire. If the machine is still of use to you then may be best just to accept the cam is dead but continue to get use from the rest of the things it does.
lowrez is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Apr 2012, 14:51   #8
xpcpu
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Hatfield, Herts
Posts: 1,074
yes, the eastern county

its running a T5450 with 3gb ram 160gb hdd, 8600GS graphics with HDMI out and working great apart from the webcam, i have taken it apart as the nobo was dead when i got it and have baked the mobo and working now. I have even been using it on my 42" plasma.

i'm actually typing this on it

have now given up with trying to get the webcam working as virtually positive its a hardware issue.

thanks for all your advice.

FX-4100, 5850 Twin Frozr, 120GB SSD, 800gb storage, 22" screen, Nice case, slim external USB DVDrw.
xpcpu is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Apr 2012, 15:19   #9
lowrez
Gangster
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: NorthWest
Posts: 108
Wow! Heat gun to the mobo! I've seen the technique for reviving dead games consoles. And you've got it talking to a plasma? That's amazing for what the machine is. Well done! You've taken it miles beyond what anyone would expect I'd say. Shame the cam is dead, but I agree a bridge too far.
lowrez is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:40.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)