Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Life > Motors

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th Apr 2012, 16:34   #1
brummie
Mobster
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 2,825
Peugeot Economy mode

Hi all, i need help

going to leave work and my car will not start. All appears normal when i got in but the engine will not turn over.
10 minutes later the car reports economy mode. WTF?!!?

Now everything is acting funny and shutting down quickly too.
Do i need a Peugeot dealer?? I cant afford one

.
brummie is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 16:35   #2
MrMoonX
PermaBanned
 
MrMoonX's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 10,040
battery???
MrMoonX is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 16:39   #3
Jonny69
Man of Honour
 
Jonny69's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: Koronation Strasse
Posts: 17,534
Pugs switch into 'economy mode' after about 10-15 minutes. It's quite annoying because it means you can't leave the radio on when you're sitting in the car doing nothing. I'm guessing your battery might be a bit flat and it's making the car kick into economy mode. It might not even be related because the car does it anyway.


AMD K6-2 400 - 64Mb RAM - 8Mb GFX 6Gb HDD
Jonny69 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 16:44   #4
brummie
Mobster
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 2,825
Thanks guys

The battery is reporting 13volts. Surely it would struggle to turn over first and not just refuse to start??

.
brummie is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 18:32   #5
Jonny69
Man of Honour
 
Jonny69's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: Koronation Strasse
Posts: 17,534
Who knows. Cars are laden with all sorts of weird electrics these days. Stick some jump leads on it and see what happens.

*Before someone jumps in and says oh noes you can't jumpstart modern cars with jump leads because of the electrics, TEH ELEKTRICS, the 207 manual says you can jump start it.


AMD K6-2 400 - 64Mb RAM - 8Mb GFX 6Gb HDD
Jonny69 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 18:40   #6
Blackhawk47
Capodecina
 
Blackhawk47's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: West Yorkshire / Nuneaton
Posts: 10,075
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonny69 View Post
Who knows. Cars are laden with all sorts of weird electrics these days. Stick some jump leads on it and see what happens.

*Before someone jumps in and says oh noes you can't jumpstart modern cars with jump leads because of the electrics, TEH ELEKTRICS, the 207 manual says you can jump start it.
How do you know its a 207. Could be a 107, in which case, you can have the battery in my courtesy car.

Blackhawk47 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 19:18   #7
GeForce
Mobster
 
GeForce's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 4,313
Does it try and turn over but not manage? Or not even try?

FYI, Economy Mode can be disabled in the BSI with PP2000.

GeForce is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 19:28   #8
phil675
Mobster
 
phil675's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,349
Does it starter click madly?


||| E8400 | 4GB CORSAIR | GTX670 | ABIT IP35-PRO | ANTEC 300
phil675 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 19:43   #9
brummie
Mobster
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 2,825
Its a 1007
Its doesn't even try to start. Battery charged fully and the doors will no longer function. It just beeps now when I press the key fob. Battery light flashes on the dash.

Peed off as I've just shelled out on Turbo for my Renault.

.
brummie is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Apr 2012, 07:13   #10
Uriel
Soldato
 
Uriel's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,109
I realise this isn't a helpful comment but it does seem to be the case that a good 70% of AA or RAC vans I see are parked next to something French. And you have two of the things...


Athlon X2 5200+ 45nm @ Phenom FX-5200 x4 3.3GHz, Gigabyte GA-870-UD3, 8GB DDR3, GTX 660 Ti 2GB, Soundblaster Z, Corsair HX520
Uriel is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Apr 2012, 08:03   #11
Deep
Soldato
 
Deep's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Grays
Posts: 6,169
My 307 would go into economy mode after 20 minutes or so.

When this happened I started the engine, which worked straight away and then did my journey

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitefly
Matt Bellamy is a riff monster.
Deep is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Apr 2012, 08:47   #12
brummie
Mobster
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 2,825
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uriel View Post
I realise this isn't a helpful comment but it does seem to be the case that a good 70% of AA or RAC vans I see are parked next to something French. And you have two of the things...
Lol. Thanks for that

.
brummie is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Apr 2012, 09:40   #13
Jonny69
Man of Honour
 
Jonny69's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: Koronation Strasse
Posts: 17,534
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uriel View Post
I realise this isn't a helpful comment but it does seem to be the case that a good 70% of AA or RAC vans I see are parked next to something French. And you have two of the things...
Utter rubbish. The three French cars my other half has had have never gone wrong. Like nothing has ever gone wrong with them. You can't make sweeping generalisations like that. 95% of of AA or RAC vans I see are parked next to something built in the last 10 years, as I buzz past in a reliable classic car, but we all know those stats aren't right.


AMD K6-2 400 - 64Mb RAM - 8Mb GFX 6Gb HDD
Jonny69 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Apr 2012, 09:43   #14
MusicalChris
Associate
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Polegate
Posts: 46
have you tried locking with the key in the door rather than the button? not sure if you have this option on a 1007 but my 206 has issues like this and locking and unlocking manually with the key sometimes solves these things.

Chris

MusicalChris
MusicalChris is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 18th Apr 2012, 10:11   #15
Uriel
Soldato
 
Uriel's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonny69 View Post
Utter rubbish. The three French cars my other half has had have never gone wrong. Like nothing has ever gone wrong with them. You can't make sweeping generalisations like that. 95% of of AA or RAC vans I see are parked next to something built in the last 10 years, as I buzz past in a reliable classic car, but we all know those stats aren't right.
They weren't Citroen by any chance were they?

Larger sample sizes suggest it's quite a justified generalisation. In every reliability survey I've seen in the past few years, French cars have done terribly. This was the latest (see last place comments). http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/carrevi...d_quality.html

More recent surveys do suggest that newer French cars are slightly better. Citroen has tended to do better than Renault or Peugeot in recent years.


Athlon X2 5200+ 45nm @ Phenom FX-5200 x4 3.3GHz, Gigabyte GA-870-UD3, 8GB DDR3, GTX 660 Ti 2GB, Soundblaster Z, Corsair HX520
Last edited by Uriel; 18th Apr 2012 at 10:15.
Uriel is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2012, 22:21   #16
brummie
Mobster
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 2,825
Thanks for the input people. Turns out it was the starter motor. Whatever was going on was fixed today with a shiney new one.

.
brummie is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:58.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)