Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Life > Mobile Phones & Tablets

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 23rd Apr 2012, 20:16   #1
azibux1
Wise Guy
 
azibux1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,949
Going from normal SIM to Micro SIM - HTC One X

This is in relation to this thread.

Hi,

I am getting a HTC One X and currently have a BB Bold 9900

The BB uses a standard SIM whereas the HTC requires a Micro-SIM

My question is, what is the best option for me to transfer my contacts from the standard SIM to a Micro-SIM?

I want to keep the same mobile number as I have now

Hope you can help

azibux1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2012, 20:22   #2
Robbo
Underboss
 
Robbo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 47,952
Google contacts is generally the best way to go about this sort of thing, however, I'm not sure if you can create Google contacts on the 9900.

I know you can download Google contacts to it so maybe look into that. If you can get them uploaded to there, they'll all appear when you put your gmail address into your new Android phone.

This may be useful: http://www.google.com/mobile/sync/

Robbo is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2012, 20:23   #3
azibux1
Wise Guy
 
azibux1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbo View Post
Google contacts is generally the best way to go about this sort of thing, however, I'm not sure if you can create Google contacts on the 9900.

I know you can download Google contacts to it so maybe look into that. If you can get them uploaded to there, they'll all appear when you put your gmail address into your new Android phone.

This may be useful: http://www.google.com/mobile/sync/
Thanks, I will check that out now

azibux1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2012, 20:24   #4
Glaucus
Man of Honour
 
Glaucus's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 70,023
Just cut the sim down, zero hassle. Print out template, get pair of scissors. job done.

Glaucus is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2012, 20:28   #5
azibux1
Wise Guy
 
azibux1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glaucus View Post
Just cut the sim down, zero hassle. Print out template, get pair of scissors. job done.
Is it that easy?

I heard you could break the SIM easily?

azibux1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2012, 20:29   #6
Robbo
Underboss
 
Robbo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 47,952
It depends really, some SIM's are better than others and you do end up cutting a pretty fine line.

Robbo is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2012, 20:29   #7
Em3bbs
Mobster
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: City of London
Posts: 2,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glaucus View Post
Just cut the sim down, zero hassle. Print out template, get pair of scissors. job done.
Not really the best suggestion if his only place he has his contacts stored is the SIM card.
Em3bbs is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2012, 20:30   #8
azibux1
Wise Guy
 
azibux1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by Em3bbs View Post
Not really the best suggestion if his only place he has his contacts stored is the SIM card.
This.

As I can't back them up using BB software, as my new phone is a HTC, I'd rather do it a safer way, lol

azibux1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2012, 20:36   #9
azibux1
Wise Guy
 
azibux1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbo View Post
Google contacts is generally the best way to go about this sort of thing, however, I'm not sure if you can create Google contacts on the 9900.

I know you can download Google contacts to it so maybe look into that. If you can get them uploaded to there, they'll all appear when you put your gmail address into your new Android phone.

This may be useful: http://www.google.com/mobile/sync/
Just looking at that video, doesn't say that it works with Android though?

azibux1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2012, 20:38   #10
reflux
Capodecina
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Wombledon
Posts: 12,171
The cutting option is easy peasy tbh. My sim works perfectly in my One X and Galaxy Nexus.

reflux is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2012, 20:41   #11
azibux1
Wise Guy
 
azibux1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,949
Just looked at another website and it says that Google Sync will work with BB and Android

So to be on the safe side I think I will do that

Now just need to ring O2 and ask them to send me a micro-SIM with my current number

azibux1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2012, 20:41   #12
Glaucus
Man of Honour
 
Glaucus's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 70,023
It really is that easy and it's hard to brake it. Unless of course you cut the big clear brass coloured chip. But why would you do that.
Far less hassle than getting new sim. And he can also save numbers to existing phone and sim in a couple if seconds. So it's not the only place his numbers are. Or google sync it, then cut sim.

Last edited by Glaucus; 23rd Apr 2012 at 20:44.
Glaucus is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2012, 20:42   #13
Robbo
Underboss
 
Robbo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 47,952
Quote:
Originally Posted by azibux1 View Post
Just looking at that video, doesn't say that it works with Android though?
It doesn't need to work with Android as Android has it all natively. I assume it will just sync your contacts to your Gmail account and then they are all there - sorted.

Robbo is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2012, 20:48   #14
daz87uk
Hitman
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Newquay
Posts: 909
save contacts to phone; send Vcard?
daz87uk is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2012, 20:48   #15
azibux1
Wise Guy
 
azibux1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glaucus View Post
It really is that easy and it's hard to brake it. Unless of course you cut the big clear brass coloured chip. But why would you do that.
Far less hassle than getting new sim. And he can also save numbers to existing phone and sim in a couple if seconds. So it's not the only place his numbers are. Or google sync it, then cut sim.
I see what you're saying, but this phone is a replacement for my BB 9900, so that is being taken back, I won't have them both at any one time so can't do what you're saying about saving them to my current phone as that would not help me

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbo View Post
It doesn't need to work with Android as Android has it all natively. I assume it will just sync your contacts to your Gmail account and then they are all there - sorted.
Yeah I realised that afterwards, oops lol

It sounds like a good idea, will try it out soon and see if it backs them up properly (Y)

azibux1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2012, 21:34   #16
azibux1
Wise Guy
 
azibux1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,949
Tried to use Google Sync

It done a few contacts (13 of 73) but now it says 'Sync Failed. Server problem. Please try again later'

Tried this about 3 times but still isn't working

Also, seems odd that the 13 that is has done, are contacts I've added AFTER I have got this phone, the others that were on my SIM before have not worked

Am I doing something wrong?

azibux1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2012, 21:35   #17
Rizwan1
Associate
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 36
If you've got a steady hand just cut your sim down to size.
Rizwan1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2012, 21:40   #18
azibux1
Wise Guy
 
azibux1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rizwan1 View Post
If you've got a steady hand just cut your sim down to size.
I might do this, as it would be easiest and quickest, but I want them backed up somewhere before I do that, and can't use Blackberry Desktop Manager to do that because my new phone is a HTC

azibux1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2012, 21:44   #19
azibux1
Wise Guy
 
azibux1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,949
Then again I want to just get it done properly if I can, get a micro sim and transfer numbers

azibux1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2012, 21:44   #20
Rizwan1
Associate
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by azibux1 View Post
I might do this, as it would be easiest and quickest, but I want them backed up somewhere before I do that, and can't use Blackberry Desktop Manager to do that because my new phone is a HTC
You can get a special hole punch device that can trim your sim card with precision. It depends on which sim card you currently have. Also you can get adapters to convert a micro sim into a normal sim (basically a jacket for the sim card). If your on o2 go into the store and they'll do it for you (ttansfer contacts, not cut the sim)
Rizwan1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2012, 21:53   #21
azibux1
Wise Guy
 
azibux1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rizwan1 View Post
You can get a special hole punch device that can trim your sim card with precision. It depends on which sim card you currently have. Also you can get adapters to convert a micro sim into a normal sim (basically a jacket for the sim card). If your on o2 go into the store and they'll do it for you (ttansfer contacts, not cut the sim)
Yeah I'm on O2

Problem is that I can't keep my BB and the HTC. The HTC is a replacement so they're taking the BB back when they deliver the HTC to my house

Can I just take my SIM card (regular one) into the O2 shop and ask them to transfer my contacts to a micro-SIM with my current mobile number on it?

azibux1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2012, 22:29   #22
azibux1
Wise Guy
 
azibux1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,949
Right I've now got it syncing with google sync without that error (by disabling calendar sync) but it still only syncs 13 out of 73 contacts

Like I said it seems to have synced the contacts I have added AFTER I got my BB and the other ones that were on the SIM before don't sync

Anyone got any ideas??

azibux1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2012, 22:38   #23
Yas786
Caporegime
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: In limbo....
Posts: 41,988
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbo View Post
Google contacts is generally the best way to go about this sort of thing, however, I'm not sure if you can create Google contacts on the 9900.

I know you can download Google contacts to it so maybe look into that. If you can get them uploaded to there, they'll all appear when you put your gmail address into your new Android phone.

This may be useful: http://www.google.com/mobile/sync/
This is the way i do it..use the google synch app on my BB 9900 so that synchs across all my devices ie my iphone4 and my HTC One X.

And it does work with Android as when i logged into google on my One X...my contacts were synched across.
Yas786 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2012, 22:39   #24
Yas786
Caporegime
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: In limbo....
Posts: 41,988
Quote:
Originally Posted by azibux1 View Post
Right I've now got it syncing with google sync without that error (by disabling calendar sync) but it still only syncs 13 out of 73 contacts

Like I said it seems to have synced the contacts I have added AFTER I got my BB and the other ones that were on the SIM before don't sync

Anyone got any ideas??
Transfer your contacts from the sim card to your phone...it should work then.
Yas786 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Apr 2012, 23:06   #25
azibux1
Wise Guy
 
azibux1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spawn View Post
This is the way i do it..use the google synch app on my BB 9900 so that synchs across all my devices ie my iphone4 and my HTC One X.

And it does work with Android as when i logged into google on my One X...my contacts were synched across.
Sounds great then ... if I can get it working properly

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spawn View Post
Transfer your contacts from the sim card to your phone...it should work then.
On my BB, I went to 'Contacts', went onto 'SIM Phone Book', clicked 'Copy all to contacts', ran google sync again and I now have 27 contacts, but still don't have all of my contacts (73)

This is really annoying as it will be great once I've got it working lol

Am I still doing something wrong?

azibux1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Apr 2012, 00:01   #26
Gav
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Republic of Scotland
Posts: 1,377
http://community.giffgaff.com/t5/Con...ate/td-p/27024


:-)
Gav is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Apr 2012, 07:05   #27
ANDARIAL
Mobster
 
ANDARIAL's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Woolyback Country
Posts: 4,450
USB SIM Card Manager

eatures
• Explore all information from your SIM Card.
• Read phonebook telephone numbers and names from SIM card and back up in PC.
• Edit name/numbers in computer and write back into SIM card.
• Add international prefixes to all phone numbers (ideal for foreign travel).
• Import & Export Microsoft Outlook or Lotus Notes contacts to and from your phone.


Then get a micro sim to sim adapter to reload the contacts onto your new micro sim
Costs about a tenner


ANDARIAL is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Apr 2012, 08:52   #28
sharingan_sasuk
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,057
If all your contacts are on the SIM, then do NOT cut it down to size. It's not worth the risk.

Where did you buy the phone from by the way? If it's from a CPW, some stores have a Cellebrite data transfer machine that will allow you to transfer from a SIM to a handset directly, even your Google account if you want. If you bought it from them only recently, they should offer this data transfer service free as part of Walk Out Working. I do this all the time for my clients at work who are moving to an iPhone 4/4S and are coming from a normal sized SIM handset.
Last edited by sharingan_sasuk; 24th Apr 2012 at 08:56.
sharingan_sasuk is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Apr 2012, 09:15   #29
azibux1
Wise Guy
 
azibux1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANDARIAL View Post
USB SIM Card Manager

eatures
Explore all information from your SIM Card.
Read phonebook telephone numbers and names from SIM card and back up in PC.
Edit name/numbers in computer and write back into SIM card.
Add international prefixes to all phone numbers (ideal for foreign travel).
Import & Export Microsoft Outlook or Lotus Notes contacts to and from your phone.


Then get a micro sim to sim adapter to reload the contacts onto your new micro sim
Costs about a tenner
This sounds good however if I can get the O2 store to do it for me for free then that would be even better of course. Plus my phone is probably coming Wednesday (will find out later today) and I want it up and running ASAP and I'm not sure if this will come on time

Quote:
Originally Posted by sharingan_sasuk View Post
If all your contacts are on the SIM, then do NOT cut it down to size. It's not worth the risk.

Where did you buy the phone from by the way? If it's from a CPW, some stores have a Cellebrite data transfer machine that will allow you to transfer from a SIM to a handset directly, even your Google account if you want. If you bought it from them only recently, they should offer this data transfer service free as part of Walk Out Working. I do this all the time for my clients at work who are moving to an iPhone 4/4S and are coming from a normal sized SIM handset.
Yeah I am very wary of cutting the sim as it could all go terribly wrong! I don't think I'll be cutting it no matter how easy people are saying it is, like you say it just isn't worth it

I did not get it from CPW, got it from O2.

Going to ring them later and see what they say as I also need to speak to them about having my current number transferred to the micro SIM

azibux1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Apr 2012, 10:33   #30
azibux1
Wise Guy
 
azibux1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,949
Just spoke to O2 and they said that they can send a blank micro-SIM with the phone

So when I get it, it comes in a credit card style piece of plastic like a normal sim, so I pop the normal sized sim part out, put it in an old phone (that I have all my numbers on), copy all the numbers to the sim

Then take it out, pop out the center part to turn it into a micro sim then put it in my HTC


Thanks for all your help

azibux1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:20.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)