Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Laptops & Tablets

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 28th Jun 2012, 16:35   #1
Elevon
Mobster
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,606
Got my Samsung 550P5C today









Sorry for the poor flash/pic quality.
Received my Samsung 550P5C this morning ,very impressed with the laptop,very quiet and battey seems to lasts ages said nearly 5 hours at one point,came with usual bloatware but I removed the Norton's stuff and getting updates is easy since its likes Dell where it has its own software/driver update program.


I updated the BIOS and sound drivers,still installing ME3 so going to put it through its paces later,btw the resolution is only 1366x768 which I don't mind and disabling Cleartype and smooth font effects in system settings really makes the screen look better,the screen is matt which I love,hate those gloss screens like I had on my Dell.


I still need to install my Colorvison SpyderExpress tonight to set up the colour/brightness but its not bad out of the box.


Quick spec info on this model ,


Quote:
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-3210M Dual Core (2.5GHz, Intel Ivy Bridge Architecture, 3MB Cache, Intel Turbo Boost up to 3.1GHz)
Screen 15.6" (Samsung SuperBright Non-Gloss LCD TFT, 1366 x 768 HD)
Operating System Windows 7 Home Premium Edition 64-bit
RAM 6GB (DDR3)
Hard Drive 1000GB
Optical Drive DVD Rewriter (Records DVDs 8x & CDs 24x & Dual Layer Super Multi)
Graphics Dedicated (NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M with 2GB Dedicated Memory)
Wireless LAN Wireless (802.11b/g/n Wireless)
Network Card 10/100/1000 Gigabit Fast Ethernet
Integrated Webcam Integrated Webcam with Microphone
Card Reader 3-in-1 card reader
Bluetooth 3.0
USB 3.0 and 2.0.
(SD/SDHC,MMC)






No dead pixels on mine ,do we still get dead pixels nowadays?


One tip I will say get your eyes checked ,got mine done a few months ago when all my 1080P screens looked blurred(on monitors and TV screens) and the glasses I needed made a world of difference.
Last edited by Elevon; 5th Jul 2012 at 11:45.
Elevon is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jun 2012, 17:19   #2
Mercutio
Mobster
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 3,615
It's not a bad spec indeed. I was looking at it till I spotted the screen was a bit on the vanilla end of things.

2600K/Asrock Z77 extr4/16GB/KFA 980ti I8B/2405FPW. Never buy a dwarf with learning difficulties. Its not big and its not clever.
Mercutio is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jun 2012, 17:23   #3
Elevon
Mobster
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercutio View Post
It's not a bad spec indeed. I was looking at it till I spotted the screen was a bit on the vanilla end of things.
I did not want a 1080P for two reasons,one is better FPS at 1366x768 res,second is well I have two 1080P screens already(TV and monitor) so I can always hook it up to them via HDMI for home 1080P gaming,however I've a dedicated 1080P gaming desktop PC so this is more of a general backup allrounder laptop .


Btw over at Samsung HK site(not UK) their version comes with 1600x900 res screen,guess its slightly different specs for each country depending on where you are.
Last edited by Elevon; 28th Jun 2012 at 20:22.
Elevon is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jun 2012, 19:30   #4
kmax86
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,341
can you check if it uses sata 3? im currently on the market for a laptop but having problems finding out if its sata 3
kmax86 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jun 2012, 20:07   #5
Elevon
Mobster
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmax86 View Post
can you check if it uses sata 3? im currently on the market for a laptop but having problems finding out if its sata 3
It comes with SATA2 HD 1TB,checked the manual it says "supports 9.5mm H 2.5" SATA2 notebook HDs only" on page 73.



I'll let you know if I find any further information on SATA etc...I still need to find out what the update is on the BIOS flash I did this morning .
Btw sound is great for a laptop uses JBL speakers which are very clear.


I got the manual from here http://www.samsung.com/hk_en/consume...-S01HK-support.
Last edited by Elevon; 28th Jun 2012 at 20:23.
Elevon is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jun 2012, 21:07   #6
kmax86
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,341
thanks man looking foward to it
kmax86 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jun 2012, 21:39   #7
Elevon
Mobster
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,606
Just done the colour calibration with my spyder2express ,colours were out especially blue (screen was biased towards the blue before calibration),now the colours especially brown/flesh skin tones look so much better.

Hardware colour calibration is a very handy tool and worth it for any PC/Laptop IMHO.


I'm more then happy now with the screen.I would not be surprised if its one of the better 1366x768 panels Samsung uses.
Last edited by Elevon; 28th Jun 2012 at 21:42.
Elevon is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jun 2012, 23:19   #8
Purgatory
Mobster
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Leeds
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elevon View Post
I would not be surprised if its one of the better 1366x768 panels Samsung uses.
It is just that one of their new range panels "Samsung SuperBright Non-Gloss", they are brand new panels and should be one of the best panels about.

|FD Define XL|Intel i7-5930K @4.8Ghz|ASUS TUF X99 Sabertooth|32GB Corsair DDR4-2800 @1.2v|EVGA 980Ti CLASSIFIED|X-Fi Titanium-Fatal1ty Pro|2 x 850 Pro 1TB SSD|WD Black 6TB + 4TB + 2TB + WD Green 6TB|TX 750W|Logitech MX 1100 ,Illuminated KB,G940 Flight System & Z-5500|AOC U3477PQU|NP700G7A-S02UK|
Purgatory is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jun 2012, 09:51   #9
Mercutio
Mobster
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 3,615
I think I'm going to hold out for the Asus G55VW personally. Really wanting thunderbolt.

2600K/Asrock Z77 extr4/16GB/KFA 980ti I8B/2405FPW. Never buy a dwarf with learning difficulties. Its not big and its not clever.
Mercutio is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jun 2012, 10:54   #10
Disco Boy
Soldato
 
Disco Boy's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Chester/Oxford
Posts: 5,294
Go on, how much?


3570K@4.6 GTX770@1166(1218)/1869
Disco Boy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jul 2012, 23:36   #11
Elevon
Mobster
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,606
I had a play of Skyrim on Ultra settings for good 30 mins,gameplay was smooth enough there was no stutter and looked great on 1366x768 screen,sound was excellent in gaming .
No noise from fan but you could feel the heat coming out from left side vents(quite normal for gaming) by putting your hand next to air vents.


I probably try the beta Nvidia drivers later since still using the default Samsung ones.
Overall I'm very happy.

Btw I've added another pic to show how slim it is.

Installed latest Beta drivers from Nvidia, no issues in gaming so far .
Last edited by Elevon; 9th Jul 2012 at 01:17.
Elevon is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jul 2012, 17:56   #12
woody1985
Associate
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 5
Sorry to hijack this thread and also if this has been asked before but is it possible to upgrade these?

From the specs it has a 1TB Sata II 5400rpm HDD, would it be possible to upgrade this to a SATA III 7200?

Also the stock RAM is 6GB DDR3 1600MHz would it be possible to put in two 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz?

Sorry if these seem daft and thanks for any help.
Last edited by woody1985; 10th Jul 2012 at 18:00. Reason: me being a retard
woody1985 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jul 2012, 14:51   #13
Elevon
Mobster
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by woody1985 View Post
Sorry to hijack this thread and also if this has been asked before but is it possible to upgrade these?

From the specs it has a 1TB Sata II 5400rpm HDD, would it be possible to upgrade this to a SATA III 7200?

Also the stock RAM is 6GB DDR3 1600MHz would it be possible to put in two 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz?

Sorry if these seem daft and thanks for any help.
You would have to remove a 2GB ram module and install 4 GB ram module to have 8GB ram(has two ram slots comes with 4GB and 2GB installed),the laptop has space for 2nd HD drive,if you want HD or SSD then you would have to buy one and install it yourself,manual says 2.5" SATA2 for HD but SATA3 HD or SSD should work(should be backwards compatible) however no guarantee of SATA3 speeds.


Remember no mechancial HD comes close to SATA3 speeds let alone SATA2,you should be able to install SATA3 7200rpm mechancial HD,don't see why it would not work,SATA2/3 speeds are really for SSD to gain the performance.

Btw you could check with Samsung UK support ,they should know.


Looking in Device Manager its based on Intel HM76 chipset which according to Intel supports SATA 3,see here http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/...pset-hm76.html 5th down on right side,so don't see why SATA3 will not work at full speed with SATA3 SSD etc...on this laptop.
Last edited by Elevon; 11th Jul 2012 at 15:29.
Elevon is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jul 2012, 16:04   #14
YourFellowMan
Associate
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Hey, thinking of getting the same laptop so can I ask where you got it and what kind of warranty you got?
YourFellowMan is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jul 2012, 17:30   #15
Elevon
Mobster
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by YourFellowMan View Post
Hey, thinking of getting the same laptop so can I ask where you got it and what kind of warranty you got?
I don't think I'm allowed to say where (due to OcUK rules) but well known chain stores stock it and if you use "Samsung 550P5C" in Google search you see plenty of well known online and retail shops that sell it,as to warranty its typical 12 months but a lot of places allow you to extend the warranty etc...I never do however.
Elevon is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jul 2012, 17:32   #16
Rroff
Caporegime
 
Rroff's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 38,620
In the process of removing the bloatware default installation on my new Samsung laptop unfortunatly don't have a stock OEM/OA recovery media to hand. Such a pain.

Samsung 700G7C, i7 3610QM, 16GB DDR3, GTX 675M.
i7 4820K, GB X79-UD3, KHX Beast 16GB DDR3, Gigabyte GTX780 GHZ, Antec Kúhler 1250, 840 EVO 250GB, KHX 3K 240GB, Seasonic 860w Platinum.
Rroff is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jul 2012, 21:58   #17
Purgatory
Mobster
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Leeds
Posts: 2,583
Rroff it comes with a OEM Windows Premium 64bit disk too. It's just a standard windows disk to do clean installs from without all the blaa blaa that comes with it preinstalled. I installed Windows ultimate 64bit on mine and removed the restore partition because it's just a waste of space for me.

|FD Define XL|Intel i7-5930K @4.8Ghz|ASUS TUF X99 Sabertooth|32GB Corsair DDR4-2800 @1.2v|EVGA 980Ti CLASSIFIED|X-Fi Titanium-Fatal1ty Pro|2 x 850 Pro 1TB SSD|WD Black 6TB + 4TB + 2TB + WD Green 6TB|TX 750W|Logitech MX 1100 ,Illuminated KB,G940 Flight System & Z-5500|AOC U3477PQU|NP700G7A-S02UK|
Purgatory is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jul 2012, 23:20   #18
Rroff
Caporegime
 
Rroff's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 38,620
Ah didn't bother to check the disc I assumed it was just an identical copy of the restore partition as is usually the case. Cheers.

Samsung 700G7C, i7 3610QM, 16GB DDR3, GTX 675M.
i7 4820K, GB X79-UD3, KHX Beast 16GB DDR3, Gigabyte GTX780 GHZ, Antec Kúhler 1250, 840 EVO 250GB, KHX 3K 240GB, Seasonic 860w Platinum.
Rroff is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jul 2012, 23:55   #19
Purgatory
Mobster
 
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: Leeds
Posts: 2,583
Yes it comes with 2 disks one the drivers + samsung apps and one the full windows 7 premium 64bit disk. Only the restore partition has the same install that came preinstalled with all the junk.

|FD Define XL|Intel i7-5930K @4.8Ghz|ASUS TUF X99 Sabertooth|32GB Corsair DDR4-2800 @1.2v|EVGA 980Ti CLASSIFIED|X-Fi Titanium-Fatal1ty Pro|2 x 850 Pro 1TB SSD|WD Black 6TB + 4TB + 2TB + WD Green 6TB|TX 750W|Logitech MX 1100 ,Illuminated KB,G940 Flight System & Z-5500|AOC U3477PQU|NP700G7A-S02UK|
Purgatory is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 5th Oct 2012, 18:32   #20
siege2
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Chester-le-street Durham.
Posts: 1,778
looking at this model myself for £629.98 and there is 100 pound cash back on this model, going to get it from a high street store on Monday Morning.

got a 240 samsung ssd to put in this for boot up and leave the 1 tb in as a backup internally.

this laptop should last me 3 years give or take.

Kenneth.

i7-3820 3.6GHZ @ 4.54 GHz
P9X79_PRO / Corsair H80I / 32GB DDR memory
Fury X with Samsung UE850 UHD monitor
plus SSD's and Blu Ray drive
siege2 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 5th Oct 2012, 20:10   #21
Muel
Mobster
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 3,026
Cashback? How do I claim this? Could you message me in trust if you can't post links? Cheers.

EDIT: The only cashback offers I can find concerning this model ended in June.

Last edited by Muel; 5th Oct 2012 at 20:53.
Muel is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 5th Oct 2012, 21:44   #22
siege2
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Chester-le-street Durham.
Posts: 1,778
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muel View Post
Cashback? How do I claim this? Could you message me in trust if you can't post links? Cheers.

EDIT: The only cashback offers I can find concerning this model ended in June.
I may have over estimated myself cannot verify laptop with the samsung website going to ****** Monday and going to ask them.

Kenneth

i7-3820 3.6GHZ @ 4.54 GHz
P9X79_PRO / Corsair H80I / 32GB DDR memory
Fury X with Samsung UE850 UHD monitor
plus SSD's and Blu Ray drive
Last edited by siege2; 5th Oct 2012 at 23:25.
siege2 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 5th Oct 2012, 21:47   #23
Muel
Mobster
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 3,026
Going to where? A high-street vendor you say?

They didn't mention anything when I was there today. (Well, with their sister company).

Muel is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 5th Oct 2012, 23:20   #24
Martini1991
Capodecina
 
Martini1991's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Dormanstown.
Posts: 22,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by siege2 View Post
looking at this model myself for £629.98 and there is 100 pound cash back on this model, going to get it from a high street store on Monday Morning.

got a 240 samsung ssd to put in this for boot up and leave the 1 tb in as a backup internally.

this laptop should last me 3 years give or take.

Kenneth.
Think the cash back ended, and it's about the same price now as it was with the cash back.
Martini1991 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 5th Oct 2012, 23:25   #25
siege2
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Chester-le-street Durham.
Posts: 1,778
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martini1991 View Post
Think the cash back ended, and it's about the same price now as it was with the cash back.
End off last month oh well.

i7-3820 3.6GHZ @ 4.54 GHz
P9X79_PRO / Corsair H80I / 32GB DDR memory
Fury X with Samsung UE850 UHD monitor
plus SSD's and Blu Ray drive
siege2 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Oct 2012, 06:50   #26
Muel
Mobster
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 3,026
Still a bargain for an IB laptop with decent build quality.

Has anyone mounted another HDD/SSD in the optical bay with an adapter yet? I still can't find an as to whether it's possible or not.

Muel is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Oct 2012, 09:50   #27
Ramboner
Gangster
 
Ramboner's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Location: Milton Keynes
Posts: 179
how much was the laptop?
thanks
Ramboner is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Oct 2012, 11:04   #28
Muel
Mobster
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 3,026
Quote from my thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muel View Post
I got this for £630 instead of £900. If you google "SAMSUNG Series 5 NP550P5C 15.6" Laptop" then you should find that one of the top links is to a well known high street chain of computer selling people who wear purple shirts and force extra cover down your neck as soon as you walk through the door. I got that one.

Muel is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Oct 2012, 11:17   #29
Dogers
Gangster
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 102
Purple shirts site doesn't mention the nVidia card, oddly.. The bookseller with the orange smiley logo does, fortunately!

Shame about the resolution on this model, if it was higher it'd be perfect
Dogers is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 6th Oct 2012, 11:35   #30
Muel
Mobster
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 3,026
I prefer this resolution on a 15.6" screen personally.

My one from those of the purple shirt persuasion doesn't have the nVidia card. I chose it for work purposes, and seeing as the HD4000 that comes with the Ivy Bridge CPUs gets pretty good reviews, I decided that it would do. It's brilliant! I can play Minecraft (kind of), and probably some less demanding games, and it returns over 4 hours of battery life.

Interestingly, it did have the nVidia drivers installed though.

Muel is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:07.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)