My little project - Ikea style

Associate
Hey guys,

So i've been running BOINC for a couple of months now and I've decided to build something that a. I can leave on 24/7 and b. is good value for money and scalable

The purpose of the project is not about maximum computing performance. While I like the idea of using GPU's for crunching they are very noisey and draw a lot of power, I don't want to go down the watercooling route because its not something that interests me. I want to be able to contribute but in a way that suits me which means cheap and quiet...ish so I give you the case:

The Ikea Helmer

bf899ab8.jpg

For me it was the obvious choice, it was £25 and can hold six computers, I don't think you can get better value for money in that respect.

Motherboard wise i've gone for the Asus P8H61-MX it's main pro is that it fits nicely inside the helmers drawers and its got onboard VGA for initial config. I've initially bought 3 at £26 each refurbished, as I don't need any of the gubbins that come with the retail board I figured this was a good way to save money.

RAM wise i've gone for one 4 gig stick in each board, managed to get some off ebay for £11 each which I thought was a steal and I am able to expand in the future.

PSU's are from an OcUK competitor at £13 each, 400w should be enough as there will be no HDD or optical drives in the setups. I figured that 400w should leave plenty of headroom as they are cheap I didnt want to stress them too much.

The reason I have only bought 3 of everything as I already have 2 matx bundles sat doing nothing, an E6600 clocked at 3.4ghz and a Q6600 running at 3.4Ghz. The last drawer I thought I would leave spare for the time being.

I won't go into too much detail on the logistics of the build as it has been covered a few times online here: https://sites.google.com/site/woojay/helmer

and here:

http://helmer.sfe.se/