Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Life > Motors

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th Nov 2012, 01:33   #1
dirtychinchilla
Soldato
 
dirtychinchilla's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Ashford, Surrey
Posts: 7,097
Weird electrical problem with my Mondeo

Hey everyone,

I've inherited a 1997 Mondeo TD and over the last couple of days have been trying to fit a new radio. I bought it from Halfords so in the end I went back there and this chap fixed it up for me (and somehow didn't charge me!!). While sorting it out he found a very strange problem...

For some reason the voltage of the power supplying the radio (and I think the 12v cigarette lighter thing) began at 7V and crept up to about 11V. We never got to 12V because it took so long.

Now, before I go to a garage, has anyone got any idea what the cause of this might be?!

Thanks in advance,
dirtychinchilla
dirtychinchilla is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Nov 2012, 09:16   #2
Tesla
Capodecina
 
Joined: Jan 2003
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 17,391
With or without engine running?

Tesla is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Nov 2012, 10:25   #3
MatteH Oxford
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Oxford City
Posts: 1,320
it seems odd if both circuits are low as they are fed from different fuses.
I'd check the voltage at the fusebox supply in the glovebox and go from there presuming battery voltage is o.k.
MatteH Oxford is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Nov 2012, 10:27   #4
dirtychinchilla
Soldato
 
dirtychinchilla's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Ashford, Surrey
Posts: 7,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesla View Post
With or without engine running?
With the engine running.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MatteH Oxford View Post
it seems odd if both circuits are low as they are fed from different fuses.
I'd check the voltage at the fusebox supply in the glovebox and go from there.
Hmm well it may have just been the radio circuit to be honest, I think he might have grounded it on the cigarette lighter...

Hmm OK, no idea how to do that but I'll think about it!
dirtychinchilla is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Nov 2012, 10:35   #5
MatteH Oxford
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Oxford City
Posts: 1,320
There will be a big fat red wire going to the fuse box, touch your multimeter probe on the connector where it screws onto the fuse box. Should be above 12v

I'll try to find a photo
MatteH Oxford is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Nov 2012, 11:15   #6
PhillyDee
Capodecina
 
PhillyDee's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: South Shields
Posts: 14,177
Check the multimeter is reading right on the battery as well. Should really be 12.8V ish.


3 Laser cutter upto 150W and a 3D CEL Robox
PhillyDee is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Nov 2012, 11:43   #7
baron02
Gangster
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Canterbury,Kent
Posts: 441
If this is a Mk3 mondeo these have a smart charge circuit.

but head over to www.talkford.com as these guys will help you there

Intel I7 4770s 8gb DDR 3 Corsair Ram, Gigabyte G5 Z97 mobo, 128gb Kingston Hyper X SSD, 500gb Spin Disk. MSI 7950 GPU
baron02 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Nov 2012, 11:51   #8
MatteH Oxford
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Oxford City
Posts: 1,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtychinchilla View Post
With the engine running.


Hmm OK, no idea how to do that but I'll think about it!
thinking about it, if he grounded it on the cig lighter it may have a slightly duff earth. I'd recheck the voltage using a different earth point for the negative probe.
MatteH Oxford is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Nov 2012, 11:52   #9
MatteH Oxford
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Oxford City
Posts: 1,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by baron02 View Post
If this is a Mk3
it's a either a mk1/mk2 1997
MatteH Oxford is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Nov 2012, 19:48   #10
Zack101
Gangster
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 206
If you have less than battery voltage, you will have a bad connection somewhere increasing the resistance.
Zack101 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:51.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)