Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > CPUs

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 28th Nov 2012, 21:27   #1
South890
Associate
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 26
i3 3220 vs fx 6300

what would be a better choice when building a new system?

obviously the i3 is slightly quicker in games at stock speed and has a good upgrade path

the fx 6300 can be overclocked

thanks for any advice
South890 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2012, 21:51   #2
JonSmith
Wise Guy
 
JonSmith's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,066
The FX-6300 seems to be all round faster than the 3220. If you have a 20 aftermarket cooler than 4.5GHz should be attainable on the FX-6300.

It depends if you'll feel the need to upgrade soon. A lot of people always say "well you can just buy X second hand in a few years to upgrade" except everyone thinks that, so it ends up in a few years time that the processors on Ebay don't end up any cheaper due to the slew of people with older motherboards.

You can see a comparison here, just look at what workloads you use and see which one is best:

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/677?vs=699
JonSmith is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2012, 22:10   #3
CAT-THE-FIFTH
Capodecina
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 12,473
In lightly threaded games expect anything upto around a 10% to 20% improvement using the Core i3 and in multi-threaded games a 10% to 20% improvement for the FX6300.

Remember,the newer multi-platform engines such as Frostbite 2.0,id Tech 5,CryENGINE 3 and the upcoming UE4 are all going to be multi-threaded.

Hence it depends on what kind of games you are running.

When I was playing the Crysis3 MP Alpha it was really pushing my Core i3 2100(I have upgraded to a Xeon E3 now),so I think in the longterm the FX6300 probably would be a better choice,especially since you can overclock it a bit.
CAT-THE-FIFTH is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2012, 23:30   #4
South890
Associate
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 26
it will just be for games - bf3, crysis etc

i will be upgrading from an am3 board with an athlon ii x2
South890 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2012, 23:43   #5
CAT-THE-FIFTH
Capodecina
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 12,473
Quote:
Originally Posted by South890 View Post
it will just be for games - bf3, crysis etc

i will be upgrading from an am3 board with an athlon ii x2
What is your motherboard BTW??

I had a Core i3 2100 which was perfectly fine in many games with an HD5850 1GB. However,I noticed in the Crysis3 MP Alpha it was really being pushed and even in BL2,so I upgraded to a Xeon E3(basically a Core i5).

Those games you want to run use multi-threaded engines. BF3 uses Frostbite2.0 and Crysis 2 and 3,CryENGINE3. I would probably go for the FX6300 in this case.
CAT-THE-FIFTH is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2012, 23:59   #6
South890
Associate
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 26
i have a foxconn am3 motherboard. i was planning on getting a phenom ii x4 965 and overclocking it however the bios is just terrible.

whats a decent low cost overclocking motherboard?

i was looking at the Gigabyte 970A-DS3 AMD 970A
South890 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2012, 00:19   #7
JonSmith
Wise Guy
 
JonSmith's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,066
Quote:
Originally Posted by South890 View Post
i have a foxconn am3 motherboard. i was planning on getting a phenom ii x4 965 and overclocking it however the bios is just terrible.

whats a decent low cost overclocking motherboard?

i was looking at the Gigabyte 970A-DS3 AMD 970A
Given that it's on offer the board looks excellent. I'm running my 955 BE in a GA-770t-ud3 which is similar but not as good as that board, and it's quite happy with my 955BE @ 3.7GHz. I did have it running at 4GHz but my cooler wasn't quite up to task, so I doubt you'll run into power problems before you hit the cooling ceiling. Just make sure that your cooler keeps the VRM area cooled, you'll find many coolers that have a bent fin at the bottom to angle some air down at them.
JonSmith is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2012, 00:20   #8
CAT-THE-FIFTH
Capodecina
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 12,473
South890 can you set up your trust account?? I might be able to send you some useful information.

The Gigabyte 970A-DS3 looks a nice budget motherboard,although if you are looking for a huge overclock you probably need to go for a higher end motherboard.
CAT-THE-FIFTH is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2012, 00:31   #9
Martini1991
Capodecina
 
Martini1991's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Dormanstown.
Posts: 23,128
I'd take the FX6.
If you could up your budget to 149.99 there's an i5 3570k though, obviously it's steep, and only if you can afford it, otherwise the FX6 or going Phenom II X4 would suffice.
Martini1991 is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 29th Nov 2012, 21:40   #10
South890
Associate
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 26
would it be sensible to put a fx 6300 in a cheap 30 motherboard?

this would equal the price of an i3 3220 and a b75 motherboard.
South890 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Nov 2012, 00:01   #11
JonSmith
Wise Guy
 
JonSmith's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,066
Quote:
Originally Posted by South890 View Post
would it be sensible to put a fx 6300 in a cheap 30 motherboard?

this would equal the price of an i3 3220 and a b75 motherboard.
Not really, besides I can't see much difference between the cost of the cheapest B75 at 52 and the DS3 at 53?? It's 10 if you choose the cheapest i3, which costs 10% less but is also 10% slower any way.
JonSmith is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Dec 2012, 18:55   #12
Frazer
Associate
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 15
I'm thinking of selling my 1100t and buying a fx 6300 I mostly game, would this be a good move? As I've heard the 6300 oc well.....?
Frazer is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Dec 2012, 19:28   #13
Martini1991
Capodecina
 
Martini1991's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Dormanstown.
Posts: 23,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frazer View Post
I'm thinking of selling my 1100t and buying a fx 6300 I mostly game, would this be a good move? As I've heard the 6300 oc well.....?
It's a rather pointless move.

Stock versus stock the 1100T and FX6300 trade blows, gaming wise it seems the FX6 might be better stock versus stock, but it's not mind blowing.
1100T's do about 4.2GHZ, can probably get 4.6-4.8GHZ on the FX63 so you'd increase the gap a bit, but it still wouldn't be an improvement in every area.
Martini1991 is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Dec 2012, 20:05   #14
CAT-THE-FIFTH
Capodecina
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 12,473
Is the motherboard AM3+ BTW??
I don't think it will make a massive difference(unless it is WoW maybe),although it might be easier to push the FX6300 a bit more. On the famous auction site you are probably looking at 105 to 135 for a Phenom II X6 1100T.
Last edited by CAT-THE-FIFTH; 4th Dec 2012 at 20:08.
CAT-THE-FIFTH is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Dec 2012, 20:37   #15
Frazer
Associate
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 15
Yes 970 extreme3, I was hoping the 1100t would pay for the 6300. I have an antec water cooler and 7950. I play bf3 mostly.
Frazer is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Dec 2012, 20:40   #16
Martini1991
Capodecina
 
Martini1991's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Dormanstown.
Posts: 23,128
If the switch costs you nothing, then go ahead with it.
Martini1991 is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Dec 2012, 20:40   #17
Frazer
Associate
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martini1991 View Post
It's a rather pointless move.

Stock versus stock the 1100T and FX6300 trade blows, gaming wise it seems the FX6 might be better stock versus stock, but it's not mind blowing.
1100T's do about 4.2GHZ, can probably get 4.6-4.8GHZ on the FX63 so you'd increase the gap a bit, but it still wouldn't be an improvement in every area.
I thought the newer tech 6300 mite be better? Plus an oc on it may make it better for gaming? Or should I get the 8350?
Frazer is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Dec 2012, 20:43   #18
Martini1991
Capodecina
 
Martini1991's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Dormanstown.
Posts: 23,128
It might be newer tech, but they're not exactly setting the world alight.

Switch if you want, but it won't be a vast upgrade, clocked balls deep you'll elevate the bottleneck in most/some games.
BF3 can't imagine that seeing any difference at all, as there shouldn't be any bottleneck on a clocked 1100T.
Martini1991 is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Dec 2012, 20:45   #19
Frazer
Associate
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 15
What would you do??
Frazer is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Dec 2012, 20:49   #20
Martini1991
Capodecina
 
Martini1991's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Dormanstown.
Posts: 23,128
Wouldn't have bought an AM3+ board, I assume you did so before AMD's Bulldozer launched, it's not like we expected them to be as bad as they were.

I'd stick with my 1100T until I could either afford an Intel set up (Or even wanted to go Intel) or waited for Steamroller.

If I was busting for an upgrade and wanted to stay AMD, I'd sell the 1100T and buy an 8320.
Martini1991 is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Dec 2012, 20:55   #21
Frazer
Associate
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 15
8320? I got the board bout a year ago ish, I got the 1100t for 40 quid, whoop! The steamroller could be an option but I thought the amd fx were at a pretty good price at the moment hence the upgrade itch
Frazer is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Dec 2012, 20:57   #22
Martini1991
Capodecina
 
Martini1991's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Dormanstown.
Posts: 23,128
Only issue with SR, it's meant to be 2014, no 100% guarantee it'll be AM3+
And the FX prices aren't bad.

And AMD FX8320, pretty much the only AMD CPU I'd really consider getting.

And I can see why you did go AMD, 1100T at 40 quid would have be dropping my load left right and centre.
Martini1991 is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Dec 2012, 21:01   #23
Frazer
Associate
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 15
Pmsl yes the guy sold it me as not working as he didn't know if it worked, bit of a risk but well worth it!
Is the 8320 a good overclocker? Just wondered why you'd choose that one?
Frazer is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Dec 2012, 21:03
Martini1991
This message has been deleted by w3bbo. Reason: No competitor hinting please.
Old 4th Dec 2012, 21:07   #24
Frazer
Associate
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 15
Thanks for your input its appreciated!!
Frazer is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 4th Dec 2012, 23:11   #25
ubersonic
Capodecina
 
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 15,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonSmith View Post
A lot of people always say "well you can just buy X second hand in a few years to upgrade" except everyone thinks that, so it ends up in a few years time that the processors on Ebay don't end up any cheaper due to the slew of people with older motherboards.
Its always worked in my experience, I.E a friend of mine who got an i3 540 back when they were new just replaced it with a used i7 870 he got for 90. That's the same price as an i3 3220 for a CPU that will clock to ~ the same single core performance but destroy the i3 in multithreaded.

ALL HAIL Magma Totem VII, CHAMPION OF VALHALLAS!
ubersonic is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 14:59.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)