Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Archives > Archive Forums > PCCG Archive

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20th Oct 2013, 14:06   #5281
OzzyUK87
Associate
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 72
Preload info

https://twitter.com/OriginInsider/st...24071437250561

Quote:
Are you going to be online or in-line on launch day?

Pre-load @Battlefield 4 on Origin within 24 hours of release: http://bit.ly/1fMukZe
I think it starts 24 hours before the US release date so if you have a slow connection you will have more time to preload.
OzzyUK87 is offline   View trust for
Old 20th Oct 2013, 14:07   #5282
eekfek
Soldato
 
eekfek's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: ]8-
Posts: 5,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by setter View Post
Anything ive read so far states that there will be no preload. Hope this gets changed.
well if it's released 3 days earlier in US I guess using a vpn to download it is going to be the best option, it will take me that long to grab 15gig


eekfek is offline   View trust for
Old 20th Oct 2013, 14:40   #5283
~>Dg<~
Capodecina
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Notts
Posts: 24,939
guys you may want to get in on this and sign the petition jackfrags is doing. alot of us wanted this to happen (battlerecorder)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X9_ze...0lH2v2yB5LQoYA

this could help in so many ways and cutting down on cheats. alot of people have signed it already over 10,000 in 24 hrs. hopefully dice do it.

~>Dg<~ is online now   View trust for
Old 20th Oct 2013, 14:52   #5284
Zero Pope
Wise Guy
 
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 1,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~>Dg<~ View Post
guys you may want to get in on this and sign the petition jackfrags is doing. alot of us wanted this to happen (battlerecorder)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X9_ze...0lH2v2yB5LQoYA

this could help in so many ways and cutting down on cheats. alot of people have signed it already over 10,000 in 24 hrs. hopefully dice do it.
Signed, whether or not EA decide to pay attention.
Zero Pope is offline   View trust for
Old 20th Oct 2013, 15:11   #5285
tlrBeta
Wise Guy
 
tlrBeta's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 1,124
Unfortunately, I highly doubt dice even care

2500k @ 4.6 ghz // ASRock Z68 Extreme Gen 3 //
16GB Corsair XMS3 1600 // Crucial 128gb M4 SSD // GTX 780 MSI Twin Frozer Gaming Ed. // Corsair 600T
tlrBeta is offline   View trust for
Old 20th Oct 2013, 15:21   #5286
foster grant
Mobster
 
foster grant's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: North London
Posts: 3,801
So if i buy ( pre-order) the digital deluxe do i not only get the china rising expansion pack ...but also other expansion packs when they come online to be downloaded? or do i have to pay out extra for those once they are available ?

Z97 gamer pro, Gigabyte 980, Seasonic X 850W,16GB 2400Mhz,4790K,1 x128 GB .1 x250GB 840, 2 x500GB SSD,TD02-E CPU Cooler,SBz.
foster grant is offline   View trust for
Old 20th Oct 2013, 15:22   #5287
fozzybear
Sgarrista
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Manchester
Posts: 7,671
I'm just wondering how people bind/map their keyboards and mice with BF games.

I've never previously bothered and just used the scroll wheel to change weapons so its likely I'm making the game even harder for myself.

Just grabbed myself a very cheap Logitech G105 keyboard so need to set that up.

Any tips?
fozzybear is offline   View trust for
Old 20th Oct 2013, 15:26   #5288
Rroff
Caporegime
 
Rroff's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 38,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by fozzybear View Post
I'm just wondering how people map their keyboards and mice with BF games.

I've never previously bothered and just used the scroll wheel to change weapons so its likely I'm making the game even harder for myself.

Just grabbed myself a very cheap Logitech G105 keyboard so need to set that up.

Any tips?
I use a mixture of both - I'm an old school arrow keys player so i.e. playing support class I had mg on delete, airburst on end, grenade on page down then I just scroll on mouse to get pistol, etc. also have light/pointer toggle on insert, weapon deploy double bound to primary weapon (would have put it on home and might rejig to do that) and support items on home and page up i.e. ammobox.

Samsung 700G7C, i7 3610QM, 16GB DDR3, GTX 675M.
i7 4820K, GB X79-UD3, KHX Beast 16GB DDR3, Gigabyte GTX780 GHZ, Antec Kúhler 1250, 840 EVO 250GB, KHX 3K 240GB, Seasonic 860w Platinum.
Rroff is online now   View trust for
Old 20th Oct 2013, 15:33   #5289
Gazanimal
Wise Guy
 
Gazanimal's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,871
Quote:
Originally Posted by foster grant View Post
So if i buy ( pre-order) the digital deluxe do i not only get the china rising expansion pack ...but also other expansion packs when they come online to be downloaded? or do i have to pay out extra for those once they are available ?
Digital Deluxe is just the base game (BF4) + China Rising DLC + 3 Gold Battlepacks and a Vehicle Shortcut Bundle.

You need to either buy BF4 Premium in addition to the base game/deluxe version to get all the later DLC or buy them individually when they launch.

All the details on this page: http://www.battlefield.com/uk/battlefield-4/buy

Twitch: Geekbyte (XSplit Stream Team Member) | Twitter: GeekbyteUK
Gazanimal is offline   View trust for
Old 20th Oct 2013, 15:35   #5290
dodg3rman
Gangster
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Location: Norwich
Posts: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by fozzybear View Post
I'm just wondering how people bind/map their keyboards and mice with BF games.

I've never previously bothered and just used the scroll wheel to change weapons so its likely I'm making the game even harder for myself.

Just grabbed myself a very cheap Logitech G105 keyboard so need to set that up.

Any tips?
Hey fozzy

i'm not like most people in so far as i dont use wasd for movement , it just doent suit my fingers + it doesnt give me enough options to the left. I use wer and d for reverse , this enables me to make use of the q,a,s and z buttons with my little finger. Also i can bind tab for using voip as its so easy to get to. I put crouch with a and s for spot and q for prone. t=reload, g=grenade,f=steady scope. 5 is for sprint and 3+4 are gadgets. mouse thumb for pistol as you use it so much its got to be right there. 2nd thumb for knifing and only use scroll up for primary as dont want to be going through weapons to get back to primary.

Same in vehicles just use thumb button for 2nd weapon so you can change instantly. The rest is your choice but i can get to map zoom using that backslash thing next to z

oh and i bind t to enter/exit too as it doesnt matter about reload when you jump into vehicles ,it can manage both.

hth
dodg3rman is offline   View trust for
Old 20th Oct 2013, 16:46   #5291
fozzybear
Sgarrista
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Manchester
Posts: 7,671
Cheers Rroff and dodg3rman.

I'm not sure I could ever change from using WASD now. I'm far too stuck in my ways.

Do you use the tilt wheel (if you have one) on your mouse for anything? I'm thinking that might be useful for grenade (left tilt) and knife (right tilt). The first button I'll change is whatever CTRL is used for. I've always found it out of my reach.
fozzybear is offline   View trust for
Old 20th Oct 2013, 16:53   #5292
esoteric
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by fozzybear View Post
Cheers Rroff and dodg3rman.

I'm not sure I could ever change from using WASD now. I'm far too stuck in my ways.
I was an arrow key user for about 10 years. Then I started playing MMO's and used WASD for movement. Eventually I got used to it.
esoteric is offline   View trust for
Old 20th Oct 2013, 17:30   #5293
anything I don't mind
PermaBanned
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: london
Posts: 13,054
I bought the digital deluxe and will buy the premium if/when it comes down in price and around the time the second expansion comes online. The vehicle shortcut also applies to bf3 as I have gone in to bf3 since preordering and i now have loads of vehicle weapons that i never had before. I think they were locked.

I saw on one site it said start date is 1st November but on another it said 29th. Any ideas on exact date?
anything I don't mind is offline   View trust for
Old 20th Oct 2013, 17:48   #5294
Gazanimal
Wise Guy
 
Gazanimal's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,871
Quote:
Originally Posted by groen View Post
I saw on one site it said start date is 1st November but on another it said 29th. Any ideas on exact date?
U.S is 29th
E.U is 31st

Twitch: Geekbyte (XSplit Stream Team Member) | Twitter: GeekbyteUK
Gazanimal is offline   View trust for
Old 20th Oct 2013, 18:12   #5295
Richeh
Wise Guy
 
Richeh's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Hastings, South East
Posts: 2,451
Ah damn was hoping to play on the 29th

As simplykeys where I have my pre-order from have the release date as the 1st I am assuming I won't get the key until 30th/31st?

Did BF3 launch simultaneously?

i7 4770k Stock ~ Gelid Tranquilo
8GB Kingston Hyper X Grey
Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X
Richeh is offline   View trust for
Old 20th Oct 2013, 18:17   #5296
JGStonedRaider
Mobster
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: 'Astings
Posts: 3,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by fozzybear View Post
Cheers Rroff and dodg3rman.

I'm not sure I could ever change from using WASD now. I'm far too stuck in my ways.

Do you use the tilt wheel (if you have one) on your mouse for anything? I'm thinking that might be useful for grenade (left tilt) and knife (right tilt). The first button I'll change is whatever CTRL is used for. I've always found it out of my reach.
Hey Fozzy, I use X key for medkits / Ammo packs for BF3 meaning I didn't have to use my W finger to hit button 3. Apart from that all I did was rebind the TV missile to WASD as well so for those big curves (more applicable in 2vs2 heli matchs) on my TV missile.

Battlefield Comp Legend | 4770K @ 4.6 | 2133Mhz RAM 9-10-10-21
GTX680 1293Mhz 7000Mhz Vram | Custom WC | Benq XL2411T
JGStonedRaider is offline   View trust for
Old 20th Oct 2013, 19:38   #5297
foster grant
Mobster
 
foster grant's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: North London
Posts: 3,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gazanimal View Post
Digital Deluxe is just the base game (BF4) + China Rising DLC + 3 Gold Battlepacks and a Vehicle Shortcut Bundle.

You need to either buy BF4 Premium in addition to the base game/deluxe version to get all the later DLC or buy them individually when they launch.

All the details on this page: http://www.battlefield.com/uk/battlefield-4/buy

Thanx Gaz

think I'll leave getting it for the time being though and wait till a drop in price lol

Z97 gamer pro, Gigabyte 980, Seasonic X 850W,16GB 2400Mhz,4790K,1 x128 GB .1 x250GB 840, 2 x500GB SSD,TD02-E CPU Cooler,SBz.
foster grant is offline   View trust for
Old 20th Oct 2013, 19:53   #5298
spanielgita
Gangster
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~Divine~Wind~ View Post
Where?

EDIT: Aaah mexico trick, thoguht u meant a UK place.
Blockbuster have PS3 and XBOX game+premium for that but not the PC version
Do you have to change the language files on this?
spanielgita is offline   View trust for
Old 20th Oct 2013, 19:57   #5299
Moron
Gangster
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by fozzybear View Post
Cheers Rroff and dodg3rman.

I'm not sure I could ever change from using WASD now. I'm far too stuck in my ways.

Do you use the tilt wheel (if you have one) on your mouse for anything? I'm thinking that might be useful for grenade (left tilt) and knife (right tilt). The first button I'll change is whatever CTRL is used for. I've always found it out of my reach.
I current use a g700 mouse and have to say its really handy having 4 thumb buttons.

I have on the four thumb buttons, melee, voip button (don't like voice activation), gadget (defib, c4, blow torch etc..), fire mode change.

Having these on the mouse means I can set 'F' for grenade so its right next to WASD keys, and then use number '3' for the other gadget (med box, rocket etc..)

Then usual combo of Ctrl shift for prone/couch choices.
Moron is offline   View trust for
Old 20th Oct 2013, 20:52   #5300
fozzybear
Sgarrista
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Manchester
Posts: 7,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by JGStonedRaider View Post
Hey Fozzy, I use X key for medkits / Ammo packs for BF3 meaning I didn't have to use my W finger to hit button 3. Apart from that all I did was rebind the TV missile to WASD as well so for those big curves (more applicable in 2vs2 heli matchs) on my TV missile.
How many keys other than WASD do you use altogether? I want to try and use as few keys as possible.

I think I might have to install a game to test whether I suffer with this 'mouse lag' issue that seems to be happening in Windows 8.1. I wasn't going to do any gaming until 1st Nov but I don't want to have the issue spiling BF4 on launch day.
fozzybear is offline   View trust for
Old 21st Oct 2013, 00:47   #5301
Nexus18
Capodecina
 
Nexus18's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Nanda Parbat
Posts: 18,261
I use most of the default bindings, only things I change:

- switch to toggle on/of to aim down sights as opposed to hold the mouse button down
- crouch (again toggle instead of hold) to ctrl and prone to z
- originally had melee button set to my thumb button on g400 but since DICE introduced that stupid knifing animation, I very rarely knife people so now have it set to switch to my pistol (switching to pistol is quicker than reloading plus it is when you are most likely to encounter someone so you want to be able to switch quickly to your side arm and take 1 or 2 guys out)

PC: i5 750 @ 4GHz / MSI 290 / 8GB RAM / LG 29UM65
Reviews: LG 29UM65 / ASUS Essence STX II / Zowie FK1
Nexus18 is offline   View trust for
Old 21st Oct 2013, 00:58   #5302
Rroff
Caporegime
 
Rroff's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 38,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by fozzybear View Post
Cheers Rroff and dodg3rman.

I'm not sure I could ever change from using WASD now. I'm far too stuck in my ways.

Do you use the tilt wheel (if you have one) on your mouse for anything? I'm thinking that might be useful for grenade (left tilt) and knife (right tilt). The first button I'll change is whatever CTRL is used for. I've always found it out of my reach.
I don't reccomend changing from WASD (unless another combination works for you) I spent way too many years playing on arrow keys back in the day to be able to change easily.

Samsung 700G7C, i7 3610QM, 16GB DDR3, GTX 675M.
i7 4820K, GB X79-UD3, KHX Beast 16GB DDR3, Gigabyte GTX780 GHZ, Antec Kúhler 1250, 840 EVO 250GB, KHX 3K 240GB, Seasonic 860w Platinum.
Rroff is online now   View trust for
Old 21st Oct 2013, 01:25   #5303
JGStonedRaider
Mobster
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: 'Astings
Posts: 3,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by fozzybear View Post
How many keys other than WASD do you use altogether? I want to try and use as few keys as possible.

I think I might have to install a game to test whether I suffer with this 'mouse lag' issue that seems to be happening in Windows 8.1. I wasn't going to do any gaming until 1st Nov but I don't want to have the issue spiling BF4 on launch day.
Well WASD, Space (jump), Ctrl (crtch), 1, 2 / mouse wheel (weapons), 4 (defib), Z (prone), F (knife) and G (nade). That's about it really, most of those are defaults. I use hold for mouse which is needed for BF's Euro hip fire and small crosshair glitch (5vs5 tryharding)

Battlefield Comp Legend | 4770K @ 4.6 | 2133Mhz RAM 9-10-10-21
GTX680 1293Mhz 7000Mhz Vram | Custom WC | Benq XL2411T
JGStonedRaider is offline   View trust for
Old 21st Oct 2013, 06:37   #5304
atpbx
Capodecina
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 21,111
I still use arrow keys, I don't like WASD and never have done.

It's such a stupid thing to not like as well as I can see how well it works.
atpbx is offline   View trust for
Old 21st Oct 2013, 08:01   #5305
smogsy
Soldato
 
smogsy's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: @ManCave
Posts: 5,510
as i use one hand and 1 finger to play & sometimes i just use one hand....

I have 2 setups

Setup 1:
WASD = Normal Movement controlled by just my left thumb.
Weapon switch - Mouse wheel - controlled by finger 2 on mouse

Naga Mouse: control by 1 hand & thumb for buttons
M1 = Sprint
M2 = Crouch
M3 = Jump
M4 = Prone
M5 = Enter Veh
M6 = any other special button like action
M7 = Select somrhing like W1/Equipment
M8 = blank

setup 2
Naga mouse
M1,2,3,5, = WASD
rest move around

Keyboard WASD =Equipment


at lan everyone is fascinated about how i play, i used to play CSS in enemy down And reached the top 5 in Tournaments.
played League of legends & was in Gold league

not bad for a 1 hand gamer.

smogsy is offline   View trust for
Old 21st Oct 2013, 08:11   #5306
Twirlywoos
Sgarrista
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 9,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~>Dg<~ View Post
guys you may want to get in on this and sign the petition jackfrags is doing. alot of us wanted this to happen (battlerecorder)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X9_ze...0lH2v2yB5LQoYA

this could help in so many ways and cutting down on cheats. alot of people have signed it already over 10,000 in 24 hrs. hopefully dice do it.
not signing ****

Been asking for battlerecorder since pre-BF3 just because jackfags asks doesn't mean it will happen. DICE have taken their stance on battlerecorder.
Twirlywoos is offline   View trust for
Old 21st Oct 2013, 08:38   #5307
HazardO
Underboss
 
HazardO's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 4,638
Bah, for some reason I thought the game was going live this coming weekend, got 2 weeks to wait still.
HazardO is offline   View trust for
Old 21st Oct 2013, 11:18   #5308
Neil79
Caporegime
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: On Ocuk
Posts: 33,060
Afternoon gamers!

GeForce 331.58 WHQL Drivers Released

Performance Boost – Increases performance by up to 13% for GeForce 400/500/600/700 series GPUs in several PC games vs. GeForce 327.23 WHQL-certified drivers. Results will vary depending on your GPU and system configuration. Here is one example of measured gains:

GeForce GTX 770/780/TITAN:
  • Up to 11% in Dirt: Showdown
  • Up to 9% in Metro: Last Light
  • Up to 8% in Sleeping Dogs
  • Up to 13% in Sniper Elite V2


SLI Technology:
  • Batman: Arkham Origins – updated profile
  • Battlefield 4 – updated profile
  • Shadow Warrior – added DX9 profile
  • War of the Vikings – added DX11 profile
  • Dragon Sword - updated DX9 profile
  • GRID 2 - updated DX11 profile
  • Euro Truck Simulator 2 - updated profile

Gaming Technology:
  • Civilization 5 – added HBAO+;

SHIELD:
  • Enables GeForce to SHIELD (Beta). Learn more here.

4K Displays:
  • Adds support for 4K Surround

Additional Details
  • Installs new PhysX System Software 9.13.0725.
  • Installs HD Audio v1.3.26.4
  • Installs GeForce Experience v8.3.23.1
  • Includes support for applications built using CUDA 5.5 or earlier version of the CUDA Toolkit. More information at http://developer.nvidia.com/cuda-toolkit
  • Supports OpenGL 4.3 for GeForce 400-series and later GPUs.
  • Supports DisplayPort 1.2 for GeForce GTX 600 series GPUs.
  • Supports multiple languages and APIs for GPU computing: CUDA C, CUDA C++, CUDA Fortran, OpenCL, DirectCompute, and Microsoft C++ AMP.
  • Supports single GPU and NVIDIA SLI technology on DirectX 9, DirectX 10, DirectX 11, and OpenGL, including 3-way SLI, Quad SLI, and SLI support on SLI-certified Intel and AMD motherboards.


Download Links X64
Download Links X32

i7 4790K 4.6 1.275v, MSI Z97 Gaming 5, Superflower 850 PSU, 16GB Kingston, EVGA GTX 980 1553mhz, 2xSSD EVO, AIO Liquid Cooler, Dell Gsync 144HZ 1440p
Neil79 is offline   View trust for
Old 21st Oct 2013, 11:22   #5309
Mariusz
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,295
Thank you for the heads up Neil.

i7 5820K / EVGA X99 Classified / EVGA Titan X SC with Hybrid Cooler / ROG Swift / Rat 7 MMO / Belkin N52TE / Fiio E17 & Fiio E09K / AKG 712 with Mod mic
Mariusz is offline   View trust for
Old 21st Oct 2013, 11:25   #5310
rhysduck
Soldato
 
rhysduck's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Nelson, South Wales
Posts: 5,079
Really really really should wait and get BF4 + Premium when it's cheaper but can't stop myself from looking at pre-ordering

PSN/BF4/Steam/GMail: rhysduk
rhysduck is offline   View trust for
 

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 00:25.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)