Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Networks & Internet Connectivity

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 3rd Mar 2013, 02:34   #1
SaltandSauce
Gangster
 
SaltandSauce's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 146
Extract Username/Password from Sky Router

Well it's certainly safe to say that the Sagemcom F@ST2504n router that Sky provide you is nothing short of a piece of crap. It had a real limited amount of features and the main issue is its poor wireless range. With the thick walls in this flat, I'm having to pretty much hard wire every device that I need connected to the internet.

So anyway, I sourced another router that I'd like to use instead. Now I got in contact with a Sky Engineer who was unwilling to provide me with the necessary information which I found frustrating to say the least. According to Sky, it's against their usage policy for its customers to use whatever router they desire. I'm guessing it's to help troubleshoot any issues when a customer rings up their helpdesk.

Well I just wondering if it's possible to extract the username/password some other way? I'm sure I've seen other Sky users reporting to be using another more sufficient router that's up to the job. If so, could you please provide me with a link on how to go about extracting the details and IDEALLY setting it up using DD-WRT.

Any help would be much appreciated. Any more cables running through this place and I've got a feeling the girlfriend is going to strangle me to death. On that note, what is it with women and their hatred for cables running everywhere?
SaltandSauce is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Mar 2013, 02:39   #2
djshauny1
Mobster
 
djshauny1's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 3,055
It can be done. Theres an online sky router calculator site.

All you have to do is get the numbers from underneath, put them in the calculator and it give you the username and password

Just google it mate im sure its in the top 10 searches
djshauny1 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Mar 2013, 08:30   #3
Tealc
Soldato
 
Tealc's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Neath and Swansea
Posts: 6,580
And keep your fingers crossed you aren't connected through MER as that's more difficult to connect with a third party modem/router.

You could always keep the Sagem and have it run as a modem and use your replacement as a router and access point.

Tealc is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Mar 2013, 10:18   #4
quish
Gangster
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Sunny Cheshire
Posts: 490
Have a look here http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/extra...ter-passwords/

I used the info to extract the username/password on the new Sky hub so I could use the Billion 7800, worked a treat

quish is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Mar 2013, 17:47   #5
pioneer2000
Mobster
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Essex
Posts: 3,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tealc View Post
And keep your fingers crossed you aren't connected through MER as that's more difficult to connect with a third party modem/router.

You could always keep the Sagem and have it run as a modem and use your replacement as a router and access point.
I thought with MER you couldn't use another router full stop?

Intel Core i7 920 | 6GB Patriot Viper DDR3 | Gigabyte UD5 | BFG 285 GTX OCX | Fractal Design R3 | TRUE Black
pioneer2000 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Mar 2013, 17:50   #6
MissChief
Sgarrista
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,063
Only some routers support MER.

Whatever you do keep your sky router in case you have a problem as they won't do squat without it connected.

Origin: Tesslacoil; Steam: Misschief; R*SC Tess-Lacoil
Trust message me for NEW Customer Sky Friends and Family discount codes.
MissChief is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:48.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)