Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Software > Windows & Other Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 28th Jun 2013, 16:16   #1
rosscouk
Gangster
 
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 107
Can't get rid of mysearchdial permanently!!

This is driving me bonkers!! mysearchdial (browser hijacker) keeps on starting a separate tab pointing at itself when I start chrome.

I am not sure how this infected my PC (win 8 running kaspersky and Chrome) but I thought I could get rid of it quickly enough.

A quick check online and I did the following

removed it from programs
removed it from extensions
Run spybot search and destroy
ccleaner
kaspersky virus checker
malwarebytes anti-malware
adwcleaner

adwclearner finds the little blighter and tells me there is a url which is being restored on start up, so when I start chrome I get a separate tab for mysearchdial. Even when I remove with adwcleaner and restart the machine all seems well, in fact I used Chrome all day to day working from home until 5 mins ago, when, bang, it starts again when starting chrome.

Any idea how to remove permanently???
Thanks
rosscouk is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jun 2013, 23:48   #2
Sin_Chase
Capodecina
 
Sin_Chase's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 19,024
Right Click on your Chrome shortcut and click properties. Check the Target entry and make sure there are no switches which are launching the page.

It should read:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe"

With nothing else added. Change Drive/path to suit your install.
Sin_Chase is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Jun 2013, 08:29   #3
rosscouk
Gangster
 
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 107
Thanks for the reply. The target profile looks to be correct.

I have been doing a bit of a test. If I remove mysearchdial using adwcleaner and reboot my machine I am logged out of google chrome, it is no longer linked automatically with my email. If I don't log in, mysearchdial doesn't reappear. When I log back in, bang, there it is. So its clearly something to do with the google profile. Any more thoughts?
rosscouk is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Jun 2013, 10:05   #4
koolpc
Sgarrista
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Under The Desk, Wales
Posts: 7,906
Have you tried deleting chrome and then re installing it?
koolpc is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Jun 2013, 10:24   #5
d_brennen
Capodecina
 
d_brennen's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Aquilonem Londinensi
Posts: 12,235
Extensions? chrome://extensions

Pages to load at startup? chrome://settings/startup

d_brennen is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Jun 2013, 10:34   #6
rosscouk
Gangster
 
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 107
Deleting chrome is my next step.

I tried rolling back using system restore - still there!
Just logged onto to my work machine which has chrome installed and its even there!!!

This has to be something to do with the Chrome profile!!
rosscouk is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Jun 2013, 10:35   #7
rosscouk
Gangster
 
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 107
sorry, d brennen I can't get those links to work.
rosscouk is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Jun 2013, 10:36   #8
d_brennen
Capodecina
 
d_brennen's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Aquilonem Londinensi
Posts: 12,235
Type them in then chrome://extensions and chrome://settings/startup, see if there is anything untoward in there

d_brennen is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Jun 2013, 17:24   #9
rosscouk
Gangster
 
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 107
got it! well d brennen did! If I put chrome://settings/startup into Chrome it recorded mysearchdial there, I removed it and job done. Thank you.

Is it likely to be lurking on the machine elsewhere?
rosscouk is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 30th Jun 2013, 18:46   #10
d_brennen
Capodecina
 
d_brennen's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Aquilonem Londinensi
Posts: 12,235
Nah, it's not exactly a browser hijack either, it just set a homepage really. It's a useful feature of Chrome to be able to open several tabs/sites on startup. Saves me plenty of seconds here and there, which all adds up. Shame not enough people know about it, like you!

Just to be sure, update and run MBAM once more

d_brennen is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:02.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)