Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > CPUs

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th Oct 2013, 11:58   #1
Bolton7935
Associate
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 85
I7 950 @4.2 good enough to push my gtx 780 ?

Hey guys thanks for taking time to read this I got my i7 950 running at 4.2 got 780 gtx on release I keep thinking my CPU is to old and holding my gpu back when I play wow the CPU usage is 30% and gpu at 60% also when playing bf3 i get CPU usage at 70% gpu at 80% what I don't get is why arnt either of them maxing out thanks

I am thinking of upgrading to i7 4770k will cost me 700 quid as I'll buy decent mobo and ram and cooler so not a cheap upgrade especially if I am wrong my CPU is fine

My pc specs are
I7 950 @ 4.2 cooled with h80
X58 gigabyte
12 gb ram & 1600
Gtx 780 gtx

I play 1080p I have duel monitors one for gaming and one for watching movies
Thanks for reading
Bolton7935 is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Oct 2013, 13:19   #2
Silent_Scone
Sgarrista
 
Silent_Scone's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Surrey
Posts: 9,697
In most scenarios yes (at those clocks). You may run into a bottleneck if you were to add a second card.

Quote:
Hardware enthusiasts. Living vicariously through one another since 1990
Silent_Scone is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 17th Oct 2013, 15:30   #3
zuludawn
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,049
Running a i7 920@4.4Ghz with xfire 7970 oc 1125/1575Mhz 2560x1440 never had a problem in any game ie, 120fps in BF3 (with vsync never drops below 60fps) Had them since July 2012 and cannot see how any upgrade at the moment would be better if i still get constant 60fps (vsync), hence still with the i7 920

BF3 settings

Last edited by zuludawn; 17th Oct 2013 at 15:33.
zuludawn is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Oct 2013, 23:24   #4
Bolton7935
Associate
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 85
Thanks guys ill stick with it then i might go full water cooler to get the itch away
Bolton7935 is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Oct 2013, 01:22   #5
zuludawn
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,049
Take a look at these settings and results, you really don't need anything other than what you have, it will not bottleneck.

This made all the difference in xfire latest beta driver and ULPS disabled as the GPU`s were showing very uneven utilization before.

http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/sho...php?t=18550475

Last edited by zuludawn; 20th Oct 2013 at 01:26.
zuludawn is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Oct 2013, 07:10   #6
pbrain
Gangster
 
pbrain's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Walsall
Posts: 151
Not maxed out...isn't that a good thing? Means you have headroom left & no noisy fans.

I suppose it's like you've got a beefy 3.2 V8 cruising at 140mph, while a 1.6 is in the red-band trying to keep up!

The only reason I went from 920 to 2600k was my 920 wasn't stable past 3.6Ghz, while some people managed 4.5Ghz.

Commodore 64 with TWIN tape deck
Last edited by pbrain; 20th Oct 2013 at 07:13.
pbrain is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Oct 2013, 08:54   #7
Deus Ex
Hitman
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Location: North East
Posts: 732
As a 4670k owner, I'd say relax. Still a very good CPU.

No man is an island,
Entire of itself,
Every man is a piece of the continent,
A part of the main.
Deus Ex is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Oct 2013, 11:06   #8
mushtafa
Wise Guy
 
Joined: May 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK
Posts: 1,125
@Bolton7935
What gigabyte board are you running? What CPU temps are you getting? That's a very good OC! I seem to struggle with stability over 3.8. Trust message me if you'd prefer.


Posted from Overclockers.co.uk App for Android

Intel X5650 @ 4.2ghz | Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 | 12GB Hyper X - Triple Channel | Corsair H100 | Gigabyte R9 280X OC | Samsung 840 Pro | OCZ ZT750 | NZXT S340 Blue | Noise Blocker PL-2 & Corsair SP fans
mushtafa is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Oct 2013, 13:13   #9
Bolton7935
Associate
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 85
i am using Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
temps i get whilest playing bf3 60-72 if i run prime 95 starts going into the 80+ i just dont run prime
Bolton7935 is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:06.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)