Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Software > Windows & Other Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 3rd Nov 2013, 10:49   #1
Number29
Gangster
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 304
Remove everything and reinstall Windows 8

Hi all

I'm trying to use the above option in Windows 8. However, I'm getting a message that says 'Some files are missing. Your Windows installation or recovery media will provide these'. I've inserted my Windows 8 Pro installation DVD (the one I created when I first bought and downloaded Windows 8 last year) but it won't accept this.

Can someone please tell me how to get this option to work? Or am I going to have to reinstall in the old way, booting from the DVD?

Many thanks.

#29.
Number29 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2013, 10:56   #2
JOSH86
Soldato
 
JOSH86's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Location: Classified
Posts: 7,256
I'm having the same issue, tried to reinstall Windows 8 it said please insert installtion recovery media, I put in my windows 8 OEM CD and got the same "won't accept"

I just want a competley fresh start as I am putting a new SSD in.

Anyone out there with the solution?

Josh

Signature.
JOSH86 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2013, 11:42   #3
KIA
Man of Honour
 
KIA's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 12,297
Boot from the DVD...
KIA is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2013, 11:45   #4
JOSH86
Soldato
 
JOSH86's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Location: Classified
Posts: 7,256
Is it really that easy? I have the Windows 8 OEM CD.

Signature.
JOSH86 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2013, 11:59   #5
Number29
Gangster
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by J05H86UK View Post
Is it really that easy? I have the Windows 8 OEM CD.
It is that easy, but the refresh option is even easier, but doesn't actually work for either of us.
Number29 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2013, 12:21   #6
JOSH86
Soldato
 
JOSH86's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Location: Classified
Posts: 7,256
I'll take the reinstall option if it means I can completely restart windows 8 and start afresh.

Why doesn't the refresh option work out of interest?

I shall be doing this later, will have to install BF4 for the third time.

Josh

Signature.
JOSH86 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2013, 12:23   #7
Number29
Gangster
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by J05H86UK View Post
I'll take the reinstall option if it means I can completely restart windows 8 and start afresh.

Why doesn't the refresh option work out of interest?

I shall be doing this later, will have to install BF4 for the third time.

Josh
I've no idea. It worked on a laptop I had.
Number29 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Nov 2013, 12:53   #8
JOSH86
Soldato
 
JOSH86's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2013
Location: Classified
Posts: 7,256
Brilliant,

Soon as I get home a fresh reinstall is going ahead, do I need to wipe my SSD & HDD before or will Windows wipe it all for me?

Never done this before.

Josh

Signature.
JOSH86 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:29.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)