Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Networks & Internet Connectivity

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 21st Jun 2014, 14:27   #1
Socrates470BC
Gangster
 
Socrates470BC's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Perthshire, Scotland
Posts: 378
Anyone Using an Asus DSL-AC68U

I found this on the Asus/uk website and wondered if anyone has one of these or if OCUK is able to (or planning to) stock these.

DSL-AC68U Dual-Band Wireless-AC1900 Gigabit ASDSL/VDSL Modem Router

Will they work in the UK on a standard BT broadband (Not fibre)?

or is the DSL-N55U still the only choice from Asus in the UK?

Asus DSL-N55U Black Diamond Dual Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router

NZXT 810 | Bequiet Dark Power Pro P10 850W |
Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe | i7 3770K | 16GB GSkill Ares |
Bequiet Dark Rock Pro 2 | Asus GTX 670 2GB |
256GB Crucial M4 SSD | 2TB WD Caviar Black | Windows 8.1
Socrates470BC is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jun 2014, 00:53   #2
Alsone
Associate
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 20
Yep they should work on standard ADSL as they have a modem built in and says they are compatible with ADSl / ADSL2+ etc.

http://www.asus.com/Networking/DSLAC68U/

They're impossible to find atm. Google only turns up results in Australia with several users saying faster than their previous premium modems / routers so looking very good. I presume they've only been released in Aus up to now.

BTW, as an aside (maybe OC can feed this back to Asus), I wish they'd choose different model numbers for their products as its really easy to confuse them when the only difference is the prefix lettering. eg there's an older non modem RT-AC68U as well as the DSL-AC68U.
Alsone is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jun 2014, 11:38   #3
PlumpMonkey
Gangster
 
PlumpMonkey's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 454
I'm waiting for these to come out in the UK too and will snap one up as soon as it does. It supposedly works well with the BT FTTC stuff and the home hub 5 I have from BT is shockingly bad. It reboots itself multiple times a week when under load.

I've been using the RT-N56U router/wireless access point for a few years now and its a cracking bit of kit. With the dsl-ac68U I can pair this up as a wifi extender in the house too.

I notice that the ASUS UK site has only been updated to include this product in the last week or so, so hopefully its coming very soon.
PlumpMonkey is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jun 2014, 12:39   #4
LordBarrass
Gangster
 
LordBarrass's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 338
I am speaking to ASUS at the moment trying to find out when these will be available in the UK.

edit: You will be looking at the end of July for stock within the UK. I will be getting it set up as soon as possible and will be taking pre-orders. I will post on the forum once it is set up.
Last edited by LordBarrass; 23rd Jun 2014 at 13:13.
LordBarrass is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jun 2014, 14:25   #5
PlumpMonkey
Gangster
 
PlumpMonkey's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 454
Hurrah! Thanks for following this up. Ill keep an eye out for the pre-orders.
PlumpMonkey is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jun 2014, 18:24   #6
Sparx
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Lincolnshire
Posts: 1,905
Quote:
Originally Posted by abarrass View Post
I am speaking to ASUS at the moment trying to find out when these will be available in the UK.

edit: You will be looking at the end of July for stock within the UK. I will be getting it set up as soon as possible and will be taking pre-orders. I will post on the forum once it is set up.
Thanks abarrass, any idea on price (roughly)?

Sparx is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jun 2014, 02:56   #7
Alsone
Associate
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 20
I think suggested retail is roughly around the price of the RT-AC68U from what I've seen on the Asus web site / elsewhere.
Alsone is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jun 2014, 04:29   #8
Furyus
Hitman
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Weston-super-Mare
Posts: 649
I've got the RT version the fiber version. It's beautiful! !

Last edited by Furyus; 24th Jun 2014 at 04:30. Reason: edit
Furyus is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 24th Jun 2014, 09:18   #9
Spudgun
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,311
I'b be interested in this to free up a socket/clutter near to my telephone master socket.

Hope it is priced somewhere around the current AC68U price
Spudgun is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jun 2014, 07:42   #10
Alsone
Associate
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Furyus View Post
I've got the RT version the fiber version. It's beautiful! !
The beauty of the new one (DSL prefix) is that I understand it supports both fibre and ADSL, so it's future proof.

If you're on fibre and suddenly unable to afford the subscription, then you can still use it on ADSL. If you're on ADSL and decide to upgrade to fibre, you can still use it on fibre.

I think it's essentially an RT with upgraded features / added modem.
Alsone is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jun 2014, 07:46   #11
Alsone
Associate
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 20
BTW on price, here it's reported as being $329 Aus which on XE converts to 181:

http://www.austin.net.au/asus-dsl-ac...1900-giga.html
Alsone is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jun 2014, 08:11   #12
PlumpMonkey
Gangster
 
PlumpMonkey's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by Furyus View Post
I've got the RT version the fiber version. It's beautiful! !
I think the RT version can only be used for fibre in conjunction with the Openreach Modem or another compatible FTTC Modem. In my case they now use the HomeHub 5 as a modem and router so I don't have the separate Openreach modem and cant use the RT version.

The DSL version contains a VDSL2 modem so can replace the Openreach modem (And it also contains an ADSL/ADSL2+ for regular DSL).
PlumpMonkey is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jun 2014, 13:28   #13
Sparx
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Lincolnshire
Posts: 1,905
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlumpMonkey View Post
I think the RT version can only be used for fibre in conjunction with the Openreach Modem or another compatible FTTC Modem. In my case they now use the HomeHub 5 as a modem and router so I don't have the separate Openreach modem and cant use the RT version.

The DSL version contains a VDSL2 modem so can replace the Openreach modem (And it also contains an ADSL/ADSL2+ for regular DSL).
Correct. This is why I want one.

Sparx is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jun 2014, 14:43   #14
LordBarrass
Gangster
 
LordBarrass's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 338
No pricing yet but as soon as I know more and get more details I will post back here or in a new thread.
LordBarrass is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jun 2014, 16:27   #15
BoatyMcBoatface
Underboss
 
BoatyMcBoatface's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 43,418
The DSL-N66U has a VDSL modem in it too. Doesn't seem as awesome as the AC68U though

BoatyMcBoatface is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jun 2014, 17:00   #16
PlumpMonkey
Gangster
 
PlumpMonkey's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 454
Some reviews of the DSL-N66U I saw seemed to indicate the radios weren't as good as they could be. Plus I'm starting to fill up the house with AC kit so it seems like I should be buying AC routers now...
PlumpMonkey is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jun 2014, 18:08   #17
KIA
Man of Honour
 
KIA's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 12,719
It'll be interesting to see how well the integrated VDSL modem performs with HAUWEI & ECI DSLAMS.
KIA is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jun 2014, 18:18   #18
Alsone
Associate
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by KIA View Post
It'll be interesting to see how well the integrated VDSL modem performs with HAUWEI & ECI DSLAMS.
Well as someone who's had a Hauwei modem, I can't say I was overly impressed with a Hauwei to Hauwei or ECI connection.

There are a few people on this forum in OZ reporting increased download speeds on both wireless and wired connections:

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/2272447

This in particular caught my eye:

Quote:
ok giving this thing a bit of a stress test , got 20 devices connected to it and and streaming 7 vid feed at one to various devices , the dsl-ac68u is still pretty much asleep , cpu usage below 12% and no real effect on ram
:0
Alsone is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jun 2014, 21:38   #19
thenewoc
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: West Sussex, England
Posts: 2,471
I was looking at the AC68 too but I'm a bit confused with the ASUS website as it lists two, DSL-AC68U and DSL-AC68R but I can't see what the difference is?

http://www.asus.com/Networking/xDSL_...ters_Products/

3570K [3.4/4.5GHz TURBO] | Phanteks PH-TC14PE | MSI GD65
Samsung Green 2x4GB [2133MHz] | Samsung EVO 850 500GB
Sapphire HD7970 Dual-X [1125MHz Core / 1500MHz Mem]
Corsair AX850 | Fractal Design Midi | DGM IPS-2701WPH
thenewoc is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jun 2014, 10:13   #20
Alsone
Associate
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 20
Only difference |I can spot is the "r" version appears to support an IP Sec Sever (801.11n isn't listed in the top feature list on the R, but mentioned down below):

It's probably difficult to read, so to do a comparison yourself (not clear from the asus website, tick compare product for each of the versions U and R, then go to the search box at the top right of the Asus web page. Next to it there are 3 horizontal lines, click on these and you'll find "Compare List" in the drop down menu and there should be 2 items in it if you ticked both U and R versions. Click on Compare List, and it should bring up a picture of each item along with the description in a ribbon style display. Click the Compare Now button and you have your comparison!

Why Asus hide it away like that I don't know!

Alsone is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jun 2014, 21:41   #21
thenewoc
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: West Sussex, England
Posts: 2,471
@Alsone, yeah it took me a while to find that compare link in that menu. I'm not sure how accurate it is though as I've not found compare features like this to be that reliable in the past. They tend to show up differences at times because they were written at the time each product was released and perhaps by different people so they can be a bit misleading.

3570K [3.4/4.5GHz TURBO] | Phanteks PH-TC14PE | MSI GD65
Samsung Green 2x4GB [2133MHz] | Samsung EVO 850 500GB
Sapphire HD7970 Dual-X [1125MHz Core / 1500MHz Mem]
Corsair AX850 | Fractal Design Midi | DGM IPS-2701WPH
thenewoc is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jun 2014, 08:52   #22
Spudgun
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,311
In previous Asus modems, the R version has been the 'retail' product that is sold in stores and the 'U' version is the one that is sold from etailers. For instance, there is no difference whatsoever in the AC68U and the AC68R other than where you can buy them from.
Spudgun is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Jul 2014, 12:51   #23
pioneer2000
Mobster
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Essex
Posts: 4,183
Still no ETA? I'm in desperate need of this!
pioneer2000 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jul 2014, 09:54   #24
SignLine
Associate
 
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
It's been emotional, but basically as far as I know you can't get the DSL version in the UK, maybe that's better anyway considering the failure rate of modems and routers, putting both together may just make that worse.
The ASUS comparison feature is as clear as mud, regarding the 2 different version of R and U ASUS said;
We are sorry to hear that none of the provided
resellers can provide these routers. Please be advised that the difference between
the two is that the DSL-AC-68U also covers IEEE 802.11n and the DSL-AC-68R is
not. Please see also both specifications;
If you want the AC68U the best price I've seen and ordered one from is Pixmania, I'm getting a run of the mill modem to work with it in bridge mode. I'm waiting on the modem as the last one died after 6 months so it makes more sense to me to keep them separate, all this chinese muck these days doesn't seem to last 5 mins.
SignLine is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jul 2014, 09:59   #25
SignLine
Associate
 
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
But looking at comparison chart above I'm sure I can see 802.11n in both, actually I can see in the top section using comparison on the Asus site that one has the IEEE the other does not, Asus UK site the R version doesn't even come up in the search, what does this difference mean anyway....I have no idea!

DSL-AC68R
Network Standard
IEEE 802.11a, IEEE 802.11b, IEEE 802.11g, IEEE 802.11ac, IPv6

DSL-AC68U
IEEE 802.11a, IEEE 802.11b, IEEE 802.11g, IEEE 802.11n, IEEE 802.11ac, IPv6
Last edited by SignLine; 9th Jul 2014 at 14:46.
SignLine is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jul 2014, 07:49   #26
michty_me
Hitman
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 772
I'll be keeping a close eye on this. I've been trying to find out the release date for a while but never get any reply from Asus which isn't a good sign. I heard their support was utter garbage. If they can't even respond to a basic sales query I'm concerned about the after sales if a problem were to arise.
michty_me is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jul 2014, 16:08   #27
indyjones
Associate
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 7
Response from ASUS

Quote:
Originally Posted by michty_me View Post
I'll be keeping a close eye on this. I've been trying to find out the release date for a while but never get any reply from Asus which isn't a good sign. I heard their support was utter garbage. If they can't even respond to a basic sales query I'm concerned about the after sales if a problem were to arise.
I emailed them asking the same questions and got this as the reply:

"Thanks for your email

Please note this router will be available at the end of September"
indyjones is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jul 2014, 16:45   #28
visibleman
Wise Guy
 
visibleman's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 1,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by indyjones View Post
..."Please note this router will be available at the end of September"
Seems to be a bit of a different tune to what Abarrass mentioned earlier when he was in contact with them (ie - expecting stock at the end of July)

Wonder if anyone at OcUK can clear this up to when they'll get stock? I'm after one myself
visibleman is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jul 2014, 17:01   #29
michty_me
Hitman
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by indyjones View Post
I emailed them asking the same questions and got this as the reply:

"Thanks for your email

Please note this router will be available at the end of September"
At least you got a reply
michty_me is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 7th Aug 2014, 14:35   #30
LordBarrass
Gangster
 
LordBarrass's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 338
I have spoken to Asus and it looks like about 6 weeks away for the stock landing. We might get a small number of units in earlier hopefully and I have back orders on with the disties and i have the product set up and ready to pre-order. I am just waiting on a confirmed price and then I will update the sell price. I am pushing them hard to get this in ASAP as I know you are all after one.

Anthony
LordBarrass is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:38.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)