2.5-3m desk/worktop - laminate, engineered or solid wood? & who have the best prices on the latter?

hey folks!

I recently moved into a large semi-detached 3 bed house with my gf and decided to convert one of the bedrooms (3.1m x 4m afair) into a man-cave/office room since I'll be working from home more often soon... I'm on a tight budget since I purged my savings buying the home, so am DIYing everything. I started a shopping list last night and there's one thing I'm struggling with: the desk's "worktop"... I want a 2.5m - 3m desk, preferably solid wood "looking" (lol).

a few years back I wouldn't have looked at laminate for an expensive looking desk, but after buying laminate flooring for most of my home, I've realised that cheap laminate is pretty real & expensive looking compared to back in the 1mm Turkish printed designs.

I've also read about veneered timber (engineered wood) but it's all confusing to me, since I'm only a son of a carpenter.

I guess the main thing, though, is that I don't want to pay over £150 for a 3m desk "top"... every penny extra I spend on the desk will be money I can't spend on the chair (looking to upgrade my old ikea markus from 10 years ago, OC forums old favourite), HD (or 4k if I can go ultra cheap) projector and sofa bed.

I see that many places, from eBay to Ikea & B&Q do "solid wood" for around £150/3m, but is it crap/what are the cons? I'd really love to know the recommended vendors for worktops... a lot of that info is outdated, I saw on OC forums from 2015 that there was £90 38mm solid oak from wickes... not anymore!