Just hit the motherload

Soldato
great if you have a case for needing it then by all means ask for it, but to offer 5k just for ****'s and giggles is a waste of indirectly my money. The OP doesnt need it - nor has he ever said otherwise.

The financial controllers of the council here could direct that cash into much more worthy causes like educating students on economic values and simple business principles :p

no offence but as a student you havent really felt the pain of having to hand over 40% of your salary, once you do maybe you could and would appreciate the mild annoyance it causes to see your hard earned cash just frittered away.

So becuase you think im a student you dont think i pay out, number one: i earn money enough aswell and i have to pay agency fees from this income that i earn...so i know what its like to give away my hard earned cash thankyou. Number two: why would you think i dont have to pay out because im a student?

Soldato
I'll let you speculate ;)

Chavs live in council houses because they can get discounted rent. Most people won't want to live in council houses because of said neighbours. The OP obviously can't/couldn't afford his own place so moved in there.

I simply don't understand why people are bitching about him in a council house. He's stated he pays full rent and council tax (therefore I don't see him getting any handouts whatsoever as a result). He earns a fair wage so isn't a 'sponger', he just wants to live somewhere cheap while he saves up to buy his own place.

As for the £5k, maybe it's to help cover the increase in rent, bills etc ?

Get your heads out of your arses guys, Christ.

"chavs" are not the only people that live in council properties, and to be honest i think that comment you have made is just dam right rude!