The official Dell Ultrasharp 2408WFP Thread

Associate
Got any first (rough) impressions to report Sallermas? Perhaps from just general use when setting the monitor up, is input lag noticeable with regards to moving the cursor? (And could you feel the lag on the desktop when using a Rev A00?)

Associate
You can't feel any lag because it just isn't detectable. I have been gaming for 15 years, and it is no different on the Rev A00 to any other TFT I have owned.

Well apparently the input lag on the Rev A00 2408 is particularly bad, and many can notice it, so I'd like to see what they say.

Associate
SimonTW I can't see any Lag picture looks superb, I'm at work but will post results this afternoon or tomorrow morning.

If there are any other tests to be run let me know / send a link

Soldato
Of course there is lag, it's very well know with this monitor. A great monitor shame if you play online games. I could notice it just using windows, it made my OS/PC feel slow.

Just hook up next to a fast TN and move your mouse around on the Dell then move it across to the TN and you will see.

Associate
Cheers Simon here they are;

IMG_4743

IMG_4744

IMG_4745.jpg

IMG_4746

Associate
Thanks very much for taking the time to post those pics Sallermas, and they confirm that the new revision has pretty much solved the input lag problem the 2408 was plagued with (near enough halved the lag I think? Down from ~60 to ~30). I think I can safely go ahead and order mine soon!

With regards to other tests, my technical knowledge of monitors does not extend far enough to suggest any (except maybe a picture of the monitor with a black screen to highlight any backlight bleed?) but I'm sure other users will be able to do so.

Last edited:
Associate
To Sallermas : All my problems were with A00. The only A01 I had was a refurb, and it had a major problem with the 'Power Saving Mode' when used with DVI, so I could never test it.