Refused credit/finance ona TV- advice

Soldato
So in currys today looking for a tv, pick one go through the process of setting up the monthly payments only for it to be rejected :( and no reason why.

This has me worried about my credit rating, i have never done anything like this before, no credit cards, no contracts. whcih has baffled me no end. i have however had two summons to court for late council tax payments. Would this affect my credit rating?

I dont even know what one is and whether mine is good or bad, and what it is based on, as i gave my parents address, details and stuff. Also how do i know if im on an electoral role

I just want a TV :(

Soldato
What happened with the summons?

Sign up and check out your credit report at Noddle. If you have any defaults, missed payments or CCJs you can say goodbye to mainstream credit unfortunately.

Soldato
Every time you are late with a payment it goes on your credit record, balanced with the complete absence of any positive news (i.e. paying loans or cards on time) your rating is through the floor.

Think about it, you can't pay the council tax, what chance have you of paying the loan? May not be true, but with no other knowledge of your circumstance that's what they'll think.

If you have some history with a bank they may be more willing, as they know more about your finances.

Soldato
How do i go about raising my rating above the floor...
Paying off a credit card would slowly improve your credit rating (if you can get one). But by god make sure you never ever miss another payment!

Judging by your first post, I think getting any kind of credit could easily make things much worse for you. Unless you want to get a mortgage in future, I'd personally just leave your credit rating as is. I'm sure you can save up for your TV. :)

Last edited:
Soldato
gave my parents address, details and stuff. Also how do i know if im on an electoral role