Toughest Smart Phone? Help please.

Soldato
I'm looking to get a new phone. I've got a Nokia 6500 Slide on a £10.21 a month sim-only contract with o2. I've been looking at 'Smart Phones' which I know virtually nothing about, The iphone is too gimicky and from what I've searched so far is on par with the Samsung Galaxy S2.

The major thing here is my line of work, I'm a farmer/farm worker. So I've got slightly mucky hands and a phone in my pocket most the time which might take the odd knock. Is the Galaxy S2 the toughest of the phones out there? I love the way it looks, but I need to know it won't snap in half in my pocket!

I know the HTC One X & S are the best of the bunch right now. But they're far too big!

Any advice greatly appreciated. Thanks :) (sorry for the rushed post, typed it out far too quick before rushing back to work!)

Associate
Motorola Defy Plus - in the same trade as OP. Stands minor 'wet' accidents quite well and even swilled off under tap. It is outdated really though does the job ........ mostly :rolleyes: Some, mine included, have a reboot issue. Totally random really. Can go days without a reboot then do it a few times in the same day. Very occasional reboot mid call which is tedious to say the least. Mine not done that for some time. Has a gorilla glass screen though still recommend much caution as most glass will break or scratch. Your mentioned HTC One S and X not going to like to much abuse and best pad your pocket out with cotton wool :D

Despite the Defy+ drawbacks mentioned it's served fairly well. Not really much else in the smart phone line going to like the agricultural environment though I've seen plenty of iPhones come out of farmer pockets! Defy is compact and sits well in pocket. All I have on mine is a Martin Fields screen protector. £184 plus vat is less painful should the worse happen than a £400 + HTC :eek: Should you take the plunge I see the JCB edition is only a £1 dearer so would be the one to go for.