i2700k /Sabertooth Temps/Volts & New Build

Associate
I recently completed a new build - core being an Asus Sabertooth Z77 motherboard + i2700k.

Does seem to be a good combo :)

When looking to overclock decided to give the Asus suite (thru windows) a go so:-

Ran Core Temp - to give me an idea as to both temps and volts
& IBT Freeze test 64bit Standard x 5 to stress it a bit. ( I assume that it will not be stressed to this degree when being used for normal/gaming ?)

Results :-

Standard.
Idle - 1.007v and max of 1.3461v. Temps max of 62c
4.2 - 1.007v and max of 1.3561 .Temps max of 65c
4.5 - 1.007v and max of 1.3711.Temps max of 68c

Are the above:-
acceptable- for long term use?
Average/Good/Poor ?

Overall I am thinking that I am safe running @ 4.5 but do the v/temps look ok?

A couple of ?'s ref the Asus suite as I've never used it before so not sure how it works:
Will it boot into 4.5 - or 3.9 and then when booted into windows clock to 4.5?
Does it tend to over volt? ( I have noticed that the Asus slightly auto increases the Bclk whereas my old MSi slightly underclocked this - not a problem, just different) so would a be better clocking via bios and setting the v manually?

I have noticed that I do have a fair amount of temp. difference on the cores basically be it at idle or load +7c (core 0 v core 3)- they do occasionally equalize but overall it's pretty constant . Problem? ( am cooling via a Corsair H60 with Apache fan pushing air through the radiator out the back of the case)

Last edited:
Soldato
IBT under 70C is very good and safe. And yes, IBT tends to stress the CPU more than usual, even more than intense work (CineBench, Prime95, video encoding, 3D rendering).

Core temps will vary. 7C is kind of a high variation, but no unusual. Think I got 4C across cores.

BCLK should remain at 100mhz. It may show 100.2 or something, but it's best just letting it stock in the BIOS. The value reported might not be entirely accurate (mine shows 99.something).