My Photos.. critique and feedback very welcome!

Associate
Hi guys, I'm very new to photography and would like to learn as much as possible. I will post my photos here and I would appreciate if you guys could give some feedback, tips or critique.. I have a Canon EOS 500D with a 50mm F/1.8 and a Tamron 90mm F/2.8

wellesley road by jacquesdewinnaar, on Flickr

rusty by jacquesdewinnaar, on Flickr

the wall by jacquesdewinnaar, on Flickr

taking the bus by jacquesdewinnaar, on Flickr

yolk by jacquesdewinnaar, on Flickr

pencil by jacquesdewinnaar, on Flickr

power web by jacquesdewinnaar, on Flickr

walko mono by jacquesdewinnaar, on Flickr

Last edited:
Soldato
I like the spoon dude, but the aperture is too wide on the first two. It'd be nice to have enough DOF to be able to read the sign, and there's nothing really for your eyes to focus on in the second.

I like the processing, mind. And el dudo is a cool one. :cool:

Last edited:
Associate
OP
I like the spoon dude, but the aperture is too wide on the first two. It'd be nice to have enough DOF to be able to read the sign, and there's nothing really for your eyes to focus on in the second.

Thanks Alex, I'm still learning about which aperture to use.. Dont know if it's just with the older body's, but the viewfinder doesn't give the best reaction to aperture adjustments. I suppose it will get easier once I learn the lens and know the focus distance each aperture value provides.

Soldato
The viewfinder doesn't give any indication of dof because the aperture blades don't 'activate' until a photo is actually taken. However, there is a dof preview button on the camera body near the underside of the lens which when held down, activates the blades allowing you to preview the dof.

Last edited:
Associate
OP