125cc learner legal maxi bikes

Associate
Hi guys. So I'm ditching the tube for a bike as my daily travels across the city are getting boring, sweaty, smelly and expensive! I'm doing my cbt this weekend and whilst I get on with that side of things I was looking for any recommendations on a 125cc maxi bike. Mainly a maxi bike because I'm a big and tall guy and need a machine to match instead of looking like a dufus. Main points I'm considering as I'm a novice;
- 125cc must be learner legal and one I can ride after getting cbt
- big enough for a big & tall (6ft 3)guy
- economical
- budget =£1000
- preference = automatic
- ample storage space (but I can always add top box)

Last edited:
Soldato
Varadero 125. Job done.

I do 200 miles a week on mine, get 85mpg. They're the only decently priced (£1500) big 125, the mt-07 I rode felt small in comparison. I'm 6ft 3in 12st and it suits me perfectly.

963IjE3.jpg

Associate
OP
The Varadero looks lovely but I should've added a budget of £1000 and a preference of automatic over manual oops! Sorry. Ps how difficult is manual on a motorbike? Like I said am a complete novice

Soldato
You'll struggle to get any 125cc bike for £1000, and if you want an automatic you'll be limited to scooters, although these might be cheaper than geared bikes.

Do you drive? Gears are easy, takes a bit of getting your head around especially if you've been driving for 12 years like me, as it's completely alien (left hand clutch, left foot gears, right hand throttle all at the same time) but for me it just 'clicked'.

Before you book a CBT, see if you can get an hours free go on here http://www.geton.co.uk/free-motorbike-scooter-experience/ I did and it helped a huge amount when doing my CBT. I'd never ridden any bike beforehand.

Last edited:

One

One

Soldato

One

One

Soldato