Could someone recommend me a speaker with built in amp for pc

Associate
Noob here, Budget is about £300, dont have pc yet so i dont know what sound card i will end up with. needs to be simple to setup that does not take up much room. i was looking at KEF X300A but i heard bad things about it

Soldato
IMO if you get passive speakers you will have greater choice as choose own amp. Also choose stereo or a avr, and choose one with little or lots of inputs.

You won't get active speakers like back of Denon a1xva backplate for example!

Associate
IMO if you get passive speakers you will have greater choice as choose own amp. Also choose stereo or a avr, and choose one with little or lots of inputs.

You won't get active speakers like back of Denon a1xva backplate for example!

Say if i increase my budget to £600 to £700 and go for Q Acoustics 2010i speakers and a Audioengine S8 SUB

what amp with built in dac would you recommend? This will only be needed to play games, i prefer to go a little cheaper and dont want to go overkill with it.

I dont have a lot of room btw.

Last edited:
Soldato
Buy speakers and amp first then look into a sub. You have a choice of a stereo amplifier or avr amplfier. Decide if priority is sound quality, or multi channel, bass management, hdmi, hd decoding, room eq etc.

That sub doesn't seem very impressive.

Soldato
That sub doesn't seem very impressive.

Agreed. £270 for an 8" sub? Can't help but feel that Audioengine overcharge for their products. A product best suited to people who like to buy these lifestyle things that have the same manufacturer and look.

BK Gemini II for £215 is a far better buy than the Audioengine S8.

Associate
Agreed. £270 for an 8" sub? Can't help but feel that Audioengine overcharge for their products. A product best suited to people who like to buy these lifestyle things that have the same manufacturer and look.

BK Gemini II for £215 is a far better buy than the Audioengine S8.