• Competitor rules

Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

AMD Zen 2 (Ryzen 3000) - *** NO COMPETITOR HINTING ***

Soldato
Passion, really? I work in the media, a creative industry. I work purely for the money. I don't mind the work, which is a bonus, but I work for those who pay the most. Passion doesn't pay the mortgage.

I'm not going to suppose to speak for Troezar but i think what (s)he's getting at is for the one percenters who could retire tomorrow without ever having to worry about money it becomes more about new challenges, doing things that interest them, and for want of a better word a passion for what they're doing rather than yet more money.

Soldato
Cinebench, CPUz and a few other tests of IPC show that at the same frequency Kaby = Ryzen 1 and Coffee = Ryzen 2 within margins of error. How people still don't get this I do not know. The advantage Intel has is purely frequency for those generations. Found that out as one of the things I do a lot of testing for is iRacing which is heavily dependent on single

IPC hasn't increased in intel cpus since Skylake. Only clockspeeds and core count.
More recent cpus have taken less of a hit from the Spectre mitigations which will make a difference though.

Associate
You are actually quite in the minority.

I see how the corporate machine works, I'm part of it. I see the buzz words they dream up about how we are partners in the exiting endever, and so on and so on. Only I've been around the block too many times.

I sell my labour to my employer. I am a negative on a balance sheet, if that negativety outways my usefulness, I'm out the door. I've seen it happen around me, that is what happens all the time.

Soldato