How difficult is it to install - Laminate flooring

Associate
Looking to install laminate flooring into 3 rooms. Overall measurement is 50m2 in total.

How difficult is it to install ? bearing in mind I'm a novice for DIY and are is there any recommended suppliers/manufacturers to purchase the flooring from?

Tea Drinker
Don
What’s your budget?

Why laminate or do you just mean clicklok flooring?

Are you taking skirtings off? I think as a diy I’d rather take them off and reinstall, it’s much easier fitting skirting than trying to scribe flooring.

Good quality flooring is easier to install.

Boen
Havwoods

Associate
OP
What’s your budget?

Why laminate or do you just mean clicklok flooring?

Are you taking skirtings off? I think as a diy I’d rather take them off and reinstall, it’s much easier fitting skirting than trying to scribe flooring.

Good quality flooring is easier to install.

Boen
Havwoods

Yes Clicklok flooring, I don't have any budget in mind just looking at the options.

I don't have any experience in this so looking for advice.

edit : I wasn't planning on taking the skirtings off, but if I did I assume I'd have to buy new skirtings?

Last edited:
Associate
OP
Associate
I used wickes laminate. Decent enough and reasonable price.

As far as how difficult it will be... Will depend on a few things. How square the room is, how straight the walls are, how level the floor is, how many doorways, how many things to cut around. Skirting board the same... Might need to do a bit of plaster work depending on how the skirting comes off - but it won't need to look pretty.

Generally it's a very doable diy job, but will have varying difficulty!

Soldato
I would say its a medium difficulty job but very DIYable for a novice. The tricky parts are doors and transitions to other rooms but take your time, plan your layout and you'll get a good finish.